Submit News Contact Us Translate Sign in Join

Peaugh Reviews: MMC KM Airborne Squad AWAKENING

Post your reviews of Transformers toys in this topic. Please keep each topic dedicated to one specific toy (i.e. DOTM Deluxe Class Optimus Prime"). Videos can be posted in a topic as well as text reviews and images.

Peaugh Reviews: MMC KM Airborne Squad AWAKENING

Postby Peaugh » Thu Sep 13, 2012 3:06 pm

Got a super duper package in the mail today - Mastermind's Knight Morpher Airbourne Squad Awakening!

Image

Video is up now!

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fMgHfP93oGI[/youtube]

For those few not in the know, the Knight Morpher line consists of brand new toys based on the Hearts of Steel miniseries, featuring our favorite characters with 19th century altmodes. The Decepticon seekers featured designs inspired by some of Da Vinci's flying vehicle concepts. The awakening version is an all black and grey preview version. It's a full-on production quality figure molded in colors that make it look like a grey prototype, and it's pretty awesome. The box includes the figure itself, a set of all three unique weapons used by Screecher (Starscream), Stormer (Thundercracker) and Warper (Skywarp).

Image

Also included are the instructions, and a special sheet detailing various shrp points, as well as some fragile bits you'll want to make note of when transforming the figure.

Image

The wings come packaged detached from the main robot, so once those are attached you've got what is already a pretty neat figure!

Image

Size wise he's about the same mass of a voyager, but slightly shorter since a lot of that is in the wings. Here's a quick shot of him with KM-03 Cyclops.

Image

And for a more common comparison, next to United/Generations Jazz:

Image

Screecher has the chain guns, but as mentioned, he also comes with the weapons used by Stormer:

Image

As well as the cannons for Warper:

Image

So you can display him as the awakening version of any of the three main seekers. The hip armor is also detachable (be careful with this!) and can form a pair of scimitar-ish swords:

Image

One of the neat things that both adds to the detail of the figure and some fun during transformation is the addition of some Mech Alive/Automorph features in the head/shoulders and legs:

Image

Image


Transformation is a lot of fun. Much like Cyclops, you're going to want to take your time the first few times through it as you figure out where everything goes. I popped the wings back off while doing the arms just to get a sense of how it all works and pegs together, but everything locks into place quite securely.

Image

The way the hip armor flips up and attaches itself to the arms, including using the arm flap to lock in place is really elegant and helps integrate the parts together.

Image

The legs fold up and around:

Image

The resulting tri-level plane mode is really cool as well.

Image

All in all, while it's definitely one to take your time with the first few times through, this is just another amazing piece to add to the Knight Morpher line. This grey prototype colored version is a limited edition exclusive (and already sold out), but I saw the fully painted versions of all three at TFcon and let me tell you, they look AMAZING. The shiny metallic plastics and paints on these guys just really seals the deal, and I'm looking forward to their release as well as the upcoming Terminus Hexatron figure. (Spoiler alert: HE IS HUGE!)
Last edited by Peaugh on Fri Sep 14, 2012 12:54 am, edited 3 times in total.
Peaugh
Mini-Con
Posts: 44
News Credits: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 11:22 pm

Re: Peaugh Reviews: MMC KM Airborne Squad AWAKENING

Postby BeastProwl » Thu Sep 13, 2012 3:46 pm

Motto: "Planet Exploder"
Weapon: Razor Tipped Wing Swords
More interesting up close than I thought he would be. Really fun looking. Any QC issues to worry about?
My PSN: BeastProwl
Image

Come read my Photocomic! It totally doesn't suck!

Va'al wrote:PCCs are not only desirable, they are adorable. [-(

Fanboy wrote:You need to see the figure, feel the figure , lick the figure , be the figure,
And only then can you love mp 01 the way I have.
User avatar
BeastProwl
Guardian Of Seibertron
Posts: 6077
News Credits: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 2:13 pm
Location: The Badass Crater of Badassitude
Strength: 10+
Intelligence: 9
Speed: 10+
Endurance: 7
Rank: ???
Courage: Infinity
Firepower: 10+
Skill: 9

Re: Peaugh Reviews: MMC KM Airborne Squad AWAKENING

Postby Peaugh » Thu Sep 13, 2012 4:04 pm

BeastProwl wrote:More interesting up close than I thought he would be. Really fun looking. Any QC issues to worry about?


Quality control seems fine, nothing I've noticed on mine yet. There are a few places you'll want to watch out for during transformation just due to some fragility in the design itself, but those are pretty clearly shown on the warning sheet I mentioned (and I've found while playing with it they're not super fragile or anything, just places to want to make sure to sue some care)
Peaugh
Mini-Con
Posts: 44
News Credits: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 11:22 pm

Re: Peaugh Reviews: MMC KM Airborne Squad AWAKENING

Postby LOST Cybertronian » Thu Sep 13, 2012 5:38 pm

Motto: "Keep calm and form Voltron"
Weapon: Double-Barreled, Armor-Piercing Particle Beam Cann...
Great pictoral review Peaugh, can't wait to get the painted version of all three. Also looking forward to the video.
william-james88 wrote:I am just glad the conversation has changed from just being about the butt flap


Blast Cannon wrote:This thread is brilliant. Duragrip you are a gloriously weird sexual deviant and I love it.
User avatar
LOST Cybertronian
News Staff
Posts: 3498
News Credits: 20
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 1:23 pm
Location: Wichita, KS
Buy from LOST Cybertronian on eBay

Re: Peaugh Reviews: MMC KM Airborne Squad AWAKENING

Postby caked-up » Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:12 pm

Weapon: Dual Impact Maces
I have been dying to get a hold of Warper to replace my MP Skywarp (the hips and heels kill him), but I was hoping these KMC guys would be about the size of a leader/MP. Are they actually going to produce more than one size of these molds?
A lesson for you to remember, "Never hate anything so much that cancer is chosen to teach you otherwise. Live your life and enjoy everyone and everything around you."
caked-up
Fuzor
Posts: 240
News Credits: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 11:18 am
Watch caked-up on YouTube
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 7
Speed: 6
Endurance: 6
Rank: 6
Courage: 10
Firepower: 6
Skill: 6

Re: Peaugh Reviews: MMC KM Airborne Squad AWAKENING

Postby Peaugh » Fri Sep 14, 2012 12:54 am

Video review is live!

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fMgHfP93oGI[/youtube]
Peaugh
Mini-Con
Posts: 44
News Credits: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 11:22 pm

Re: Peaugh Reviews: MMC KM Airborne Squad AWAKENING

Postby Mkall » Fri Sep 14, 2012 8:42 am

Weapon: Twin Sonic Cannons
Peaugh wrote:Video review is live!

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fMgHfP93oGI[/youtube]

All you need is the ID code of the youtube video for the link to work:
Code: Select all
[youtube]fMgHfP93oGI[/youtube]




Nice review. I'm not interested in the monocolour version, but it gives me excitement for the upcoming figures.
Image

My Collection! Updated April 21, 2013
User avatar
Mkall
God Of Transformers
Posts: 14032
News Credits: 37
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2003 6:50 pm
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 8
Speed: 6
Endurance: 6
Rank: 8
Courage: 8
Firepower: 6
Skill: 10


Return to Transformers Toy Reviews

Transformers Podcast: Twincast / Podcast #101 - Talkin' 'Bout My Generations
Twincast / Podcast #101:
"Talkin' 'Bout My Generations"
MP3 · iTunes · RSS · View · Discuss · Ask
Posted: Sunday, September 21st, 2014