Submit News Contact Us Translate Sign in Join

Headrobots Blood the Dark Warrior Video Review

Post your reviews of Transformers toys in this topic. Please keep each topic dedicated to one specific toy (i.e. DOTM Deluxe Class Optimus Prime"). Videos can be posted in a topic as well as text reviews and images.

Headrobots Blood the Dark Warrior Video Review

Postby El Duque » Thu Sep 01, 2011 7:03 am

Motto: "I ain't got time to bleed!"
Weapon: Gattling Gun
YouTube member peuagh has uploaded a video review of the latest upgrade set from Headrobots, Blood the Dark Warrior. This set provides two new head sculpts for ROTF/HFTD Voyager Bludgeon, a more menacing skull, and a version closer to what we've seen from the IDW comics with no bottom jaw. The set also comes with two chrome plated swords to replace the soft rubbery ones that originally came with the figure. Review embedded below:

User avatar
El Duque
News Admin
Posts: 9881
News Credits: 88
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 8:57 pm
Location: tornado alley

Re: Headrobots Blood the Dark Warrior Video Review

Postby synthetik » Thu Sep 01, 2011 7:14 am

Motto: "You! Yes, you! You are dead!"
Weapon: Double-Barreled Plasma Shell Shotgun
It actually came out pretty well. Was a bit iffy about buying it at first but it actually looks much better than I imagined.
User avatar
synthetik
Minibot
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 12:48 pm
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 9
Speed: Infinity
Endurance: 6
Courage: 8
Firepower: 10
Skill: Infinity

Re: Headrobots Blood the Dark Warrior Video Review

Postby rpetras » Thu Sep 01, 2011 7:45 am

Motto: "Know your enemy, then crush them."
Weapon: Gatling Cannon
Even if you don't like the head, the price is worth it for the swords.

The swords he comes with are lame.
For Sale:
Classics Magnus/Skywarp 2 pack MIB
Classics Devastator MIP
HA Sideswipe K-Mart exclusive color Loose

Currently looking for:
ROTF Target exclusive Sideswipe from the 2-pack
TFCC Punch/Counterpunch
Alternity Primes, silver & white versions
(opened is OK, to be used for customs)

PM If interested
User avatar
rpetras
City Commander
Posts: 3096
News Credits: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 2:28 pm
Strength: 9
Intelligence: 9
Speed: 4
Endurance: 7
Rank: 3
Courage: 7
Firepower: 8
Skill: 10

Re: Headrobots Blood the Dark Warrior Video Review

Postby Covenant » Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:16 am

Motto: "Just keep going.."
Weapon: Fusion Cannon
Question; Are they still planning on doing the Blood upgrade for the deluxe figure as featured with the Gyro preview way back?
Image
User avatar
Covenant
Combiner
Posts: 497
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 1:57 pm
Location: Surrounded by a Ring of Red
Buy from Covenant on eBay
Strength: 8
Intelligence: 9
Speed: 8
Endurance: 10+
Rank: 7
Courage: 8
Firepower: 9
Skill: 10

Re: Headrobots Blood the Dark Warrior Video Review

Postby NemesisMonkeySupreme » Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:23 am

Motto: "Peace through tyranny… or obliteration. Whichever is quicker."
Weapon: High Energy MASER Cannons
Covenant wrote:Question; Are they still planning on doing the Blood upgrade for the deluxe figure as featured with the Gyro preview way back?

^^^
This is what I'm waiting for!

Hopefully someone will post a pictorial review of this version, I can't be bothered with video (though at 8 minutes 36 seconds) this is a bit more manageable than usual, but I am a fundamentalist on my opposition of video reviews).
:CON: To unleash the Warrior within, tame the Beast without. :CON:
User avatar
NemesisMonkeySupreme
Vehicon
Posts: 340
News Credits: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 12:25 am
Location: Portland, OR
Strength: 10+
Intelligence: 9
Speed: 8
Endurance: 10+
Rank: ???
Courage: 8
Firepower: 10
Skill: 6

Re: Headrobots Blood the Dark Warrior Video Review

Postby El Duque » Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:30 am

Motto: "I ain't got time to bleed!"
Weapon: Gattling Gun
NemesisMonkeySupreme wrote:
Covenant wrote:Question; Are they still planning on doing the Blood upgrade for the deluxe figure as featured with the Gyro preview way back?

