Page 1 of 2

Transformers Prime Deluxe Rumble and Sergeant Kup Pictorial Reviews

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 4:25 pm
by El Duque
Site sponsor Kapow Toys dropped by with pictorial reviews of the upcoming Transformers Prime Deluxes Rumble and Sergeant Kup, and Voyager Dreadwing. Check these guys out below.


Kapow Toys wrote:Transformers Prime Deluxe Rumble

Wave 5 brings us 2 new characters in the form of Sgt Kup and Rumble. Apart from being blue and having blasters shaped like pile drivers that appears to be where the similarity between Prime Rumble and G1 Rumble finishes and he's all the better for it. Transforming from a quite boring compact car to robot he follows suit with the other Prime deluxe in being a little smaller than we've been used to over the years but it doesn't take away from the fact he is an awesome little figure. He looks the business in robot mode with very little ''kibble'' apart from the two roof halves which sit on his shoulders and in our opinion beef him up, the side panels of the car are cleverly hidden over his shoulder with little rocket launchers molded into the inside giving them a function rather than just having them sit there. His articulation is very good enabling him to strike all kinds of action poses with the only area being a little restricted the shoulders, this is down to the rocket launcher panels tilting forward but its not the end of the world and doesn't do enough to take away from what is a very original and very nice figure.

Overall we score Rumble 9/10 another great entry in whats shaping up to be the best Transformers line in some time.


Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image


Kapow Toys wrote:Transformers Prime Sgt Kup

Ever since Generations Kup has been a Sgt, enjoying his promotion he now decides he must also look like Ironhide which hasn't gone too well with Ironhides agents or Mrs Kup. I'm going to point out the faults first which are the big hinge / bonnet that hangs over his upper back in robot mode and the fact the cannons can be loose when plugged into the forearms, apart from that this guy is fantastic! packed full of articulation his proportions make him not only look great but also capable of an array of poses. There is no doubting he could have done with a remolded head as Kup but just imagine how cool this figure is going to be in red??? Truck mode is small but perfectly formed, the transformation is easy with the only gripe being a gap in the trailer section which you can see through, will kids care about this ? no so its not a problem as far as we can see.

Overall we score Kup 8/10 ( add another point if you prefer him in green )



Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image


Kapow Toys wrote:No time to pass opinion on this guy tonight due to time constraints but we thought you would like to see a gallery anyway. What we can tell you is he is a meaty Voyager like Megatron and transforms into a nice big jet! none of that Voyager Starscream tiny alt mode nonsense!

Enjoy!


Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Rumble and Sergeant Kup Pictorial Reviews

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 4:36 pm
by Nemesis Destron
Oh riiiiight I forgot all about Rumble or this supposed Rumble. I'll probably pick this up but it ain't no Rumble IMO. I'll have to think of what to don him as. For me I'm gonna pass on Kup, I might get him to pass along his pistolas to AM Ironhide which I can't wait until it's release! ;)^ :VEHI:

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Rumble and Sergeant Kup Pictorial Reviews

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 4:41 pm
by Pretender Skywarp
Got the two Deluxes on order with Kapow, but am waiting on the UK versions so won't be until mid Sept' at the earliest :sad:

Is anyone else still seeing a spooky face on Rumbles chest...?

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Rumble and Sergeant Kup Pictorial Reviews

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 4:55 pm
by BeastProwl
Rumble looks boss cuz he was designed by Beastmen.

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Rumble and Sergeant Kup Pictorial Reviews

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 4:57 pm
by RAcast
Pretender Skywarp wrote:Is anyone else still seeing a spooky face on Rumbles chest...?


I do and I LOVE it. I can't for the life of me figure out where they got the design idea! I mean, can any of you think of any amazing mecha with a design like that?

Oh wait.
Image

I really, REALLY hope some third party decides to make some glasses for this mold.

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Rumble and Sergeant Kup Pictorial Reviews

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 5:00 pm
by PrymeStriker
I'm going to pick them all up.

The only reason I'm getting Kup is if Ironhide is a Tak exclusive and I need to import, I can put Kup's cannons on Ironhide's arms. Otherwise, I'll pick up Ironhide later and give Kup to a friend or something.

Rumble looks amazing.

Dreadwing could be beefier, but he's no surprise considering we've already seen him.

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Rumble and Sergeant Kup Pictorial Reviews

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 5:04 pm
by Krommdor
Gurren Lagann lol, yeah I have just been convinced to get Rumble. Lets hope for a red and black Frenzy repaint now.

p.s. I signed up to the forums just say I love Gurren Lagann. The End!

