Submit News Contact Us Translate Sign in Join

Transformers Prime Deluxe Starscream Video Review

Post your reviews of Transformers toys in this topic. Please keep each topic dedicated to one specific toy (i.e. DOTM Deluxe Class Optimus Prime"). Videos can be posted in a topic as well as text reviews and images.

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Starscream Video Review

Postby JRFitzpatrick7 » Wed Jul 20, 2011 12:53 am

Motto: "It is an unfortunate fact that we can secure peace only by preparing for war."
Weapon: Reciprocating Laser Cannon
Convotron wrote:
JRFitzpatrick7 wrote:Is anyone else surprised that we are seeing a video review before any in hand pics?


I'm not surprised. Peaugh is known for purchasing toys stolen from Chinese factories for his TF toy reviews. Not making a judgment, just stating a fact.

As far as the figure, it looks good. I do like the engineering involved in the transformation.


Of coarse, but normally we see pics from those factory workers LONG before we see a video review. I can't recall seeing a pic of these figures aside from display cases and Hasbro stock photos.
Seibertron wrote:


Seibertron.com is a Transformers fansite. It is not a fansite about 3rd party products. I do NOT care for 3rd party products. I am TIRED of seeing the stuff here on this site. That's all it comes down to.


Image
JRFitzpatrick7
Headmaster Jr
Posts: 544
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 11:35 pm
Buy from JRFitzpatrick7 on eBay
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 7
Speed: 7
Endurance: 7
Rank: 7
Courage: 7
Firepower: 7
Skill: 7

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Starscream Video Review

Postby starwarrior1227 » Wed Jul 20, 2011 12:55 am

Motto: "''How you use that knowledge is the other half of the battle.''"
Weapon: Twin Concussion Blasters
why don't you have a starscream yet MindVVipe?

anyway, i couldn't agree more with all of you. this will be a truely awesome and possibly his absolute best reprecentation since generations in the deluxe lines.

my only qs are 1. how well does this figure and the voyager ss compare to the rest of the line.
2. if i take RC's head and but it on ss deluxes body and give both a new paint job do you guys think it would look like a slipstream?
"Tomorrow, and tomorrow, and tomorrow creaks in these petty Hz from day to day, to the last segment of recorded data and all our yester-cycles have guided fools the way to rusty death- Out,out brief spark! Life's but a walking shadow, a poor shot that struts and frets his hour upon the field. It is a tale told by an idiot, full of cries and bullets, signifying nothing..."-Macbot
User avatar
starwarrior1227
Vehicon
Posts: 344
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 1:34 pm
Strength: 3
Intelligence: 10+
Speed: 5
Endurance: 5
Courage: Infinity
Firepower: 10
Skill: Infinity

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Starscream Video Review

Postby MINDVVIPE » Wed Jul 20, 2011 1:09 am

Motto: "One look from me and you've lost"
Weapon: Black Magic
starwarrior1227 wrote:why don't you have a starscream yet MindVVipe?

2. if i take RC's head and but it on ss deluxes body and give both a new paint job do you guys think it would look like a slipstream?


Not a bad idea about creating your own Slipstream, but I wouldn't count on it working technically, as the ball joint and what not might be incompatible. But... hey, try it out, I could be wrong. Definitely one of the most slender jet bots i've ever seen.

As for not owning a Starscream; I started my classics collection as a serious collector only in the last 2 years, after a long break since I was a little kid and buying any random cool tranformers that came my way. As my collection grew, I started keeping limits on scale (I had an MP Starscream, but sold it off). I have most classic seekers except for skywarp and starscream, and I figured I wanted a little more variation in my collection, since I am already being so selective.
Perhaps this mold works since it'll tower over the other seekers in bot mode.
Image
THE POWERS OF DARKNESS ARE A MORE POWERFUL WEAPON THAN ALL THE TOYS YOUR SCIENCE CAN MUSTER

Die, Autobots!
User avatar
MINDVVIPE
Gestalt
Posts: 2277
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 2:49 pm
Strength: ???
Intelligence: 10+
Speed: Infinity
Endurance: ???
Rank: ???
Courage: ???
Firepower: ???
Skill: ???