^^^
This is what I'm waiting for!

Hopefully someone will post a pictorial review of this version, I can't be bothered with video (though at 8 minutes 36 seconds) this is a bit more manageable than usual, but I am a fundamentalist on my opposition of video reviews).


Last I heard they were still planning to release the Deluxe Bludgeon kit as an injection mold mass production set, unlike the exclusive Gyro resin set that came out earlier.
User avatar
El Duque
News Admin
Posts: 9881
News Credits: 88
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 8:57 pm
Location: tornado alley

Re: Headrobots Blood the Dark Warrior Video Review

Postby Rated X » Thu Sep 01, 2011 9:10 am

Motto: ""Assumption is the mother of all screw ups.""
Weapon: Saw-Edged Pincer
NemesisMonkeySupreme wrote:
Covenant wrote:Question; Are they still planning on doing the Blood upgrade for the deluxe figure as featured with the Gyro preview way back?

^^^
This is what I'm waiting for!

Hopefully someone will post a pictorial review of this version, I can't be bothered with video (though at 8 minutes 36 seconds) this is a bit more manageable than usual, but I am a fundamentalist on my opposition of video reviews).



Whats wrong, does the video on your computer keep buffering ??? That would make me hate reviews too.

I usually watch reviews when I have the toy in my hands. I use them as online instruction manuals for complex tranformations. Let someone else do the hard part for me of figuring out how to transform it without breaking it. ;)
Image

Check out my Customs:

Classics Pounce and Wingspan
classics-pounce-and-wingspan-t95811.php

Generations Twincast
generations-twincast-t94088.php

Collection photos will be updated soon at this link :
http://www.seibertron.com/energonpub/rated-x-s-collection-t55699.php
User avatar
Rated X
Guardian Of Seibertron
Posts: 5623
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2008 6:25 pm
Location: Miami, Florida
Strength: 5
Intelligence: 8
Speed: 2
Endurance: 10
Rank: 7
Courage: 10+
Firepower: 10+
Skill: 8

Re: Headrobots Blood the Dark Warrior Video Review

Postby NemesisMonkeySupreme » Thu Sep 01, 2011 9:26 am

Motto: "Peace through tyranny… or obliteration. Whichever is quicker."
Weapon: High Energy MASER Cannons
Rated X wrote:
NemesisMonkeySupreme wrote:
Covenant wrote:Question; Are they still planning on doing the Blood upgrade for the deluxe figure as featured with the Gyro preview way back?

^^^
This is what I'm waiting for!

Hopefully someone will post a pictorial review of this version, I can't be bothered with video (though at 8 minutes 36 seconds) this is a bit more manageable than usual, but I am a fundamentalist on my opposition of video reviews).



Whats wrong, does the video on your computer keep buffering ??? That would make me hate reviews too.

I usually watch reviews when I have the toy in my hands. I use them as online instruction manuals for complex tranformations. Let someone else do the hard part for me of figuring out how to transform it without breaking it. ;)


Colour me reactionary, but I use the instructions for the figure (and if purchased without them just about every instruction sheet is available online, officially or unofficially). ;)

RE: Video reviews and why I "hate" them.

Short answer: It's a personal preference.

Long answer: I am anti-video review because they are often over long, have poor images and/or lack photographic detail and most often seem like the lazy way to do a review (set up a camera and prattle on for a while as you record mostly images of your hands obscuring the toy). A well-written, well-photographed review allows you to quickly and succinctly find what you what need from it - be it a full review or some images to help you decide whether or not to purchase an item. It's a time thing as well. If I only what to see/read a specific detail about a figure I can spend a few seconds get what i want and be done with it. That's not possible with a YouTube (or almost any) video. Unfortunately, it's far easier to hit record and upload to YouTube than to set-up a photo shoot and write out a review (it seems to me that most video reviews are off-the-cuff as opposed to having a script) and then post to a website or blog. It's also easier to link/embed a video review than to fairly present a photographic/written review without redirecting traffic from the original item.
:CON: To unleash the Warrior within, tame the Beast without. :CON:
User avatar
NemesisMonkeySupreme
Vehicon
Posts: 340
News Credits: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 12:25 am
Location: Portland, OR
Strength: 10+
Intelligence: 9
Speed: 8
Endurance: 10+
Rank: ???
Courage: 8
Firepower: 10
Skill: 6

Re: Headrobots Blood the Dark Warrior Video Review

Postby kirbenvost » Thu Sep 01, 2011 9:39 am

Motto: "Deal with it."
Weapon: Sniper Rifle
I don't really care for the head, although the flipping gimmick is cool. I'm just fine with the original one. But this may be worth it for the swords. However, being they're chromed, won't they scratch easily as you remove or insert them into the scabbard?

