Submit News Contact Us Translate Sign in Join

Favorite Transformer Reviewer?

Feel free to discuss anything about any of the thousands of Transformer toys here. Anything from Generation 1 all the way to the soon to be released, the never to be released or the hope to be released is fair game! Want to show off your stuff? Please post your's and see others in the Transformers Collections Forum.

Moderators: Cryhavok, Supreme Convoy, robofreak

Favorite Transformer Reviewer?

Postby BeastProwl » Sun Oct 14, 2012 10:35 am

Motto: "Nanomachines Son"
Weapon: Razor Tipped Wing Swords
Alot of people like Optibotimus, Peaugh, and many many other reviewers that are out there on youtube.

My personal favorite is a guy in england by the name of Thew. He isnt supremely well known, and he doesn't review each and every figure in existance like some, but when he does get around to a review, he doesn't just review the figure, he entertains while he does it.

Search Thew's Awesome Reviews on youtube, and be forgiving of camera quality.

But the main question from me to all of you is, who is your favorite reviewer, and why?
My PSN: BeastProwl
Image

Come read my Photocomic! It totally doesn't suck!

Va'al wrote:PCCs are not only desirable, they are adorable. [-(

Fanboy wrote:You need to see the figure, feel the figure , lick the figure , be the figure,
And only then can you love mp 01 the way I have.
User avatar
BeastProwl
Guardian Of Seibertron
Posts: 5981
News Credits: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 2:13 pm
Location: The Badass Crater of Badassitude
Strength: 10+
Intelligence: 9
Speed: 10+
Endurance: 7
Rank: ???
Courage: Infinity
Firepower: 10+
Skill: 9

Re: Favorite Transformer Reviewer?

Postby Va'al » Sun Oct 14, 2012 10:40 am

Motto: "Till all are pun!"
Thew is amazing.

I like Peaugh and Optibotimus for long, detailed reviews, but I think Thew got the idea working better: short, sweet, funny and straight to the point.
(Also, he never seems to actually buy any of the figures he reviews!)

Sample:
The Amazing Adventures of Dennis and Bruce!
The only thing better than setting yourself on fire! -njb902


Image
Photo by robotmel
User avatar
Va'al
News Staff
Posts: 5339
News Credits: 58
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 11:00 am
Location: Unicron's Colon
Buy from Va'al on eBay

Re: Favorite Transformer Reviewer?

Postby fenrir72 » Sun Oct 14, 2012 11:01 am

Motto: "Power to the strong and the right!"
Weapon: Plasma Cannon
Without naming names but quite a few reviewers don't actually give complete/honest reviews of a particular product, especially samplers given by a particular source. I prefer reviews on products actually purchased by the reviewer.

Whether it be an honest mistake/omission or not.......makes me feel kind of jaded.

Two items, 3rd party at that, well two third party while others that were K.O's which I had handled personally had "blemishes" that were never mentioned.

I prefer a review that is well researched, informative, funny but also thorough...............don"t forget the negatives of the products...the pros and cons if you like.
Current collection status

Number of TFs: 350 +
Rarest TF: Fortmax,Pretenders Metalhawk,KissPlayers Sparkbots,Tomy FE Optimus Prime, custom E-hobby Orion Pax, MP-01 2004, Classics Ultra Magnus, henkei Convoy + FP Trailer, e-hobby Roadrage,iPod G1 colors Convoy
Latest TF:MP-10 Optimus Prime,Optimus Maximus
Wanted TFs:Abominus, Computron, Road Caesar, Leo Kaizer, G1 Scorponok, G1 dinobots, Grandus
Impossible Dream TFs:Overlord,Galaxyshuttle,Black Zarak, Monstructor or Dinoking
User avatar
fenrir72
City Commander
Posts: 3357
News Credits: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 3:37 am
Location: SEA
Buy from fenrir72 on eBay
Strength: 9
Intelligence: 9
Speed: 6
Endurance: 10+
Rank: 9
Courage: 10
Firepower: 8
Skill: 9

Re: Favorite Transformer Reviewer?

Postby xyl360 » Sun Oct 14, 2012 11:48 am

Emgo316 is probably my number 1. He's hilarious, I LOVE Mascot, and I find his reviews to be extremely informative, especially when it comes to a figure's transformation.

Second would be TJOmega (aka "The Plastic Addict"). His reviews are also amusing and informative.

I like thecollector75 a lot. He reviews a wide variety of figures, including current, G1/Beast Wars and even 3rd party and KO's.

There's a fairly recent reviewer, Mitch Santona, that I've been watching quite a bit lately. He does some great reviews, great quality video and he's generally on top of the latest releases.

