Submit News Contact Us Translate Sign in Join

Benscollectables Reviews Fall Of Cybertron Ultra Magnus

Post your reviews of Transformers toys in this topic. Please keep each topic dedicated to one specific toy (i.e. DOTM Deluxe Class Optimus Prime"). Videos can be posted in a topic as well as text reviews and images.

Re: Benscollectables Reviews Fall Of Cybertron Ultra Magnus

Postby El Duque » Tue Nov 27, 2012 10:43 am

Motto: "I ain't got time to bleed!"
Weapon: Gattling Gun
Seibertron.com member Transformermegazord has posted a review of Deluxe Ultra Magnus from the upcoming wave three assortment of Transformers Generations: Fall of Cybertron. The figure is redeco/remold of wave one's Optimus Prime with a new head and weapons. Check out his review embedded below.

User avatar
El Duque
News Admin
Posts: 9915
News Credits: 89
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 8:57 pm
Location: tornado alley

Re: Benscollectables Reviews Fall Of Cybertron Ultra Magnus

Postby Mindmaster » Tue Nov 27, 2012 11:06 am

Motto: "For I have dipped my hands in muddied waters, and, withdrawing them, find 'tis better to be a commander than a common man!"
Weapon: Dark Saber Sword
Definitely a must-get in my book. But if I want to display him on my Classics shelf with Rodimus, Kup, Springer, and Blurr, and their counterparts Galvatron, Cyclonus, Octane, and Scourge, then either an Autobot's gotta go or there needs to be another Decepticon that first appeared in G1's Season 3 in the Classics line.
Image
Va'al wrote:I keep track of everyone. Backwards.
There are atandarfs to maintain.

craggy wrote:When Hero Mashers are the nicest looking toys in a news post, you know something's wrong.

LOST Cybertronian wrote:Hey, If Mindmaster survived then you should do just fine.

In case of really bad and/or corny puns made by Va'al, click and hit play.
User avatar
Mindmaster
News Staff
Posts: 5581
News Credits: 21
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 4:00 pm
Location: Wilmington, NC
Watch Mindmaster on YouTube
Strength: 8
Intelligence: Infinity
Speed: 8
Endurance: 7
Rank: 10
Courage: 8
Firepower: 6
Skill: 9

Re: Benscollectables Reviews Fall Of Cybertron Ultra Magnus

Postby Transformermegazord » Tue Nov 27, 2012 11:29 am

Weapon: Battle Blades
Can't believe I forgot I combine his sword with his gun... Doh
Transformermegazord
Minibot
Posts: 199
News Credits: 26
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 10:02 am
Location: England
Watch Transformermegazord on YouTube
Buy from Transformermegazord on eBay

Re: Benscollectables Reviews Fall Of Cybertron Ultra Magnus

Postby Rhinox23 » Tue Nov 27, 2012 11:52 am

First off, great review. I enjoy your videos.

Hmmm. :-? I was actually planning on not getting him, but your review is making me rethink that decision. I'm still not completely sold, but if I see him in stores I'll probably get him.

Also, upgrade kit with armor you say...sounds very intriguing! That could definitely persuade me to get him (assuming the upgrade kit is reasonably priced!).
User avatar
Rhinox23
Fuzor
Posts: 255
News Credits: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 4:26 pm
Location: Georgia, USA
Buy from Rhinox23 on eBay

Re: Benscollectables Reviews Fall Of Cybertron Ultra Magnus

Postby Transformermegazord » Tue Nov 27, 2012 12:00 pm

Weapon: Battle Blades
Agreed, it needs to reasonably priceded, not fansproject prices
Transformermegazord
Minibot
Posts: 199
News Credits: 26
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 10:02 am
Location: England
Watch Transformermegazord on YouTube
Buy from Transformermegazord on eBay

Re: Benscollectables Reviews Fall Of Cybertron Ultra Magnus

Postby Transformermegazord » Tue Nov 27, 2012 12:00 pm

Weapon: Battle Blades
Rhinox23 wrote:First off, great review. I enjoy your videos.

Hmmm. :-? I was actually planning on not getting him, but your review is making me rethink that decision. I'm still not completely sold, but if I see him in stores I'll probably get him.

Also, upgrade kit with armor you say...sounds very intriguing! That could definitely persuade me to get him (assuming the upgrade kit is reasonably priced!).
oh and thank you for the complement :)
O
Transformermegazord
Minibot
Posts: 199
News Credits: 26
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 10:02 am
Location: England
Watch Transformermegazord on YouTube
Buy from Transformermegazord on eBay

Re: Benscollectables Reviews Fall Of Cybertron Ultra Magnus

Postby mongrel » Tue Nov 27, 2012 12:09 pm

I thought I would start getting used to the new sizes, but honestly every figure that comes out is just looking weaker and weaker. It's bad enough Magnus isn't bigger than Prime (which he always has been), but to have a Magnus smaller than Starscream? SMALLER THAN BUMBLEBEE? This kills a collector's shelf with the ****** dimensions. I passed on the Kup figure just yesterday, knowing his tiny-ass truck was smaller than Bumblebee's Corvette. Can't bring myself to reward these cut corners.

Voyager size Magnus from the Prime line is pretty good though, with a couple silver paint apps.