Edit: Actually, after actually watching the review, I'm impressed. The removable handle/barrel that fits onto the small gun for storage just did it. That and I'm less worried about the swords getting scratched. I also like how the head just snaps on, that's ingenious if you ask me. I may just pick this up the next time I have some extra TF money. :D
Last edited by kirbenvost on Thu Sep 01, 2011 9:49 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
------------------------------
My Collection
------------------------------
For Sale/Trade
User avatar
kirbenvost
Matrix Keeper
Posts: 8702
News Credits: 11
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2004 2:57 am
Location: Vancouver BC
Strength: 6
Intelligence: 8
Speed: 10+
Endurance: 7
Rank: 7
Courage: 8
Firepower: 9
Skill: 10

Re: Headrobots Blood the Dark Warrior Video Review

Postby Carnivius_Prime » Thu Sep 01, 2011 9:48 am

Motto: "A cunning smile is more devastating than the fiercest weapon."
Weapon: Anti-Thermal Cannon
Haven't the time for video reviews but I got my Blood kit yesterday and I love it. RotF Voyager Bludgeon was already my most favorite Decepticon toy of all time and even though I didn't hate the head it did seem a bit blob-like and with a bland face. The new head and helmet looks a hell of a lot better and I like the choice of faces (I'm using the skull as his main face and the more cybernetic one as his 'battlemask'). The helmet does come off a bit during transformation due to the feature but it's not a problem and can easily fit back on without trouble.

The swords too make the figure look far more impressive and I've transformed him a few times with them and not yet had any chrome come off them but I am careful with it. The tank mode sure looks better with a green tank barrel too.

It's been my first purchase of an unofficial Transformer product and I'm really happy with it. Ok I had to wait a while but given how much it's improved a figure I already loved to bits it was totally worth it.

Now I can put him with my sorta 'movie/classics' inspired Carnivac repaint of Cybertron Snarl to have that Marvel UK comics reunion.
Mainly TF movieverse toy collector.
Current Wants: None. Got higher priorities than lil plastic toys lately.
User avatar
Carnivius_Prime
Minibot
Posts: 168
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 3:35 am

Re: Headrobots Blood the Dark Warrior Video Review

Postby kirbenvost » Thu Sep 01, 2011 9:58 am

Motto: "Deal with it."
Weapon: Sniper Rifle
Here's another review that's a little more succinct:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KK-OYarSaCA&feature=player_embedded#!

One of the main concerns is that the gun barrel was a little loose on the sword handle for this guy, which is a bit concerning. But Peaugh's seemed fine, so perhaps it was an isolated problem.
Image
------------------------------
My Collection
------------------------------
For Sale/Trade
User avatar
kirbenvost
Matrix Keeper
Posts: 8702
News Credits: 11
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2004 2:57 am
Location: Vancouver BC
Strength: 6
Intelligence: 8
Speed: 10+
Endurance: 7
Rank: 7
Courage: 8
Firepower: 9
Skill: 10

Re: Headrobots Blood the Dark Warrior Video Review

Postby BeastProwl » Thu Sep 01, 2011 12:15 pm

Motto: "Planet Exploder"
Weapon: Razor Tipped Wing Swords
Were did my comment go? I posted a comment here....hmmm, an error maybe? It wasn't removed, nothing explicit or bashing at all.
My question was, Even though I wouldn't be interested, are they doing a repainted version for Bonzaitron do you think? I mean, I don't like the figure, but it would be cool, especially if you use the skull for bludgeon, and the Noh' mask mode for Bonzaitron, or the other way around, depends on your preferences I guess, but still, would make that rapaint look cooler.
My PSN: BeastProwl
Image

Come read my Photocomic! It totally doesn't suck!