I like WolfKang1's reviews. He doesn't do them too often, but when he does, if a figure is shit, he definitely lets you know about it.

I watch quite a few of baltmatrix's reviews. He does a lot of figures from older lines, including Beast Wars and stuff that's more obscure, like Animorphs and such so it's great for learning about figures I wasn't aware of.

I used to watch MindZombie and ExillionXLR, but neither have done anything recently (kinda sucks because MindZombie did a ton of Beast Wars reviews, my favorite line of all time ;)). Exillion was hilarious.

Mattersmasher was another Beast Wars fan/reviewer, but he hasn't done anything recently either.

I like Thew, his short reviews are hilarious.

I occasionally watch ‪Vange1us. I had quit watching him for a while, but recently he's been reviewing more TF's (especially Arms Micron figures, doing what he refers to as 'V-builds' where he builds the Microns and applies the stickers on camera) so I've been watching him again.

I used to watch both Peaugh and Optibotimus, but I haven't watched them in many months. I kinda got tired of both of them for some reason (I detest Peaugh's intro music for one thing :P).
Image
I am Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the end. I am that which is, which was, and is yet to come.

And you will know my name is MEGATRON when I lay my vengeance upon you!
User avatar
xyl360
Gestalt
Posts: 2718
News Credits: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 3:54 am

Re: Favorite Transformer Reviewer?

Postby Evil_the_Nub » Sun Oct 14, 2012 12:01 pm

Motto: "Feel free to die when you've had enough."
Weapon: Dark Saber Sword
Vage1us is my favorite. He's hilarious and goes more into the experience of a figure than the technical aspects of it. To me that's a lot more informative than how it transforms or what color it is.
Image
NewFoundStarscreamLuv wrote:me and my friends combine all the time. Sometimes I even combine by myself if no one is around.
User avatar
Evil_the_Nub
Gestalt
Posts: 2356
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 9:47 am
Strength: 6
Intelligence: 10
Speed: 8
Endurance: 7
Rank: ???
Courage: 9
Firepower: 3
Skill: 9

Re: Favorite Transformer Reviewer?

Postby Autobot032 » Sun Oct 14, 2012 12:26 pm

Weapon: Switch Blade Tail
Peaugh, while I don't particularly care for how he runs his giveaways and how he can be smartassed sometimes, he does a fantastic job on reviews, most times. He always has it in 720 or 1080 HD. He's pretty good about keeping the object in frame and he's clear, concise and gets right to the point. He generally doesn't ramble and !@#$ around like some do.

Vangelus, intelligent, entertaining, excellent camera work, but he doesn't seem to review all the figures I'm interested in, nor do I remember to seek him out on YouTube. (He needs better promotion, he's one of the best.)

Baltmatrix is another good one. He's like Peaugh, but very polite, which is a BIG plus in my book. (In fact, I tend to lean towards Balty being my favorite.)

TJDuckett/KUMA Style is getting better. His original setup made it so he had to be in frame and covered up the subject at hand, but his video and picture quality is unrivaled. (Holy Cow...) He's since bought a new rig and everything and his reviews are really shaping up. He's also concise, clear on his points and gets right to it. (A big A+ in my book.)

There are some I absolutely refuse to watch, due to them annoying me, and/or personal boycotts of them. (I won't list their names here, just too much trouble.)
NOTE: Realize that I am not a perfect Christian, nor do I profess to be. I apologize if anyone's ever offended by me, I'm not perfect. Don't hold my posts and opinions against other Christians.
Autobot032
News Staff
Posts: 8455
News Credits: 37
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 3:51 am
Location: I don't know!
Buy from Autobot032 on eBay

Re: Favorite Transformer Reviewer?

Postby RAcast » Sun Oct 14, 2012 7:37 pm

Motto: "Can't stop, so what! That's how I like it!"
Weapon: Rocket Launcher
My favorite has to be Thew, he's freaking hilarious, and I really enjoy his reviews, tied with Emgo316, who is also pretty great.

My second favorite is a tie between Mitch Santona, Peaugh, and Baltmatrix, whose review styles are the more traditional, and who I go to for higher information density reviews.

And I like MisterFanWank, who does the occasional interesting mod and shows how to do it.
User avatar
RAcast
Gestalt
Posts: 2777
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 4:26 pm
Location: USA
Strength: 5
Intelligence: 10
Speed: 6
Endurance: 6
Rank: 7
Courage: 10
Firepower: 10
Skill: 7

Re: Favorite Transformer Reviewer?