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Starscream Video Review

Postby kirbenvost » Wed Jul 20, 2011 1:30 am

Motto: "Deal with it."
Weapon: Sniper Rifle
Oh man, I am excited! :D I was only mildly interested in the line so far, even contemplating skipping it due to cost reasons, but after seeing this, there's no way I could. I don't even mind that his jet mode is small, I'm happy to see that it expands into a decently sized robot. I was getting worried after all the tiny DOTM toys. The paint job looks great, the sculpt and articulation are amazing, and it looks well-constructed. The pose just put it over the top. Can't wait to get this figure. :D
Last edited by kirbenvost on Wed Jul 20, 2011 9:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
------------------------------
My Collection
------------------------------
For Sale/Trade
User avatar
kirbenvost
Matrix Keeper
Posts: 8696
News Credits: 11
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2004 2:57 am
Location: Vancouver BC
Strength: 6
Intelligence: 8
Speed: 10+
Endurance: 7
Rank: 7
Courage: 8
Firepower: 9
Skill: 10

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Starscream Video Review

Postby Autobot032 » Wed Jul 20, 2011 1:55 am

Weapon: Switch Blade Tail
Incredible. One of the better figure designs I've seen, period. The pose at the end sold it for me too. (I was already sold, but this just locked it in.)

I can't even begin to imagine what the rest of the figures will be like. This was incredible.
NOTE: Realize that I am not a perfect Christian, nor do I profess to be. I apologize if anyone's ever offended by me, I'm not perfect. Don't hold my posts and opinions against other Christians.
Autobot032
News Staff
Posts: 8703
News Credits: 39
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 3:51 am
Location: I don't know!
Buy from Autobot032 on eBay

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Starscream Video Review

Postby Ravage XK » Wed Jul 20, 2011 2:32 am

Motto: "Never mess with anything that has bigger or more wheels that you."
Weapon: 20 Megavolt Stun Rifle
WOW! Good job Hasbro.

I am really looking forward to this line. A huge improvement over Animated, a line to which I have eventually warmed...mostly.

Its only a deluze and it very nearly nails the CG figure, cant wait for the Voyager version.

Oh and I didnt realise Starscream was into heels.
Image

TF COUNT: 301 >> Latest Addition: MP G2 Sideswipe, FT Scoria(not Slag)
User avatar
Ravage XK
City Commander
Posts: 3920
News Credits: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2004 10:38 am
Location: Maidstone, Kent, UK
Strength: 10+
Intelligence: 4
Speed: 9
Endurance: 7
Rank: 7
Courage: 10+
Firepower: 10+
Skill: 10+

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Starscream Video Review

Postby Blackstreak » Wed Jul 20, 2011 2:46 am

Motto: ""I'm stronger than I look, but not as strong as I think I am.""
Weapon: Laser Rifle
That's really cool. It would be really cool if the missiles were synonymous w/ the voyager class Starscream (vice versa of course)).
Image

# of Transformers in collection: 241TFs 4 sale
1985 Action Cards for sale
WTB/T for...
Blackstreak
Gestalt
Posts: 2042
News Credits: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 5:14 pm
Location: West Chester, OH
Strength: 5
Intelligence: 5
Speed: 9
Endurance: 7
Rank: 5
Courage: 9
Firepower: 9
Skill: 8

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Starscream Video Review

Postby Sodan-1 » Wed Jul 20, 2011 5:42 am

Motto: "Motive is a universal weakness."
HOLY CRAP!!! That figure looks so good there were times during this video that I thought I was watching an episode of the show. I couldn't help but smile at the pose Peaugh put him into. Just hope the rest of the line is as faithful as this figure.

