Submit News Contact Us Translate Sign in Join

TF PC game: Forcing Hi Res assets on

This is the forum to discuss all of those video games you love playing or that are coming out. From Transformers video games to Fighting games to Sports games ... whatever makes you a happy Seibertronian. Just keep it the topics and conversations game and console related.

Postby Subsonika » Fri Jul 27, 2007 3:43 pm

1337W422102 wrote:
Subsonika wrote:
Robo-Chugster wrote:
Subsonika wrote:tbh i have no idea what u r talking about :oops:


umm...why did you reply then? not being nasty...just wondering


it was a subtle way of saying "i too have the TF PC Game but do not know what you mean by forcing hi res stuff"

I take it you're either a) a console gamer by nature, b) able to have the High-Res assets on (you lucky punk!), or c) just assumed that modern 'next-gen' games would have low-res textures and graphics that don't look like those we expect/have seen in the screenshots.



ahhhh i do have a hi powered 3d graphic card...
Image
Subsonika
Gestalt
Posts: 2295
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 9:14 am

Postby 1337W422102 » Fri Jul 27, 2007 3:48 pm

Motto: "I come from the Net."
Weapon: Double-Barreled, Armor-Piercing Particle Beam Cann...
Subsonika wrote:
1337W422102 wrote:
Subsonika wrote:
Robo-Chugster wrote:
Subsonika wrote:tbh i have no idea what u r talking about :oops:


umm...why did you reply then? not being nasty...just wondering


it was a subtle way of saying "i too have the TF PC Game but do not know what you mean by forcing hi res stuff"

I take it you're either a) a console gamer by nature, b) able to have the High-Res assets on (you lucky punk!), or c) just assumed that modern 'next-gen' games would have low-res textures and graphics that don't look like those we expect/have seen in the screenshots.



ahhhh i do have a hi powered 3d graphic card...

That's the thing, so do I! Yet when I go into the game's options menu (I think it's the video settings option), the 'Enable Hi-Res Assets' option is off and greyed-out, so I cannot access it. In the .ini file, Hi-Res assets are also disabled, and enabling them in the file doesn't turn them on in the game. Robo seems to be having the same problem.
Image
Ages 25 & Up, comics with ball joints of steel. Updated Mondays.
Classics Prime and Cybertron Armorhide are the Bad Mother Truckers
User avatar
1337W422102
God Of Transformers
Posts: 12055
News Credits: 23
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 4:54 pm
Location: in ur base killin ur d00dz
Strength: 3
Intelligence: 7
Speed: 6
Endurance: 3
Rank: 7
Courage: 5
Firepower: 7
Skill: 8

Postby Subsonika » Fri Jul 27, 2007 4:47 pm

i didn't even notice that before. but i just clicked on it and turned it on no problem. weird.
Image
Subsonika
Gestalt
Posts: 2295
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 9:14 am

Postby 1337W422102 » Tue Jul 31, 2007 9:26 pm

Motto: "I come from the Net."
Weapon: Double-Barreled, Armor-Piercing Particle Beam Cann...
Subsonika wrote:i didn't even notice that before. but i just clicked on it and turned it on no problem. weird.

What video card are you using?

If you don't know, rightclick on 'My Computer,' click on the 'Hardware' tab, then on 'Device Manager,' then click on the + beside 'Display Adapters.'

I'm just annoyed because I'm using an ATI All-In-Wonder 9800, which I think should be enough. Half-Life 2 and F.E.A.R. look phenomenal on my system, and I strongly doubt that the Transformers game is more demanding than HL2 or FEAR.
Image
Ages 25 & Up, comics with ball joints of steel. Updated Mondays.
Classics Prime and Cybertron Armorhide are the Bad Mother Truckers
User avatar
1337W422102
God Of Transformers
Posts: 12055
News Credits: 23
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 4:54 pm
Location: in ur base killin ur d00dz
Strength: 3
Intelligence: 7
Speed: 6
Endurance: 3
Rank: 7
Courage: 5
Firepower: 7
Skill: 8

Postby Phenotype » Wed Aug 01, 2007 6:10 am

1337W422102 wrote:That's the thing, so do I! Yet when I go into the game's options menu (I think it's the video settings option), the 'Enable Hi-Res Assets' option is off and greyed-out, so I cannot access it. In the .ini file, Hi-Res assets are also disabled, and enabling them in the file doesn't turn them on in the game. Robo seems to be having the same problem.


That's really bizaree, I don't even have a very good graphics card but it allows me to turn them on and off. In fact they were already turned on the first time I played the game and it was slower than **** so I turned them off and the game plays much faster now but the graphics don't really look any different. Strange huh?
Phenotype
Headmaster Jr
Posts: 585
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 5:11 pm

Postby Subsonika » Wed Aug 01, 2007 11:09 am

1337W422102 wrote:
Subsonika wrote:i didn't even notice that before. but i just clicked on it and turned it on no problem. weird.

What video card are you using?

If you don't know, rightclick on 'My Computer,' click on the 'Hardware' tab, then on 'Device Manager,' then click on the + beside 'Display Adapters.'

I'm just annoyed because I'm using an ATI All-In-Wonder 9800, which I think should be enough. Half-Life 2 and F.E.A.R. look phenomenal on my system, and I strongly doubt that the Transformers game is more demanding than HL2 or FEAR.


i have ATI X1600 - with hi res on the game lags a little so i keep it off anyway. i think the game is particularly greedy as my other newest title, CNC3 plays just fine with all graphics set highest.
Image
Subsonika
Gestalt
Posts: 2295
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 9:14 am


Return to Video Games Forum

Transformers Podcast: Twincast / Podcast #102 - Hidden Mickeys
Twincast / Podcast #102:
"Hidden Mickeys"
MP3 · iTunes · RSS · View · Discuss · Ask
Posted: Sunday, October 5th, 2014