Va'al wrote:PCCs are not only desirable, they are adorable. [-(

Fanboy wrote:You need to see the figure, feel the figure , lick the figure , be the figure,
And only then can you love mp 01 the way I have.
User avatar
BeastProwl
Guardian Of Seibertron
Posts: 6065
News Credits: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 2:13 pm
Location: The Badass Crater of Badassitude
Strength: 10+
Intelligence: 9
Speed: 10+
Endurance: 7
Rank: ???
Courage: Infinity
Firepower: 10+
Skill: 9

Re: Headrobots Blood the Dark Warrior Video Review

Postby Blackstreak » Thu Sep 01, 2011 1:14 pm

Motto: ""I'm stronger than I look, but not as strong as I think I am.""
Weapon: Laser Rifle
I just received mine. The head sits a little looser than what I'm comfortable w/ but it's not a bad set. The head even turns around for the alternate facing...but you already know that from watching video I'm betting (no, I didn't watch it). Weapons are really slick.
Image

# of Transformers in collection: 241TFs 4 sale
1985 Action Cards for sale
WTB/T for...
Blackstreak
Gestalt
Posts: 2043
News Credits: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 5:14 pm
Location: West Chester, OH
Strength: 5
Intelligence: 5
Speed: 9
Endurance: 7
Rank: 5
Courage: 9
Firepower: 9
Skill: 8

Re: Headrobots Blood the Dark Warrior Video Review

Postby kirbenvost » Thu Sep 01, 2011 3:20 pm

Motto: "Deal with it."
Weapon: Sniper Rifle
Yeah, almost certainly gonna get this when I ship my next PoL. Between this and the Maketoys G2 Prime Trailer set including a sword for Drift, all I'll need is a sword for Vector Prime to rid my collection of Floppy Sword Syndrome forever!
Image
------------------------------
My Collection
------------------------------
For Sale/Trade
User avatar
kirbenvost
Matrix Keeper
Posts: 8702
News Credits: 11
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2004 2:57 am
Location: Vancouver BC
Strength: 6
Intelligence: 8
Speed: 10+
Endurance: 7
Rank: 7
Courage: 8
Firepower: 9
Skill: 10

Re: Headrobots Blood the Dark Warrior Video Review

Postby BeastProwl » Fri Sep 02, 2011 9:17 am

Motto: "Planet Exploder"
Weapon: Razor Tipped Wing Swords
:HEADHURTS: Just noticed myself in the Credits. Thanks for that!
Why do I never notice these things? :BANG_HEAD:
My PSN: BeastProwl
Image

Come read my Photocomic! It totally doesn't suck!

Va'al wrote:PCCs are not only desirable, they are adorable. [-(

Fanboy wrote:You need to see the figure, feel the figure , lick the figure , be the figure,
And only then can you love mp 01 the way I have.
User avatar
BeastProwl
Guardian Of Seibertron
Posts: 6065
News Credits: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 2:13 pm
Location: The Badass Crater of Badassitude
Strength: 10+
Intelligence: 9
Speed: 10+
Endurance: 7
Rank: ???
Courage: Infinity
Firepower: 10+
Skill: 9

Re: Headrobots Blood the Dark Warrior Video Review

Postby EShadowP » Fri Sep 02, 2011 11:36 am

kirbenvost wrote:Here's another review that's a little more succinct:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KK-OYarSaCA&feature=player_embedded#!

One of the main concerns is that the gun barrel was a little loose on the sword handle for this guy, which is a bit concerning. But Peaugh's seemed fine, so perhaps it was an isolated problem.


Actually, my only complaint with this set is that my gun barrel has the same issue as that guy's. It sits on the sword handle with no tension at all, i.e. nothing holding it in place. Granted, he's going to be displayed in robot mode, so it shouldn't be a problem.

-Eric-
EShadowP
Mini-Con
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 12:01 pm


Return to Transformers Toy Reviews

Transformers Podcast: Twincast / Podcast #96 - Age of Extinction
Twincast / Podcast #96:
"Age of Extinction"
MP3 · iTunes · RSS · View · Discuss · Ask
Posted: Monday, July 7th, 2014