Submit News Contact Us Translate Sign in Join

Information about trolling, flaming and not respecting the opinions of others

Rules for Seibertron.com's Forums can be found in this forum.

Information about trolling, flaming and not respecting the opinions of others

Postby Cyber Bishop » Tue Aug 28, 2007 6:08 am

Motto: "Ker-Klick... Choom!"
Weapon: Fusion Cannon
Lately there have been quite a few posters that we get a lot of complaints about for various things like;

1) Flaming
2) Baiting
3) Trolling
4) Lack of respect
5) Forcing their opinions on others

I and the rest of the staff are tired of these situations.
We are not trying to censor anyone or play Gestapo, there is a general lack of respect going on and it will stop.
It is ok to disagree with ones opinion; HOWEVER forcing your opinion on others and flaming them for it is not acceptable.

Example

User 1: I liked the transformers movie and what Bay did to them
User2: I don’t care what you like, bay sucks and so do you for liking him

If this was the “real world” your teeth would be knocked out for telling something like that to someone. This is not acceptable conduct.

How things like that should be handled..

User 1: I liked the transformers movie and what Bay did to them
User2: That is your opinion, I don’t like bay or his work and that is my opinion

See, much better. No hostility and the convo can continue with everyone talking and discussing like mature people.

Baiting and trolling is self explanatory, there is no reason for someone to follow someone else around and argue with them in every thread they post in.

The rules are here http://www.seibertron.com/forums/viewto ... =9614&sid=

This will not be tolerated anymore and it could end up with users being perma-banned from Seibertron.
Image

http://www.facebook.com/cyberbishop

501st Legion Deputy Forum Admin
Bast Alpha Garrison GWL
TK/ID/SL: 2926
User avatar
Cyber Bishop
God Of Transformers
Posts: 18613
News Credits: 11
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 4:04 am
Location: New Orleans
Watch Cyber Bishop on YouTube
Buy from Cyber Bishop on eBay

Re: Information about trolling, flaming and not respecting the opinions of others

Postby Superwheeljack » Wed Apr 17, 2013 4:49 pm

Motto: "The problem with loyalty to a cause is, that the cause will always betray you"
Weapon: Accelerator Rifle
No offense, but isn't it a good idea just not to post anything at all when replying to someone's opinion?
I mean, don't reply back at all?
Not trying to insult the mods at all!
"This isn't how the story's supposed to end."
—Smokescreen giving a middle finger to the tried and true leadership inheritance patterns.

"You do know that I vanquished Cliffjumper, don't you?"
"Big whoop. I snuffed Hardshell."
—Starscream finally gets his "I killed Cliffjumper" boast shut down by Miko.
User avatar
Superwheeljack
Vehicon
Posts: 300
News Credits: 34
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 9:10 am
Location: Don't know. Probably under your portch
Watch Superwheeljack on YouTube
Strength: 6
Intelligence: 9
Speed: 8
Endurance: 10+
Rank: 10
Courage: 9
Firepower: 8
Skill: 10+

Re: Information about trolling, flaming and not respecting the opinions of others

Postby prowl123 » Tue May 14, 2013 1:34 pm

Motto: "If your house burns down... it's my fault."
Weapon: Sniper Rifle
Superwheeljack wrote:No offense, but isn't it a good idea just not to post anything at all when replying to someone's opinion?
I mean, don't reply back at all?
Not trying to insult the mods at all!


Not necessarily. Everyone has a right to state their opinion. They just need to think before they reply to someone's opinions.
~prowl123~


Don't take anything I say seriously, because what I say may not necessarily be what I mean.
User avatar
prowl123
Godmaster
Posts: 1552
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 5:43 pm
Location: Watching the guy that's watching you.
Strength: Infinity
Intelligence: Infinity
Speed: Infinity
Endurance: Infinity
Rank: Infinity
Courage: Infinity
Firepower: Infinity
Skill: Infinity

Re: Information about trolling, flaming and not respecting the opinions of others

Postby Superwheeljack » Tue May 14, 2013 6:27 pm

Motto: "The problem with loyalty to a cause is, that the cause will always betray you"
Weapon: Accelerator Rifle
prowl123 wrote:
Superwheeljack wrote:No offense, but isn't it a good idea just not to post anything at all when replying to someone's opinion?
I mean, don't reply back at all?
Not trying to insult the mods at all!


Not necessarily. Everyone has a right to state their opinion. They just need to think before they reply to someone's opinions.


