Transformers Prime Voyager Class Optimus Prime Video Review

Post your reviews of Transformers toys in this topic. Please keep each topic dedicated to one specific toy (i.e. DOTM Deluxe Class Optimus Prime"). Videos can be posted in a topic as well as text reviews and images.

Transformers Prime Voyager Class Optimus Prime Video Review

Postby El Duque » Sun Nov 13, 2011 12:01 pm

Motto: "I ain't got time to bleed!"
Weapon: Gattling Gun
Well known YouTube toy reviewer peaugh has uploaded his review of the highly anticipated Transformers Prime "First Edition" Voyager Class Optimus Prime. Check out his review below.

User avatar
El Duque
Matrix Keeper
Posts: 9921
News Credits: 90
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 9:57 pm
Location: tornado alley

Re: Transformers Prime Voyager Class Optimus Prime Video Review

Postby PrymeStriker » Sun Nov 13, 2011 12:58 pm

Motto: "When did I get this tattoo?"
Weapon: Thrust Gun
Uber kick ass figure. This will be the first Transformers: Prime figure I buy ^_^
Image
By "Kim Yura" & "Zimmo81"
Henry921 wrote:You can always be counted on to listen to reason, Pryme.

Dead Metal wrote:Have you ever, and i mean ever seen/read/heard something that is completely original and does not copy/homage/pay tribute to something else? Here's a hint: Nope. You never have and you never will.
User avatar
PrymeStriker
Guardian Of Seibertron
Posts: 5744
News Credits: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 1:57 pm
Location: Happytown, Hell
Alt Mode: An Enormous Red Rocket
Strength: 1
Intelligence: 1
Speed: 1
Endurance: 1
Rank: 1
Courage: 1
Firepower: Infinity
Skill: 1

Re: Transformers Prime Voyager Class Optimus Prime Video Review

Postby kookookajew » Sun Nov 13, 2011 3:24 pm

Motto: ""For everything that ever was ...""
Weapon: Fusion Cannon
erm... Im pretty sure peaugh has that backwards.. Im pretty sure the deluxe is based off of the voyager (they just released the deluxe first for obvious reasons). That voyager looks AWESOME.. good thing I passed on the deluxe lol.
kookookajew
Micromaster
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 5:41 pm
Buy from kookookajew on eBay
Strength: Infinity
Intelligence: Infinity
Speed: Infinity
Endurance: Infinity
Rank: ???
Courage: Infinity
Firepower: Infinity
Skill: Infinity

Re: Transformers Prime Voyager Class Optimus Prime Video Review

Postby Bradimus » Sun Nov 13, 2011 5:38 pm

Motto: "If I have the power to make a difference, I should put it to good use."
Weapon: Two Fusion Rifles
kookookajew wrote:erm... Im pretty sure peaugh has that backwards.. Im pretty sure the deluxe is based off of the voyager (they just released the deluxe first for obvious reasons). That voyager looks AWESOME.. good thing I passed on the deluxe lol.


I was thinking the same thing. But I'm ticked about the sword and the stacks. Enough is enough with the uber safety nonsense. These are blunt objects. Furthermore, I'm sure I'm not the only one who has been (and is more likely to be) cut while trying to pry apart sections of bots during transformation. I've gotten more cuts from transforming modern toys than anything during my childhood (zero), and I've never gotten hurt from a weapon. Why can't the sword at least be made from the same plastic as the G1 Dinobots' swords? :BANG_HEAD:
User avatar
Bradimus
Combiner
Posts: 437
News Credits: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 11:54 pm
Location: Michigan
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 7
Speed: 7
Endurance: 7
Rank: 7
Courage: 7
Firepower: 7
Skill: 7

Re: Transformers Prime Voyager Class Optimus Prime Video Review

Postby kirbenvost » Sun Nov 13, 2011 6:25 pm

Motto: "Deal with it."
Weapon: Sniper Rifle
Looks awesome! I don't care at all that the transformation is the same as the deluxe, I will only be getting the Voyager version. Bulkhead is higher priority, but Prime is definitely a must-get, of course. I'm loving the involved transformations of these figures. They seem to have applied all the new things they've learned about engineering from the ROTF line and applied it to a mix of Animated/Movie design. Looks great.
User avatar
kirbenvost
Matrix Keeper
Posts: 8797
News Credits: 11
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2004 3:57 am
Location: Vancouver BC
Buy from kirbenvost on eBay
Strength: 6
Intelligence: 8
Speed: 10+
Endurance: 7
Rank: 7
Courage: 8
Firepower: 9
Skill: 10

Re: Transformers Prime Voyager Class Optimus Prime Video Review

Postby Doctor McGrath » Sun Nov 13, 2011 6:32 pm

Motto: "This is quick but not quite painless.."
Weapon: Semi-Automatic Glue Gun
Transformation might be similar but the figure is highly superior to the deluxe.
Image
El Duque wrote:Quite a firestorm I started here :michaelbay:
User avatar
Doctor McGrath
Gestalt
Posts: 2892
News Credits: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 12:03 pm
Buy from Doctor McGrath on eBay
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 9
Speed: 8
Endurance: 7
Rank: 6
Courage: 7
Firepower: 7
Skill: 8

Re: Transformers Prime Voyager Class Optimus Prime Video Review

Postby kookookajew » Sun Nov 13, 2011 7:07 pm

Motto: ""For everything that ever was ...""
Weapon: Fusion Cannon
Bradimus wrote:
Why can't the sword at least be made from the same plastic as the G1 Dinobots' swords?