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Rumble and Sergeant Kup Pictorial Reviews

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 5:41 pm
by Noideaforaname
Can't wait for Rumble! He should go swimmingly with Dead End.

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Rumble and Sergeant Kup Pictorial Reviews

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 5:43 pm
by BeastProwl
He looks nothing at all like Gurren Lagann.
He looks like Enki, he even has the Shoulder Rocket Launchers.
A White coat and some swords would complete him.

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Rumble and Sergeant Kup Pictorial Reviews

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 5:51 pm
by burning_sirius
RAcast wrote:
Pretender Skywarp wrote:Is anyone else still seeing a spooky face on Rumbles chest...?


I do and I LOVE it. I can't for the life of me figure out where they got the design idea! I mean, can any of you think of any amazing mecha with a design like that?

Oh wait.
Image

I really, REALLY hope some third party decides to make some glasses for this mold.


-sigh-, Gurren Lagann was not the first mecha to have a face on its chest. That honor goes to Gaiking. Bonus points go to me since the director of Gurren Lagann made his debut with the new Gaiking anime. The author did GL as an homage to all super robot anime especially Getter Robo.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r-nzVrHlkTE

Also, I think it looks more like Gaiking than anything.

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Rumble and Sergeant Kup Pictorial Reviews

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 6:01 pm
by RAcast
BeastProwl wrote:He looks nothing at all like Gurren Lagann.
He looks like Enki, he even has the Shoulder Rocket Launchers.
A White coat and some swords would complete him.


I had considered that, but Enki is very lithe, where Rumble is very bulky. Enki's hips are noticeably wider than his upper torso is; it's shoulders are actually in line with the plates on it's waist. For the sake of mentioning it, Lazengann's silouette is similar to Enki's.

Gurren Lagann (and Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann), on the other hand, has broad shoulders and large armor plates attached to his shoulder. It's also much bulkier, which Rumble seems to emulate.

I concede that GL doesn't have the back mounted missile launchers, buuut it's worth keeping in mind that the homage here is first and foremost to G1 Rumble, who had back mounted missile launchers.

TL;DR -- Rumble is more bulky, like Gurren Lagann; not lithe like Lazengann and Enki. Plus he's got shoulder armor bits, which seem to emulate the Gurren Brigade logo emblazoned shields on GL's shoulders.

burning_sirius wrote:-sigh-, Gurren Lagann was not the first mecha to have a face on its chest. That honor goes to Gaiking. Bonus points go to me since the director of Gurren Lagann made his debut with the new Gaiking anime. The author did GL as an homage to all super robot anime especially Getter Robo.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r-nzVrHlkTE

Also, I think it looks more like Gaiking than anything.

I never implied it was the first. I only implied it was the best. ;) Honestly, I find Gaiking pretty...boring at best. What makes Gurren Lagann mechs so great is how stylized they are.

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Rumble and Sergeant Kup Pictorial Reviews

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 6:28 pm
by BeastProwl
I see your valid points.
I just like the nods in general.

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Rumble and Sergeant Kup Pictorial Reviews

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 6:37 pm
by burning_sirius
RAcast wrote:
BeastProwl wrote:He looks nothing at all like Gurren Lagann.
He looks like Enki, he even has the Shoulder Rocket Launchers.
A White coat and some swords would complete him.


I had considered that, but Enki is very lithe, where Rumble is very bulky. Enki's hips are noticeably wider than his upper torso is; it's shoulders are actually in line with the plates on it's waist. For the sake of mentioning it, Lazengann's silouette is similar to Enki's.

Gurren Lagann (and Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann), on the other hand, has broad shoulders and large armor plates attached to his shoulder. It's also much bulkier, which Rumble seems to emulate.

I concede that GL doesn't have the back mounted missile launchers, buuut it's worth keeping in mind that the homage here is first and foremost to G1 Rumble, who had back mounted missile launchers.

TL;DR -- Rumble is more bulky, like Gurren Lagann; not lithe like Lazengann and Enki. Plus he's got shoulder armor bits, which seem to emulate the Gurren Brigade logo emblazoned shields on GL's shoulders.

burning_sirius wrote:-sigh-, Gurren Lagann was not the first mecha to have a face on its chest. That honor goes to Gaiking. Bonus points go to me since the director of Gurren Lagann made his debut with the new Gaiking anime. The author did GL as an homage to all super robot anime especially Getter Robo.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r-nzVrHlkTE

Also, I think it looks more like Gaiking than anything.

I never implied it was the first. I only implied it was the best. ;) Honestly, I find Gaiking pretty...boring at best. What makes Gurren Lagann mechs so great is how stylized they are.