Is there definately a voyager class figure coming out? Where was it announced? Seems odd Hasbro would go to the trouble of making different figures of the same character for such a small line, especially when this one already looks so awesome.
Sodan-1
Gestalt
Posts: 2238
News Credits: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 11:35 am
Location: Right where you'd least expect me to be.

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Starscream Video Review

Postby _Anshin_ » Wed Jul 20, 2011 6:19 am

Megatronsdemise666 wrote:omg that just looks stupid!!!!!!!

i havent seen the cartoon and now i dont want to :/

why does he look like a drone from some japanese robot game


You honestly don't know what you are missing. Cartoon is probably one of the better Transformer cartoons out there. As for the character design, it is personal preference I guess. I much rather have this version of Starscream than the "How can my legs support my body?" version of Starscream that Michael Bay created. That design is just horrible as a robot and horrible as a toy.
_Anshin_
Brainmaster
Posts: 1389
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 6:00 pm

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Starscream Video Review

Postby quickmixed » Wed Jul 20, 2011 7:19 am

Im sold on this fig now. Very impressed. Personally I would prefer the voyager.

Cant wait to see the other figs in the line.
WANTED TO BUY

C-125:Shoki, C126:Getsui, C127:Yukikaze, C129:Seizan. MIB + unused stickers PM for details.
User avatar
quickmixed
Vehicon
Posts: 364
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 10:00 pm

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Starscream Video Review

Postby StryderPrime » Wed Jul 20, 2011 7:48 am

I dont see a Starscream....i see Slipstream and off color Waspinator
StryderPrime
Vehicon
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 1:18 pm

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Starscream Video Review

Postby Ravage XK » Wed Jul 20, 2011 7:50 am

Motto: "Never mess with anything that has bigger or more wheels that you."
Weapon: 20 Megavolt Stun Rifle
StryderPrime wrote:I dont see a Starscream....i see Slipstream and off color Waspinator


Then maybe wait for the G1 repaint?

It'll happen, you know it.
Image

TF COUNT: 301 >> Latest Addition: MP G2 Sideswipe, FT Scoria(not Slag)
User avatar
Ravage XK
City Commander
Posts: 3920
News Credits: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2004 10:38 am
Location: Maidstone, Kent, UK
Strength: 10+
Intelligence: 4
Speed: 9
Endurance: 7
Rank: 7
Courage: 10+
Firepower: 10+
Skill: 10+

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Starscream Video Review

Postby retrothomas » Wed Jul 20, 2011 8:17 am

Motto: "Float like a leaf on the river of life."
A Peaugh review is one of the indicators that a toy is on the way! I can't wait!

I saw the "July" cards beneath the Prime toys in those BotCon pictures and feel teased! I hope it's not too many more months until they release. I have my money set aside for wave 1. Fall is gonna be a good time between the Prime figures and the Henkei Hot Rod re-release.
User avatar
retrothomas
Minibot
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 5:32 am
Location: CT, USA

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Starscream Video Review

Postby Joetx » Wed Jul 20, 2011 9:02 am

He looks better than in the initial pics from Hasbro, & even better than how he looks in the cartoon (!).

I'm really looking forward to this line.
Joetx
Fuzor
Posts: 264
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2008 2:50 pm

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Starscream Video Review

Postby StryderPrime » Wed Jul 20, 2011 9:09 am

Ravage XK wrote:
StryderPrime wrote:I dont see a Starscream....i see Slipstream and off color Waspinator


Then maybe wait for the G1 repaint?

It'll happen, you know it.



Dont get me wrong....i like the design so much that i will get this version n the G1 repaint if they make one.