DUDE I totally agree .. I grow tired of rubber swords ( another recent example being Generations Drift's sword) .. They feel so ... uninspiring to mess around with and the constant having to re-bend them so they dont lean slightly to one side is fairly annoying ... :BANG_HEAD: (although ..drifts sword does LOOK badass lol).

-blah- Small price to pay for such an awesome looking figure though :P .. Im tempted to buy 2 for the sake of having the two blasters >.<
kookookajew
Micromaster
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 5:41 pm
Buy from kookookajew on eBay
Strength: Infinity
Intelligence: Infinity
Speed: Infinity
Endurance: Infinity
Rank: ???
Courage: Infinity
Firepower: Infinity
Skill: Infinity

Re: Transformers Prime Voyager Class Optimus Prime Video Review

Postby Sodan-1 » Sun Nov 13, 2011 7:46 pm

Motto: "Motive is a universal weakness."
I'm not fussed that this figure shares a transformation with the deluxe version: the robot mode here is far superior in my opinion. I'm just pretty miffed about the safety rubber stacks and sword. Highly lame. I imagine Takara's Prime will at least have a sword painted the right way round, hopefully even made from a harder material.
Sodan-1
Gestalt
Posts: 2279
News Credits: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 12:35 pm
Location: Right where you'd least expect me to be.

Re: Transformers Prime Voyager Class Optimus Prime Video Review

Postby xyl360 » Mon Nov 14, 2011 6:47 am

I wish they'd have painted his wheels silver like the deluxe and done the torso details in silver like the deluxe. It's disappointing that the larger, more expensive toy has fewer paint apps, but that's good ol' Hasbro for ya. I'm sure Takara will get it right.

It also would have been nice if the gun were painted (and the right color) like the deluxe.
Image
I am Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the end. I am that which is, which was, and is yet to come.

And you will know my name is MEGATRON when I lay my vengeance upon you!
User avatar
xyl360
City Commander
Posts: 3023
News Credits: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 4:54 am

Re: Transformers Prime Voyager Class Optimus Prime Video Review

Postby Bradimus » Mon Nov 14, 2011 3:08 pm

Motto: "If I have the power to make a difference, I should put it to good use."
Weapon: Two Fusion Rifles
Sodan-1 wrote:I'm not fussed that this figure shares a transformation with the deluxe version: the robot mode here is far superior in my opinion. I'm just pretty miffed about the safety rubber stacks and sword. Highly lame. I imagine Takara's Prime will at least have a sword painted the right way round, hopefully even made from a harder material.


I watched Darkness Rising again last night (so good) and the sword is shaped correctly. However, the sword should only have the energon blue line along the center to separate the top and bottom half of the metallic blade (like the rifle on the deluxe).
User avatar
Bradimus
Combiner
Posts: 437
News Credits: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 11:54 pm
Location: Michigan
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 7
Speed: 7
Endurance: 7
Rank: 7
Courage: 7
Firepower: 7
Skill: 7

Re: Transformers Prime Voyager Class Optimus Prime Video Review

Postby Dead Metal » Thu Nov 17, 2011 4:33 pm

Motto: "Don't do drugs, beer's cheaper anyway!"
Is it me, or does it look like the chest is made fromt he same shitty rubber as the blade and the smoke stacks?

I believe I'll wait for a 3rd party to make hard versions of those parts before buying this.
Image


Jeep! wrote:Why do I imagine Dead Metal sounding exactly like Arnie?
Intah-wib-buls?

Blurrz wrote:10/10

Leave it to Dead Metal to have the word 'Pronz' in his signature.
User avatar
Dead Metal
God Of Transformers
Posts: 14429
News Credits: 35
Joined: Tue May 01, 2007 6:18 am


Return to Transformers Toy Reviews

Ending Soon On eBay

Transformers Generations Voyager Combiner Wars Battle Core Optimus Prime OPEN - Time Remaining: 24 days 12 hours 3 minutes 29 seconds
2007 Hasbro Transformers Classics Twin Pack Jetfire Vs Grimlock Stunning AFA U90 - Time Remaining: 8 days 8 hours 5 minutes 17 seconds
Transformers Armada Dune Runner Iceberg Ransack Minicons NEW FREE SHIP US - Time Remaining: 2 days 4 hours 40 minutes 54 seconds
original G1 Transformers autobot SUNSTREAKER #2 (missing black flap) - Time Remaining: 1 day 19 hours 26 minutes 9 seconds
Transformers Armada Jetstorm Runway Sonar Minicons NEW FREE SHIP US - Time Remaining: 2 days 4 hours 12 minutes 23 seconds
2007 Transformers Hasbro Masterpiece Starscream Walmart Exclusive Stunning AFA85 - Time Remaining: 8 days 10 hours 29 minutes 18 seconds
TRANSFORMERS HEROES OF CYBERTRON THUNDERCRACKER STARSCREAM OPTIMUS PRIME MEDIC ! - Time Remaining: 2 days 6 hours 45 minutes 56 seconds
Hasbro Transformers Generations IDW 30th Anniversary Sky-Byte New - Time Remaining: 9 days 12 hours 45 minutes 22 seconds
Transformers Podcast: Twincast / Podcast #149 - Titans Arrive
Twincast / Podcast #149:
"Titans Arrive"
MP3 · iTunes · RSS · View · Discuss · Ask
Posted: Sunday, July 10th, 2016