Postby LOST Cybertronian » Sun Oct 14, 2012 8:56 pm

Motto: "Little bit o' bg, not enough to do you any harm"
Weapon: Double-Barreled, Armor-Piercing Particle Beam Cann...
Ilovemess: Ray was the first Transformers reviewer I ever came across and even though he doesn't review the latest and greatest, he is still my favorite.
Last edited by LOST Cybertronian on Mon Oct 15, 2012 6:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

People need to quit being butt hurt that the Bay movies are not G1. That's like saying you hate Transformers Prime because it's nothing like Armada.
LOST Cybertronian
News Staff
Posts: 3291
News Credits: 20
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 1:23 pm
Location: Wichita, KS
Buy from LOST Cybertronian on eBay

Re: Favorite Transformer Reviewer?

Postby Breakdown 2099 » Sun Oct 14, 2012 9:01 pm

Motto: "Bragging is the right of all awesome beings!"
Weapon: Sawed-Off C02 Shotgun
Thew. Short & sweet.
Wanted:
Both of the McDonalds Prime Breakdown Happy Meal Toys (sealed only)
Breakdown 2099
Combiner
Posts: 458
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 3:00 am
Location: Sydney, Australia.

Re: Favorite Transformer Reviewer?

Postby Breakdown 2099 » Sun Oct 14, 2012 9:10 pm

Motto: "Bragging is the right of all awesome beings!"
Weapon: Sawed-Off C02 Shotgun
Thew. Short & sweet.
Wanted:
Both of the McDonalds Prime Breakdown Happy Meal Toys (sealed only)
Breakdown 2099
Combiner
Posts: 458
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 3:00 am
Location: Sydney, Australia.

Re: Favorite Transformer Reviewer?

Postby Transformers Hoarder » Sun Oct 14, 2012 11:45 pm

Motto: "What doesn't kill you, will try again!"
Weapon: Gatling Cannon
Nice thread, let me check these guys out and get back to you.
Image
Transformers Hoarder
Pretender
Posts: 769
News Credits: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 5:37 pm
Location: Hamilton, NJ.
Strength: 8
Intelligence: 9
Speed: 7
Endurance: 7
Rank: 9
Courage: 10+
Firepower: 9
Skill: 9

Re: Favorite Transformer Reviewer?

Postby toddstarz » Mon Oct 15, 2012 1:42 am

Motto: "I'm just a soldier..."
Weapon: Electro-Magnetic Rocket Launcher
Evil_the_Nub wrote:Vage1us is my favorite. He's hilarious and goes more into the experience of a figure than the technical aspects of it. To me that's a lot more informative than how it transforms or what color it is.

i like him too, but his voice is very annoying if listen for too long. still his v build vids are awesome
toddstarz
Mini-Con
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 11:16 am
Location: Cyberjaya Malaysia
Watch toddstarz on YouTube
Buy from toddstarz on eBay
Strength: 8
Intelligence: 8
Speed: 10
Endurance: 9
Rank: 9
Courage: 10
Firepower: 7
Skill: 8

Re: Favorite Transformer Reviewer?

Postby SKYWARPED_128 » Mon Oct 15, 2012 2:04 am

Weapon: Null-Ray Rifle
I usually watche peaugh's reviews since he's usually quite thorough, but the way he fumbles around with the fig as he transforms it...it gets annoying.

Optibotimus is great, too.

But for a good laugh, it has to be jon2.1 (the guy who does Optimus Prime Reviews...) Even if I've already bought the fig and know everything there is to know, I still watch his reviews for the comedy.

Roboadventures is...different. Funny, but crass, profanity-laden and none too informative. Definitely NSFW.
SKYWARPED_128
Gestalt
Posts: 2110
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 7:20 pm
Strength: Infinity
Intelligence: 9
Speed: Infinity
Endurance: 10+
Rank: 9
Courage: 10
Firepower: Infinity
Skill: 10+

Re: Favorite Transformer Reviewer?

Postby xyl360 » Mon Oct 15, 2012 2:24 am

LOST Cybertronian wrote:I love mess: Ray was the first Transformers reviewer I ever came across and even though he doesn't review the latest and greatest, he is still my favorite.

Thank you for reminding me of him!!!!

Seriously, I used to watch his reviews quite a bit a long while back but forgot his name (now added to my favs ;)).

Now you'll have to excuse me, I've got an ilovemess review of Big frickin' Convoy to watch :D (BW NEO=WIN)!

Thanks again.