What funny i jus notice on the 2nd time i watch the review is that SS got high heels this time around...lol
StryderPrime
Vehicon
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 1:18 pm

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Starscream Video Review

Postby Doubledealer93 » Wed Jul 20, 2011 9:25 am

Motto: "A logical mind is a healthy mind."
Weapon: Double-Barreled, Armor-Piercing Particle Beam Cann...
words can not express how much i want these toys! 0_0 :KREMZEEK: :KREMZEEK:
Image

check out my collection thread, updated 2/25/13, and i kinda lost count, i have to count them again....
doubledealer93-s-collection-as-of-2-25-13-t84309.php
i have a blog now! http://dealingofthings.wordpress.com/
My deviant art, loads more pics there--> http://doubledealer93.deviantart.com/
User avatar
Doubledealer93
City Commander
Posts: 3791
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 3:19 pm
Location: Ravenna OH
Strength: 10+
Intelligence: 10+
Speed: 4
Endurance: 10+
Rank: 10+
Courage: 5
Firepower: 1
Skill: ???

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Starscream Video Review

Postby DarkEnergon » Wed Jul 20, 2011 9:39 am

Motto: "You can't harm me while Dark Energon flows through my veins!"
Weapon: Dark Saber Sword
man, seeing him and classic starscream next to movie starscream sure makes movie starscream look pretty stupid. Redemption for Starscream!
User avatar
DarkEnergon
Minibot
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 2:33 pm
Buy from DarkEnergon on eBay
Strength: 4
Intelligence: 6
Speed: 8
Endurance: 7
Rank: 3
Courage: 4
Firepower: 7
Skill: 7

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Starscream Video Review

Postby Sabrblade » Wed Jul 20, 2011 10:44 am

Motto: "FOR THE EARTH!!!"
Weapon: Saber Blade
Watch the Japanese version get released with a red forehead crest. :lol:

And, is it just me, or does this Starscream have at least 24 points of articulation?!! :shock: :shock: :shock: :KREMZEEK:
If you've read Exodus, wanna read the War For Cybertron comic? PM me.
Shadowman wrote:This is Sabrblade we're talking about. His ability to store trivial information about TV shows is downright superhuman.
Caelus wrote:My wife pointed out something interesting about the prehistoric Predacons. I said that everyone was complaining because transforming for them mostly consisted of them just standing up-right. She essentially said, 'So? That's what our ancestors did.'
User avatar
Sabrblade
God Of Transformers
Posts: 16166
News Credits: 101
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:22 pm
Location: Florida, the "Neglected" State
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 10
Speed: 7
Endurance: 6
Rank: 9
Courage: 8
Firepower: 10
Skill: 9

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Starscream Video Review

Postby MINDVVIPE » Wed Jul 20, 2011 12:58 pm

Motto: "One look from me and you've lost"
Weapon: Black Magic
Sabrblade wrote:Watch the Japanese version get released with a red forehead crest. :lol:

And, is it just me, or does this Starscream have at least 24 points of articulation?!! :shock: :shock: :shock: :KREMZEEK:


Does he? lets see..

Neck
Shoulders x2
Elbows x2 (including both hor. and ver.)
Wrist x4
Waist
Hip x2
Knee x2
Ankle x2 (plus some extra bit of articulation due to transformation.
Then theres the wing poseability.
It'd be sweet if you can use the chest portion to lean forward like it was used in transformation. I like that extra bit of movement (just like on ROTF lockdown) to give him a hunched over creepiness.
Image
THE POWERS OF DARKNESS ARE A MORE POWERFUL WEAPON THAN ALL THE TOYS YOUR SCIENCE CAN MUSTER

Die, Autobots!
User avatar
MINDVVIPE
Gestalt
Posts: 2277
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 2:49 pm
Strength: ???
Intelligence: 10+
Speed: Infinity
Endurance: ???
Rank: ???
Courage: ???
Firepower: ???
Skill: ???

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Starscream Video Review

Postby Jaz-Zen » Wed Jul 20, 2011 1:10 pm

MINDVVIPE wrote:Pretty sick. I don't have a Starscream yet, so I might get this guy for my classics collection.

My only real gripe is the chunkiness of the waist and where it is in jet mode. hmm


I agree. This is a great looking figure, and the engineering is great, but he's essentially a jet sitting on the robot waist and legs. Not very aerodynamic.