Good point.
As long as they don't go on a cussing rampage cussing you off.
"This isn't how the story's supposed to end."
—Smokescreen giving a middle finger to the tried and true leadership inheritance patterns.

"You do know that I vanquished Cliffjumper, don't you?"
"Big whoop. I snuffed Hardshell."
—Starscream finally gets his "I killed Cliffjumper" boast shut down by Miko.
User avatar
Superwheeljack
Vehicon
Posts: 300
News Credits: 34
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 9:10 am
Location: Don't know. Probably under your portch
Watch Superwheeljack on YouTube
Strength: 6
Intelligence: 9
Speed: 8
Endurance: 10+
Rank: 10
Courage: 9
Firepower: 8
Skill: 10+

Re: Information about trolling, flaming and not respecting the opinions of others

Postby Cyber Bishop » Wed May 15, 2013 10:10 am

Motto: "Ker-Klick... Choom!"
Weapon: Fusion Cannon
Superwheeljack wrote:No offense, but isn't it a good idea just not to post anything at all when replying to someone's opinion?
I mean, don't reply back at all?
Not trying to insult the mods at all!



Don't reply back at all... I wish. is not gong to happen man, this is the internet, people can post and be as big of jerks as they can from behind the comfort of their monitors with no real worry.. As long as this is the case people will reply to others opinions.

Also your post here was not necessary, this was posted for everyone to read and understand. If you don't like the rules then I am sorry, some people need to be constantly reminded of these things. Just because one or two feel like you feel there are hundreds and maybe even thousands out there that do not and do not care.

Also you questioned the mods here so YOU ARE BANNED!!!!



































Just kidding on the banned part.. :grin:
Image

http://www.facebook.com/cyberbishop

501st Legion Deputy Forum Admin
Bast Alpha Garrison GWL
TK/ID/SL: 2926
User avatar
Cyber Bishop
God Of Transformers
Posts: 18613
News Credits: 11
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 4:04 am
Location: New Orleans
Watch Cyber Bishop on YouTube
Buy from Cyber Bishop on eBay

Re: Information about trolling, flaming and not respecting the opinions of others

Postby Bowspearer » Thu Jun 06, 2013 6:34 pm

I think some of it comes down to whether something is nasty or humourous though.

Take your example

User 1: I liked the transformers movie and what Bay did to them
User2: I don’t care what you like, bay sucks and so do you for liking him


Yes things would get heated and rightly so, it's nasty and its personal.

Alternately:

User 1: I liked the transformers movie and what Bay did to them
User 2: That's because as a transfan, I have something you dont?
User 1: And that would be?
User 2: Standards :P

Let's face it if that was said in person, then chances are, what would result would be a playful "oh shut up" or "well every fandom has to have its snobs I guess :P " or something along those lines.

That probably should go without saying, but let's face it, the first rule of the internet is "never assume anything" :P
Fanboy wrote:You need to see the figure, feel the figure , lick the figure , be the figure,
And only then can you love mp 01 the way I have.
Bowspearer
Headmaster Jr
Posts: 583
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 10:13 pm

Re: Information about trolling, flaming and not respecting the opinions of others

Postby Evil_the_Nub » Fri Oct 18, 2013 4:42 am

Motto: "Feel free to die when you've had enough."
Weapon: Dark Saber Sword
I don't know if it's against the rules, but I'm getting really sick of seeing posts like this in every damn thread on the movie forum.
shockblast2 wrote:Cool! Hopefully Michael Bay got sucker punched right in the face. I would pay money to see that. I would rather see that than this inevitable train wreck of a movie he is filming.

Or seeing people complain about the same thing they've been complaining about since 2007. Every time there's something revealed about the movie it's a barrage of the same whining by the same people. They know what to expect by now and nobody is forcing them to see it. It's trolling, plain and simple.
Image
NewFoundStarscreamLuv wrote:me and my friends combine all the time. Sometimes I even combine by myself if no one is around.
User avatar
Evil_the_Nub
Gestalt
Posts: 2392
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 9:47 am
Strength: 6
Intelligence: 10
Speed: 8
Endurance: 7
Rank: ???
Courage: 9
Firepower: 3
Skill: 9


Return to Rules Forum

Transformers Podcast: Twincast / Podcast #102 - Hidden Mickeys
Twincast / Podcast #102:
"Hidden Mickeys"
MP3 · iTunes · RSS · View · Discuss · Ask
Posted: Sunday, October 5th, 2014