SKYWARPED_128 wrote:by SKYWARPED_128 » Mon Oct 15, 2012 3:04 am

I usually watche peaugh's reviews since he's usually quite thorough, but the way he fumbles around with the fig as he transforms it...it gets annoying.
Thank you for reminding me of that. That was the major reason I quit watching Peaugh's reviews. I can't hold it against the guy, he may be OCD or ADHD like me (I tend to figit etc. all the time with my hands, including when playing with my Transformers, so I don't think I'd make a good reviewer at all :P).
Image
I am Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the end. I am that which is, which was, and is yet to come.

And you will know my name is MEGATRON when I lay my vengeance upon you!
User avatar
xyl360
Gestalt
Posts: 2718
News Credits: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 3:54 am

Re: Favorite Transformer Reviewer?

Postby Rushie » Mon Oct 15, 2012 4:00 am

Motto: "Eh, keep your little planet. I'll outlive it."
Weapon: Fusion-Powered Particle Blaster
Definitely Thew for the entertainment and the occasional retro review he does. A lot of youtubers only look at new releases.

And Robotadventures if you just want random drunk entertainment while learning nothing of the subject matter :D
Rushie
Pretender
Posts: 719
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 4:00 pm
Location: Rotterdam
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 8
Speed: 4
Endurance: 6
Rank: 9
Courage: 4
Firepower: 6
Skill: 8

Re: Favorite Transformer Reviewer?

Postby gbm » Mon Oct 15, 2012 4:21 am

fxfranz
(I find myself always relying on his information and opinion.)

emgo
(I can't stand this guys reviews. He always seems so unimpressed by everything.)
gbm
Fuzor
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 1:59 pm

Re: Favorite Transformer Reviewer?

Postby mooncake623 » Mon Oct 15, 2012 8:31 am

Weapon: Concussion Rifle
TJDuckett/KUMA Style is getting better. His original setup made it so he had to be in frame and covered up the subject at hand, but his video and picture quality is unrivaled. (Holy Cow...) He's since bought a new rig and everything and his reviews are really shaping up. He's also concise, clear on his points and gets right to it. (A big A+ in my book.)


I love the stuff he reviews but I can't stand the fact that he has to tell you every time he is zooming or focusing...

I like emgo the best but I usually watch anyone that is reviewing a new product I haven't seen.
Looking for:
FP Insecticons
Botcon Redux Spark (Pyro)

for Trade:
MISB FE Arcee
MISB RTS G2 Laser Prime
MISB Generation WFC Megatron


Image]
User avatar
mooncake623
Godmaster
Posts: 1675
News Credits: 24
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 10:27 am
Strength: 8
Intelligence: 8
Speed: 8
Endurance: 6
Rank: 5
Courage: 9
Firepower: 10
Skill: 7

Re: Favorite Transformer Reviewer?

Postby triKlops » Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:08 am

Motto: "I’m the rising sun, I’m the new tomorrow, I’m the skull on the gun, I’m the song of sorrow; I’m the thirteenth arrow, I’m the wisest owl, I’m a soul-eating predator, I’m on the prowl"
Weapon: Requiem Blaster
Vangelus for the camera work
Peaugh for the thoroughness, the intro music is bad, but he gets the job done nicely
Optibotimus and Mitch Santona for a good overall review
Blunghole from the GMC podcast for the drunken stupor
Image
User avatar
triKlops
Gestalt Team Leader
Posts: 926
News Credits: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 1:35 am
Location: Rhode Eye Land

Re: Favorite Transformer Reviewer?

Postby bossman328 » Mon Oct 15, 2012 11:21 am

don't have a favorite. I just google the figure and watch the first 2 reviews that pop up...with the sound turned off.
bossman328
Micromaster
Posts: 99
News Credits: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 10:51 am

Re: Favorite Transformer Reviewer?

Postby PrymeStriker » Mon Oct 15, 2012 11:25 am

Motto: "Brilliant"
Weapon: Augmented Quark Disruptor
Peaugh, Baltmatrix, and Optibotimus.

:PEACE:
Image
By "Kim Yura" & "Zimmo81"
Henry921 wrote:You can always be counted on to listen to reason, Pryme.

Dead Metal wrote:Have you ever, and i mean ever seen/read/heard something that is completely original and does not copy/homage/pay tribute to something else? Here's a hint: Nope. You never have and you never will.
User avatar
PrymeStriker
Guardian Of Seibertron
Posts: 5364
News Credits: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 12:57 pm
Location: Palm Beaches, FL
Buy from PrymeStriker on eBay
Strength: 6
Intelligence: 9
Speed: 7
Endurance: 8
Rank: 7
Courage: 6
Firepower: 9
Skill: 8

Re: Favorite Transformer Reviewer?