Still, it is a great figure. I will wait and see what the voyager-sized version looks like. Hopefully it will have the size to better blend the legs into the jet mode. If the voyager version looks even better than this deluxe version, I will buy him as soon as I see him. :D
Image
Jaz-Zen
Fuzor
Posts: 291
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2005 8:58 pm
Location: TN

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Starscream Video Review

Postby Jaz-Zen » Wed Jul 20, 2011 1:16 pm

starwarrior1227 wrote:

2. if i take RC's head and put it on ss deluxes body and give both a new paint job do you guys think it would look like a slipstream?


I think this is a great idea. I do think this deluxe Starscream has the "curves" to pass as a fembot. I may try that myself.

Thanks for the idea!

Edit: Oh, and I forgot about the "high heel" feet! Lol. Yes, this would make a perfect fembot.
Image
Jaz-Zen
Fuzor
Posts: 291
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2005 8:58 pm
Location: TN

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Starscream Video Review

Postby LOST Cybertronian » Wed Jul 20, 2011 1:32 pm

Motto: "Little bit o' bg, not enough to do you any harm"
Weapon: Double-Barreled, Armor-Piercing Particle Beam Cann...
Sodan-1 wrote:Is there definately a voyager class figure coming out? Where was it announced? Seems odd Hasbro would go to the trouble of making different figures of the same character for such a small line, especially when this one already looks so awesome.


There was some pictures shown of voyager Starscream and Optimus Prime at one of the panels at Botcon but they were not released and no one was allowed to take pics.
Image

People need to quit being butt hurt that the Bay movies are not G1. That's like saying you hate Transformers Prime because it's nothing like Armada.
LOST Cybertronian
News Staff
Posts: 3397
News Credits: 20
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 1:23 pm
Location: Wichita, KS
Buy from LOST Cybertronian on eBay

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Starscream Video Review

Postby Grimlock1979 » Wed Jul 20, 2011 2:10 pm

Motto: "till ALL are Dinobots!^^"
Weapon: Dino-Missiles
Meee Grimlock say: This is AWESOME figure!

Near to 1:1 in details to the Transformers Prime Cartoon. Ok pals, where can Grimlock order a full dozen of this fantastic Starscream Toy? Meee Grimlock want to play with this NOW. =P~ Grimlock just canceled the preorder of "My little Pony Starscream". :BOWDOWN:

Grimlock like Transformers Prime Toys! Grimlock is in love! :x

Meee Grimlock cannot wait to more figures of this toyline. Want Arcee, Wheeljack and Cliffjumper (but please no remold/repaint of another bumblebee). This would be delicious! :-B

http://tfwiki.net/wiki/Transformers:_Pr ... toyline%29
Image
User avatar
Grimlock1979
Mini-Con
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 7:13 am
Watch Grimlock1979 on YouTube
Strength: 10+
Intelligence: 1
Speed: 6
Endurance: 3
Rank: 6
Courage: 10+
Firepower: 9
Skill: 6

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Starscream Video Review

Postby outerglow » Wed Jul 20, 2011 2:59 pm

He looks incredible! Will def be getting this one :D
outerglow
Mini-Con
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 4:35 pm

Re: Transformers Prime Deluxe Starscream Video Review

Postby barricade2218 » Wed Jul 20, 2011 6:25 pm

Motto: "To punish and enslave..."
I'm stoked about this line, it's interpretation of the characters is very intriguing. Toys seem to match, very cool...

Wish I were at Comic-con.
Image
User avatar
barricade2218
Headmaster Jr
Posts: 530
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 6:50 pm
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana
Buy from barricade2218 on eBay
Strength: N/A
Intelligence: N/A
Speed: N/A
Endurance: N/A
Rank: N/A
Courage: N/A
Firepower: N/A
Skill: N/A

Next

Return to Transformers Toy Reviews

Transformers Podcast: Twincast / Podcast #96 - Age of Extinction
Twincast / Podcast #96:
"Age of Extinction"
MP3 · iTunes · RSS · View · Discuss · Ask
Posted: Monday, July 7th, 2014