Submit News Contact Us Translate Sign in Join

Transformers: Robots in Disguise #1 Preview and Review

Discuss anything about the Transformers cartoons and comics! You can discuss anything from G1 to Cybertron as well as the comics from Marvel, Dreamwave, IDW and more!

Transformers: Robots in Disguise #1 Preview and Review

Postby El Duque » Thu Jan 19, 2012 10:22 pm

Motto: "I ain't got time to bleed!"
Weapon: Gattling Gun
Courtesy of our friends at IDW Publishing we have a seven page preview of the debut issue of their new Transformers ongoing title Transformers: Robots in Disguise. Be sure to pick up your copy tomorrow! Enjoy the preview below.

Transformers: Robots in Disguise Ongoing #1
John Barber (w) • Andrew Griffith (a) • Marcelo Matere x 4, Griffith (c)
The war for Cybertron is over—now the hard part begins!
This first of two new ongoing Transformers series offers an excellent jumping-on point and all-new direction as BUMBLEBEE and his fellow AUTOBOTS struggle to maintain control of a world without OPTIMUS PRIME!
FC • 32 pages • $3.99-

*Variant covers:
Wraparound Marcelo Matere cover, featuring the inter-connected image of all 4 covers!
Autobot logo temporary tattoos!
Dan Khanna hand-drawn Autobot sketch cover!

Bullet points:
• ONE UNIVERSE! This series, in conjunction with Transformers: More Than Meets the Eye, expands the Transformers universe into exciting, unexplored territory.
• Never read an IDW TRANSFORMERS book? THIS is the place to start!
• 4 inter-connected covers by Marcelo Matere, each featuring a character from the new ongoing series, combining to make one image!
• All covers have an eye-catching foil enhancement!



Image

Image

Image

Image

Image


Image

Image

Image

Image

Image
User avatar
El Duque
News Admin
Posts: 9892
News Credits: 88
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 8:57 pm
Location: tornado alley

Exclusive Review of Robots In Disguise #1

Postby Psychout » Sun Jan 22, 2012 6:13 pm

Motto: "The Blackest Night Falls from the skies,
The darkness grows as all light dies,
We crave your hearts and your Demise
by my Black Hand-- --The Dead shall rise!"
Weapon: Sniper Rifle
Robots in Disguise, (a.k.a. "The one with the Decepticons in it") titles this second comic book series to run parallel with More than Meets the Eye, a catchy title, but is the comic as good as its longer named sibling?

Obviously, spoilers aplenty ahead...

Image
Ah, ah, ah, ah staying' aliiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiive!!


It is the Golden age of Cybertron, and peace has returned... Or has it?
Following the other side of the coin - thrust into leadership of Cybertron, up against it with half his friends believed dead on The Lost Light, this story of the little guy struggling to make huge decisions adds a new twist to a faction that has almost always has its stalwart and dependable leader in the past, so its no surprise that Bumblebee is the focus here.

Image
Turns out the welcome wagon does have that good coffee flavour.


Unlike its longer titled counterpart, Robots In Disguise initially suffers from taking itself a bit too seriously. After the epic-scaled intergalactic nonsense of the Chaos arc, this story begins with a tight focus on the difficult relationship between the Autobots, weary from their millennia-long battle to free Cybertron, and the Nails, those who hold the Autobots equally as responsible for the war as the Decepticons, egged on by Metalhawk. It's an uneasy balance of power where the protectors are regarded as conquerors, and the 'bots decision to use Ratbat's Decepticons as controlled enforcers makes it look worse, even if they are 'contained' under Prowls ever-watchful eye.

Image
Cybertron's finest in action.


Andrew Griffith's art in the book has a 'familiar' feel to it. 'Bee takes on a design those of you familiar with War for Cybertron would be more accustomed to, Metalhawks stick-figure physique is reminiscent of Starscream from transformers Prime, whilst the Nails and the unnamed background characters seem to comprise of everything from the old school cartoon cuboids right up to Beast-era designs (and thankfully, there is little to none of the awful movie-style segmenting of facial features). Lesser-known characters such as Needlenose and Horri-bull can be easily identified to those who may have only seen them from the old Marvel comics, and the wider shots are well drawn and clear, however that isn't to say that all of it is good - one or two members of the Decepticons (I'm looking you YOU here Skywarp) just look plain weird.