Bah, guess it's only Masterpiece for me from now on.
mongrel
Mini-Con
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 2:16 pm

Re: Benscollectables Reviews Fall Of Cybertron Ultra Magnus

Postby Mindmaster » Tue Nov 27, 2012 12:31 pm

Motto: "For I have dipped my hands in muddied waters, and, withdrawing them, find 'tis better to be a commander than a common man!"
Weapon: Dark Saber Sword
mongrel wrote:I thought I would start getting used to the new sizes, but honestly every figure that comes out is just looking weaker and weaker. It's bad enough Magnus isn't bigger than Prime (which he always has been), but to have a Magnus smaller than Starscream? SMALLER THAN BUMBLEBEE? This kills a collector's shelf with the ****** dimensions. I passed on the Kup figure just yesterday, knowing his tiny-ass truck was smaller than Bumblebee's Corvette. Can't bring myself to reward these cut corners.

Voyager size Magnus from the Prime line is pretty good though, with a couple silver paint apps.

Bah, guess it's only Masterpiece for me from now on.


Be thankful that not all of the current toys' scales aren't as horrible as Beast Machines was back in the day.

As long as the repaints make sense (i.e this Ultra Magnus), I could care less if it's slightly out of scale. >:oP
Image
Va'al wrote:I keep track of everyone. Backwards.
There are atandarfs to maintain.

craggy wrote:When Hero Mashers are the nicest looking toys in a news post, you know something's wrong.

LOST Cybertronian wrote:Hey, If Mindmaster survived then you should do just fine.

In case of really bad and/or corny puns made by Va'al, click and hit play.
User avatar
Mindmaster
News Staff
Posts: 5581
News Credits: 21
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 4:00 pm
Location: Wilmington, NC
Watch Mindmaster on YouTube
Strength: 8
Intelligence: Infinity
Speed: 8
Endurance: 7
Rank: 10
Courage: 8
Firepower: 6
Skill: 9

Re: Benscollectables Reviews Fall Of Cybertron Ultra Magnus

Postby YoungPrime » Tue Nov 27, 2012 1:08 pm

I hate the FOC's size. Can I blame it on Bayformers 3 figures?

Yeah I will since because of their lack luster sales Hasbro felt the need to cut corners with future TF products.

Yeah....that sounds about right.
Image
User avatar
YoungPrime
Minibot
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2010 5:54 pm

Re: Benscollectables Reviews Fall Of Cybertron Ultra Magnus

Postby SJ21 » Tue Nov 27, 2012 1:53 pm

Motto: "You don't know because you can't see me. Then you are dead."
Weapon: Sniper Rifle
Good review. I'm glad I ordered this guy. While I am disappointed that he isn't taller than Classics Prime, Magnus will still look good on the Classics shelf.
Check out my collection!

the-sj21-collection-t96905.php
SJ21
Brainmaster
Posts: 1495
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 8:59 am
Location: Pennsylvania
Strength: ???
Intelligence: ???
Speed: ???
Endurance: ???
Rank: ???
Courage: ???
Firepower: 10
Skill: 10

Re: Benscollectables Reviews Fall Of Cybertron Ultra Magnus

Postby STngAR » Tue Nov 27, 2012 4:18 pm

Weapon: No Weapon
I never really give a shit about scale. A good toy is a good toy and that looks like a good toy. :MAXIMAL:
Sledge wrote:Finally! Wheelie will get the credit he's due with a set of five Wheelies.



"People who live in glass houses sink ships"

"Loser, loser chicken dinner"

"She was playing robota-possum"

"If you want to get rich, collect money, not toys"
User avatar
STngAR
Headmaster Jr
Posts: 525
News Credits: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:14 am
Location: PA
Watch STngAR on YouTube
Buy from STngAR on eBay
Strength: N/A
Intelligence: N/A
Speed: N/A
Endurance: N/A
Rank: N/A
Courage: N/A
Firepower: N/A
Skill: Infinity

Re: Benscollectables Reviews Fall Of Cybertron Ultra Magnus

Postby LOST Cybertronian » Tue Nov 27, 2012 11:45 pm

Motto: "Little bit o' bg, not enough to do you any harm"
Weapon: Double-Barreled, Armor-Piercing Particle Beam Cann...
Rhinox23 wrote:Also, upgrade kit with armor you say...sounds very intriguing! That could definitely persuade me to get him (assuming the upgrade kit is reasonably priced!).


foc-ultramagnus-upgrade-t90447.php
william-james88 wrote:I am just glad the conversation has changed from just being about the butt flap
User avatar
LOST Cybertronian
News Staff
Posts: 3427
News Credits: 20
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 1:23 pm
Location: Wichita, KS
Buy from LOST Cybertronian on eBay

Re: Benscollectables Reviews Fall Of Cybertron Ultra Magnus

Postby Rhinox23 » Wed Nov 28, 2012 8:47 am

LOST Cybertronian wrote:
Rhinox23 wrote:Also, upgrade kit with armor you say...sounds very intriguing! That could definitely persuade me to get him (assuming the upgrade kit is reasonably priced!).


foc-ultramagnus-upgrade-t90447.php


Wow! =P~ Thank you for the heads up! I guess I'll be picking up FOC UM for sure so I can take advantage of this awesome armor upgrade. Almost seems too good to be true!
User avatar
Rhinox23
Fuzor
Posts: 255
News Credits: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 4:26 pm
Location: Georgia, USA
Buy from Rhinox23 on eBay


Return to Transformers Toy Reviews

Transformers Podcast: Twincast / Podcast #98 - Combiner Wars
Twincast / Podcast #98:
"Combiner Wars"
MP3 · iTunes · RSS · View · Discuss · Ask
Posted: Thursday, August 14th, 2014