Postby LOST Cybertronian » Mon Oct 15, 2012 6:41 pm

Motto: "Little bit o' bg, not enough to do you any harm"
Weapon: Double-Barreled, Armor-Piercing Particle Beam Cann...
xyl360 wrote:
LOST Cybertronian wrote:I love mess: Ray was the first Transformers reviewer I ever came across and even though he doesn't review the latest and greatest, he is still my favorite.

Thank you for reminding me of him!!!!

Seriously, I used to watch his reviews quite a bit a long while back but forgot his name (now added to my favs ;)).

Now you'll have to excuse me, I've got an ilovemess review of Big frickin' Convoy to watch :D (BW NEO=WIN)!


Probably because he had to take a year and a half break from youtube due to his band The Maximals (which are no longer together) was getting a record deal or something.

I dare you to listen to this little ditty and not have it rattle around in your head all day...

Image

People need to quit being butt hurt that the Bay movies are not G1. That's like saying you hate Transformers Prime because it's nothing like Armada.
LOST Cybertronian
News Staff
Posts: 3291
News Credits: 20
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 1:23 pm
Location: Wichita, KS
Buy from LOST Cybertronian on eBay

Re: Favorite Transformer Reviewer?

Postby STINGRAY749 » Mon Oct 15, 2012 8:26 pm

Motto: "This is your end Rampage."
Weapon: Underwater Cannons
For me my absolute number one favorite is Emgo316, because of 3 things.

1. His reviews always show were the tabs go.

2. Humor. An opening skit and a ending skit, that use his mascot.

3. And the fact that once I'm done watching a review I can go and watch him play FOC on his second channel Emgames316

For the rest of the slots I would say

#2. TjOmega
#3 Peaugh
#4 Baltmatrix
#5 Optibotimus
Image

3DS Friend Code: 2208-5040-1208
User avatar
STINGRAY749
Targetmaster
Posts: 604
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 5:43 pm
Location: Duluth, Minnesota
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 8
Speed: 7
Endurance: 7
Rank: 9
Courage: 9
Firepower: Infinity
Skill: 10

Re: Favorite Transformer Reviewer?

Postby RK_Striker_JK_5 » Tue Oct 16, 2012 10:33 am

Motto: ""I am a warrior. Let the battle be joined.""
Weapon: Electron Gun
TJ Omega is one of my favorites, along with Vangelus.
Not caring about scale since 1984. Just like Hasbro.

My reviews of Transformers G1, one episode at a time. Stop by for a spell!
RK_Striker_JK_5
City Commander
Posts: 3062
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 6:48 pm
Location: New Hampshire
Strength: 4
Intelligence: 9
Speed: 6
Endurance: 10
Rank: 2
Courage: 9
Firepower: 4
Skill: 6

Re: Favorite Transformer Reviewer?

Postby Sargent » Tue Oct 16, 2012 3:34 pm

Motto: "Wreckers don't call for backup. They call for clean-up!"
Weapon: Rifle
Definitely Thew - he's thewsome and funny!
And he's back, after a longish hiatus, which is great!

Peaugh and Optibotimus are my go-to reviewers when I need some transformation tricks or close-ups or some such thing. TJOmega is also nice, from time to time. Oh, and Mattersmasher, too! ;)
Wreck'n'Rule!

Image
User avatar
Sargent
Mini-Con
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2012 3:55 pm
Location: Bremen, Germany
Strength: 9
Intelligence: 7
Speed: 6
Endurance: 9
Rank: 8
Courage: 6
Firepower: 9
Skill: 8

Re: Favorite Transformer Reviewer?

Postby gavinfuzzy » Thu Oct 18, 2012 6:59 am

Motto: "Secrets are the foundations of success"
Weapon: Sub-Machine Gun
Rushie wrote:And Robotadventures if you just want random drunk entertainment while learning nothing of the subject matter :D


I pity him for living in Japan. He constantly pays the huge marked up price even at retail there (Which is more than what other asian countries pay for the imported Arms Micron/ DOTM)

More than half the time, due to the price, he does not recommend a figure. :lol:
Add me as a friend on facebook ---> http://www.facebook.com/gavinlimkj
User avatar
gavinfuzzy
Godmaster
Posts: 1829
News Credits: 10
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 10:14 pm
Location: Singapore
Watch gavinfuzzy on YouTube
Strength: 8
Intelligence: 10
Speed: 6
Endurance: 6
Rank: 8
Courage: 8
Firepower: 7
Skill: 7

Next

Return to Transformers Toys Discussion

Transformers Podcast: Twincast / Podcast #90 - Dark Scorponok
Twincast / Podcast #90:
"Dark Scorponok"
MP3 · iTunes · RSS · View · Discuss · Ask
Posted: Monday, April 7th, 2014