Submit News Contact Us Translate Sign in Join

Transformers AOE Stomp and Chomp Grimlock picture review

Post your reviews of Transformers toys in this topic. Please keep each topic dedicated to one specific toy (i.e. DOTM Deluxe Class Optimus Prime"). Videos can be posted in a topic as well as text reviews and images.

Transformers AOE Stomp and Chomp Grimlock picture review

Postby theghan » Fri Jul 04, 2014 3:44 am

Hi, it's been a few weeks since Stomp and Chomp Grimlock appeared here in the Philippines, finally got a chance to buy it :)Here are some pics that I took, more pics to follow in this thread.

In package- it's a huge box, but I won't go around picturing the box, just this one
Image

Here's the size comparison with MP Grimlock and FOC Metroplex, in dino mode
Image

Here's a size comparison with Leader Class Grimmy and MP Grimmy in dino mode
Image

Size comparison in Bot mode:
Image

Image

Here's some comparison in Bot mode with some AOE figures: Deluxe Drift, Evasion Mode VC Optimus Prime, Takara Leader Class Optimus Prime(took out the back cab), and deluxe Slug
Image

I'll post more pics later, stay tuned in this thread. Thanks!
theghan
Mini-Con
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 12:24 pm

Re: Transformers AOE Stomp and Chomp Grimlock picture review

Postby theghan » Fri Jul 04, 2014 8:28 am

Here's some details for Bot mode Grimlock:

Head detail- there's no neck articulation, there's light piping on the eyes
Image
Image

Different angles:
Image

Image

Image

Articulation on Bot mode:
Basically there's minimal articulation, mostly just on the arms- Shoulders can raise sideways, but held together by spring because of the articulation, you can raise it a bit, as seen on this pic, by using the chest piece to hold the arms in this position. No Shoulder swivel(front and back) because of transformation unfortunately.
Image

There's an elbow rotation, elbows can bend forward also.
Image

Image


As for the legs, they are solid, just to hold the weight I guess. No Articulation on the legs.
For the waist, it's because of the transformation that you can bend it forward (this puts it to transform into dino mode). No waist rotation or chest rotation.
Last edited by theghan on Fri Jul 04, 2014 10:05 am, edited 1 time in total.
theghan
Mini-Con
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 12:24 pm

Re: Transformers AOE Stomp and Chomp Grimlock picture review

Postby theghan » Fri Jul 04, 2014 9:42 am

Next we'll go to the Optimus Prime figure included.
He rides on top of Grimlock.First, open the hatch (manually) on the back on the neck of Grimlock's Dino mode.
Image

Optimus Prime has metal pins under his feet. This would activate the guns on grimlock's sides to pop out, and if the lights and sounds are turned on, this would trigger the sounds on the guns and missile sound effects
Image

Image

Here are the weapons on each side of Grimlock, notice that on one side is an Autobot symbol and the other side has a Decepticon Symbol:
Image

Image

Here are more photos of Optimus Prime, he's basically a solid figure, with only few paint details (red and blue) and no articulation. There's no sword included, but there are peg holes on his hands, so he might be able to hold something, if there's a deluxe, sized or smaller sword that can fit the holes.

Image

Image

Image

Image
theghan
Mini-Con
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 12:24 pm

Re: Transformers AOE Stomp and Chomp Grimlock picture review

Postby theghan » Fri Jul 04, 2014 10:02 am

Finally, the Dino mode details-

Head detail (sorry the lower jaw wasn't aligned on this pic, but it always stay aligned when you transform it back and forth robot to dino mode)

Image

Here are some angles, the whole tail can swivel down a bit, and there's where his sword is stored
Image

Image

Now, I know most of you are wondering, can Voyager or Leader class Optimus Prime ride on his back like in the movie?

With Voyager evasion mode prime-
Image

Here's a modified Leader class Prime (disclaimer- I modded the Prime a bit by removing the backpack so this is not the original form of Leader Class Prime)
Image

Here's Grimlock about to ride on top of Leader Class prime :grin:
Image

So that's it! I won't be able to post details on the lights and sounds, because I think it would be explained better thru video. So just wait for the other guys to post video reviews on this big guy.

Here's my Dino(bot) Riders with deluxe Crosshairs on top of custom repainted Construct Bots Scorn and Deluxe Drift riding a custom repaint of Construct Bots Slug.
Image

Thanks for lookin' ! :D
theghan
Mini-Con
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 12:24 pm

Re: Transformers AOE Stomp and Chomp Grimlock picture review

Postby Slashercon » Fri Jul 04, 2014 8:23 pm

Motto: "Victory without effort, is failure!!"
Weapon: Dual Bladed Sword
I love size comparisons and while i think the robot mode is crummy, the dino mode at least looks nice next to other Primes.
User avatar
Slashercon
Vehicon
Posts: 334
News Credits: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 5:18 pm
Location: Creighton, Pennsylvania
Watch Slashercon on YouTube
Strength: 10
Intelligence: 7
Speed: 9
Endurance: 10+
Rank: 5
Courage: 9
Firepower: 6
Skill: 9


Return to Transformers Toy Reviews

Transformers Podcast: Twincast / Podcast #103 - Road Trip
Twincast / Podcast #103:
"Road Trip"
MP3 · iTunes · RSS · View · Discuss · Ask
Posted: Sunday, October 19th, 2014