Submit News Contact Us Translate Sign in Join

DOTM review from IGN

Discuss anything and everything related to the Transformers Live Action Films franchise, which are directed by Michael Bay. Transformers 3 is scheduled to be released on July 1st, 2011. Check out our Live Action Film section here.

DOTM review from IGN

Postby Bleak5170 » Mon Jun 27, 2011 11:23 am

Weapon: Acetylene Torch Gun
User avatar
Bleak5170
Minibot
Posts: 150
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 6:23 am
Strength: 8
Intelligence: 8
Speed: 9
Endurance: 7
Rank: 4
Courage: 4
Firepower: 6
Skill: 8

Re: DOTM review from IGN

Postby Counterpunch » Mon Jun 27, 2011 1:34 pm

Motto: "...and I used to be such a nice guy."
Weapon: Jawbreaker Cannon
It's a pretty fair review except for the knock against Epps and Lennox's characters who have always been solid
Image
User avatar
Counterpunch
Podcast Host
Posts: 15266
News Credits: 68
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 9:56 pm
Strength: 6
Intelligence: 8
Speed: 6
Endurance: 5
Rank: 9
Courage: 9
Firepower: 4
Skill: 7

Re: DOTM review from IGN

Postby vegetacron » Mon Jun 27, 2011 2:10 pm

Weapon: Spinning Augers
Yeah, the review seemed really promising. I'm gonna go see it Thursday and pay $26 to see it in 3D.
Image
User avatar
vegetacron
Vehicon
Posts: 358
News Credits: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2004 7:57 am
Strength: 10
Intelligence: 5
Speed: 4
Endurance: 9
Rank: 4
Courage: 6
Firepower: 1
Skill: 7

Re: DOTM review from IGN

Postby starscreamreturns » Mon Jun 27, 2011 2:15 pm

I have an idea for a 4th depending on how this one ends and even if shias gone i'm sure he'd cooperate for a small appearence.
starscreamreturns
Minibot
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 7:53 am

Re: DOTM review from IGN

Postby Bleak5170 » Mon Jun 27, 2011 3:20 pm

Weapon: Acetylene Torch Gun
More rolling in, (or I guess I should say "out"):

http://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/transfo ... _the_moon/


Only a few reviews so far but it seems like a few people think it's better than ROTF but not as good as the first film.
User avatar
Bleak5170
Minibot
Posts: 150
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 6:23 am
Strength: 8
Intelligence: 8
Speed: 9
Endurance: 7
Rank: 4
Courage: 4
Firepower: 6
Skill: 8

Re: DOTM review from IGN

Postby Capt.Failure » Mon Jun 27, 2011 3:30 pm

Considering how wrong critics were about RotF I'll be waiting until after I see the film to read reviews this time.
Capt.Failure
Transmetal Warrior
Posts: 898
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 4:06 am

Re: DOTM review from IGN

Postby vegetacron » Mon Jun 27, 2011 4:21 pm

Weapon: Spinning Augers
I hope someone here posts a review soon, so we can getta TF fan critique of the movie.
Image
User avatar
vegetacron
Vehicon
Posts: 358
News Credits: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2004 7:57 am
Strength: 10
Intelligence: 5
Speed: 4
Endurance: 9
Rank: 4
Courage: 6
Firepower: 1
Skill: 7

Re: DOTM review from IGN

Postby SlyTF1 » Mon Jun 27, 2011 4:38 pm

Motto: "Destruction is the ultimate freedom."
Weapon: Plasma Beam Rifle
Capt.Failure wrote:Considering how wrong critics were about RotF I'll be waiting until after I see the film to read reviews this time.


I did read the IGN review, and it didn't discourage me...that much.
The Game You lose
Image
User avatar
SlyTF1
Faction Commander
Posts: 4139
News Credits: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 9:34 am
Watch SlyTF1 on YouTube
Strength: 9
Intelligence: 10
Speed: 10+
Endurance: 9
Rank: 10
Courage: 8
Firepower: Infinity
Skill: 10+

Re: DOTM review from IGN

Postby Capt.Failure » Mon Jun 27, 2011 4:42 pm

SlyTF1 wrote:
Capt.Failure wrote:Considering how wrong critics were about RotF I'll be waiting until after I see the film to read reviews this time.


I did read the IGN review, and it didn't discourage me...that much.