I guess you are right sides Getter Robo is a million times better than GL anyways.

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Rumble and Sergeant Kup Pictorial Reviews

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 8:21 pm
by metaphorge
You mean you guys haven't noticed that just about all the 'bots from Prime have faces in their chests?

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Rumble and Sergeant Kup Pictorial Reviews

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 8:24 pm
by RAcast
metaphorge wrote:You mean you guys haven't noticed that just about all the 'bots from Prime have faces in their chests?

Most of them aren't as blatant as Rumble here, haha. And Rumble is the only one that REALLY looks like Gurren Lagann.

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Rumble and Sergeant Kup Pictorial Reviews

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 8:38 pm
by griftimus prime
i want all 3.

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Rumble and Sergeant Kup Pictorial Reviews

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 9:38 pm
by Tigertrack
Not so sure why, but all the open piece hollow arms and legs are catching my eye and bothering me a little. Not too badly, but a little.

I like 'em. There are better figures in the line, but these are nice.

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Rumble and Sergeant Kup Pictorial Reviews

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 9:57 pm
by Gundamu
Wow! Rumble looks amazing! So glad those the shoulders don't look like they'll be all floppy. Can't wait to get that guy!

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Rumble and Sergeant Kup Pictorial Reviews

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 10:09 pm
by steelcity1990
Def not the rumble we all remember but this is one of the better molds for the prime line. PS I got dreadwing and i gotta say its impressive except for the mech tech weapon. HASBRO WHY DONT YOU ADD A LOCKING MECHANISM FOR THESE VOYAGER WEAPONS!!!

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Rumble and Sergeant Kup Pictorial Reviews

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:21 pm
by Nemesis Destron
steelcity1990 wrote:Def not the rumble we all remember but this is one of the better molds for the prime line. PS I got dreadwing and i gotta say its impressive except for the mech tech weapon. HASBRO WHY DONT YOU ADD A LOCKING MECHANISM FOR THESE VOYAGER WEAPONS!!!



All the more reason to get the AM version! :VEHI:

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Rumble and Sergeant Kup Pictorial Reviews

PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2012 4:42 am
by BeastProwl
steelcity1990 wrote: HASBRO WHY DONT YOU ADD A LOCKING MECHANISM FOR THESE VOYAGER WEAPONS!!!

Cant you just unscrew it and take out the springy bits? Thats what I did with my MechTech deluxe weapons.

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Rumble and Sergeant Kup Pictorial Reviews

PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2012 4:45 am
by Cobalt Prime
Those translucent yellow elbow joints on Dreadwing look worrisome. I can see the forearms cracking and falling off a few years down the line.

Rumble looks awesome. It's a shame it'll probably take Vehicon and Airachnid's place as a royal b***h to find at retail.

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Rumble and Sergeant Kup Pictorial Reviews

PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2012 6:22 am
by BeastProwl
RAcast wrote:
BeastProwl wrote:He looks nothing at all like Gurren Lagann.
He looks like Enki, he even has the Shoulder Rocket Launchers.
A White coat and some swords would complete him.


I had considered that, but Enki is very lithe, where Rumble is very bulky. Enki's hips are noticeably wider than his upper torso is; it's shoulders are actually in line with the plates on it's waist. For the sake of mentioning it, Lazengann's silouette is similar to Enki's.

Gurren Lagann (and Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann), on the other hand, has broad shoulders and large armor plates attached to his shoulder. It's also much bulkier, which Rumble seems to emulate.

Image

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Rumble and Sergeant Kup Pictorial Reviews

PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2012 6:53 am
by YoungPrime
Nemesis Destron wrote:Oh riiiiight I forgot all about Rumble or this supposed Rumble. I'll probably pick this up but it ain't no Rumble IMO. I'll have to think of what to don him as. For me I'm gonna pass on Kup, I might get him to pass along his pistolas to AM Ironhide which I can't wait until it's release! ;)^ :VEHI:
Normally I stand clear of anything that reeks of "TF Prime" but I love this figure and feel that it'll fit into my CHUG collection just fine. So I'll agree that calling him Rumble will not do.

Maybe he'll be the first honorary DJD memberof my collection, since it has that type of persona.

Then I'll just have to wait for Hasbro to repaint WFC Megatron into Tarn and we'll be cookin with gas...

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Rumble and Sergeant Kup Pictorial Reviews

PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2012 6:59 am
by Doubledealer93
I was gonna pass of kup but dont think i am now. Rumble and dreadwing are instant buys.