Oh it's not about discouragement, it's more about a complete inability to give a crap what they think about something anymore. Best I can say is form your own opinion when you watch it, since your opinion is the only one that matters.
Capt.Failure
Transmetal Warrior
Posts: 898
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 4:06 am

Re: DOTM review from IGN

Postby duetzFanz1 » Tue Jun 28, 2011 2:41 am

The IGN review actually made me want to go see it. I'm not expecting it to be as good as the first one.
duetzFanz1
Mini-Con
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 5:41 pm

Re: DOTM review from IGN

Postby Bleak5170 » Tue Jun 28, 2011 12:51 pm

Weapon: Acetylene Torch Gun
This movie is getting perilously close to ROTF territory:

http://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/transfo ... _the_moon/

I truly did not expect it to receive great reviews but I also didn't think it would be this bad. It's kind of hard to believe so many critics liked the first movie, (which admittedly was better but still...), and seem to hate this one so much. Mind you, the only reviews which really matter for a movie like this is from the people on this forum. I'm pretty sure a lot of the people reviewing DOTM know nothing, and couldn't care less, about the Transformers universe. It's kind of like one really negative review I read for X-men First Class which was by a woman who pretty much admitted she hates superhero movies.
User avatar
Bleak5170
Minibot
Posts: 150
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 6:23 am
Strength: 8
Intelligence: 8
Speed: 9
Endurance: 7
Rank: 4
Courage: 4
Firepower: 6
Skill: 8

Re: DOTM review from IGN

Postby Red 50 » Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:44 pm

Motto: "Never send an army to do a dinobot's job"
Weapon: Twin Sonic Cannons
Some ************* can never be satisfied. You know what? Screw this and let's just admit that WE loved the movie. 'Cause what they say is not important, what audience (meaning us) thinks is what really matters!


And I'd say that M.Bay pulled it off!
Image
User avatar
Red 50
Gestalt Team Leader
Posts: 916
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 1:43 pm
Location: Estonia, Northern Europe
Strength: 5
Intelligence: 6
Speed: 8
Endurance: 5
Rank: 4
Courage: 6
Firepower: 5
Skill: 6

Re: DOTM review from IGN

Postby Autobot-Hellstriker » Wed Jun 29, 2011 3:19 pm

Motto: "Those foolish enough to face me are lucky to survive, even if they only lose a arm."
Weapon: Automatic Acid-Pellet Gun
Bleak5170 wrote:This movie is getting perilously close to ROTF territory:

http://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/transfo ... _the_moon/

I truly did not expect it to receive great reviews but I also didn't think it would be this bad. It's kind of hard to believe so many critics liked the first movie, (which admittedly was better but still...), and seem to hate this one so much. Mind you, the only reviews which really matter for a movie like this is from the people on this forum. I'm pretty sure a lot of the people reviewing DOTM know nothing, and couldn't care less, about the Transformers universe. It's kind of like one really negative review I read for X-men First Class which was by a woman who pretty much admitted she hates superhero movies.


Those people at rotten tomatoes are always very harsh when they judge movies. anoother reason i don't listen to THEIR score.
Vehicle Mode: Heavily speed modfied Mitsubishi Lancer Evo
User avatar
Autobot-Hellstriker
Fuzor
Posts: 238
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 6:32 pm
Location: Iacon City
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 9
Speed: 10
Endurance: 5
Rank: 6
Courage: 10
Firepower: 8
Skill: 10+

Re: DOTM review from IGN

Postby Tyrannotaur » Wed Jun 29, 2011 7:55 pm

Motto: "What does not kill me makes me stronger."
Weapon: Fusion Cannon
I always see reviews as more of "guide lines" than written fact or anything like that. It helps you get a sense of what you should expect but the final verdict is for you to decide. I've seen people like my Grandmother just write off things entirely because "it got a bad review". If Roger Ebert wrote on his Blog that stabbing yourself in the face was a fun thing to do, would you go get the kitchen knife? No. Best to make your own opinions. That being said I like to see that the critics are being fair to this movie for the most part. IGN especially. As of late I've really been disagreeing with them as they give alot of games I thought were great, mediocre or bad scores. Refreshing to see them be fair to something I like (Although they did give InFamous 2 a good score and I loved that game so they aren't all "wrong").
Image
User avatar
Tyrannotaur
Vehicon
Posts: 352
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2006 9:14 pm
Location: Long Island, NY
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 9
Speed: 6
Endurance: 8
Rank: 7
Courage: 10+
Firepower: 8
Skill: 7


Return to Transformers Live Action Film Forum

Transformers Podcast: Twincast / Podcast #106 - McCarthyism
Twincast / Podcast #106:
"McCarthyism"
MP3 · iTunes · RSS · View · Discuss · Ask
Posted: Thursday, December 4th, 2014