But, whilst the art is familiar and easy, John Barber's story is set to be a slow burner. With the high impact climax to MTMTE this was never going to be an easy sell, unable as this is to blast off to pastures anew. Setting a story on a rebuilt Cybertron was never going to be easy and, as is the fashion in domestic-based stories, civil disorder and terrorism is a theme that everyone understands and rarely if ever has a clear 'winner'.

Image
94% if you are really honest, eh Prowl?


In recreating a world in this fashion Barber engineers an unforgiving but oft-explored choice: Exactly how far is Bumblebee willing to go to ensure Cybertron's freedom, and how, if at all, can they prevent the existing ill feeling from escalating further into violence and bloodshed? The Decepticons, as are to be expected, are unhappy with their lot and the Nails themselves, overseen by self-styled ambassador Metalhawk, only add to the volatile situation. As the decision Bumblebee makes at the end demonstrates, civil unrest is never a black and white issue, and although the conclusion to this issue did seem a little predicable, its knock-on effects will hopefully bring this story to life.

Image
Cassettes always have a plan.


This is a longer read. As opposed to the light-hearted jaunt that MTMTE delivers, the long term arc within RID will raise a few eyebrows - and a few hackles no doubt - but with even Cybertron itself fighting its own population one must ask oneself, how much worse can it get for Bumblebee now? Depending on what Ratbat is planning for 'tomorrow night', the answer could well be 'much, much worse.'
User avatar
Psychout
HMW Moderator
Posts: 11512
News Credits: 22
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 7:04 am
Location: Vatican City
Strength: 1
Intelligence: 1
Speed: 1
Endurance: 1
Rank: 1
Courage: 1
Firepower: 1
Skill: 10

Re: Transformers: Robots in Disguise #1 Preview and Review

Postby MYoung23 » Tue Jan 24, 2012 7:34 am

I havent posted in a long time but..... SkyLynx!!!
MYoung23
Headmaster Jr
Posts: 596
News Credits: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 9:24 pm

Re: Transformers: Robots in Disguise #1 Preview and Review

Postby #Sideways# » Tue Jan 24, 2012 9:19 am

Motto: "If the ends justify the means, then life is just about as meaningless to you than the cause you think so highly of."
Weapon: Rapid-Fire Sonic Shell Cannons
Are you seeing what I am seeing??

El Duque wrote:Image


Bottom center!

Its...!

BOBA FETT?!


By the way, am I the only one who noticed Omega Supreme's alt. mode in the background?
Image

"I don't stink, but I am silent but deadly!" ~One of the many reasons I like Sideways.
User avatar
#Sideways#
Brainmaster
Posts: 1420
News Credits: 17
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 2:18 pm
Location: Planet X
Watch #Sideways# on YouTube
Strength: 5
Intelligence: 7
Speed: 9
Endurance: Infinity
Rank: ???
Courage: 7
Firepower: 7
Skill: 7

Re: Transformers: Robots in Disguise #1 Preview and Review

Postby Heavy B » Tue Jan 24, 2012 9:25 am

Motto: "The best weapon isn't one you never have to fire, It's the one you only have to fire once."
Weapon: Gattling Gun
Is that Oil Slick behind Jazz's head?.

Also, Metalhawk is a prick.
Image
Psycho Warrior wrote: Heavy B, the man who can open armor plating with his bare ass. To fight a bear no less.
User avatar
Heavy B
Guardian Of Seibertron
Posts: 5111
News Credits: 1
Joined: Thu May 01, 2003 3:03 pm
Location: Anywhere I roam, Where I lay my head is home. Carved upon my stone, My body lie, but still I roam.
Strength: 10+
Intelligence: 5
Speed: 4
Endurance: 10
Rank: 7
Courage: Infinity
Firepower: 9
Skill: 5

Re: Transformers: Robots in Disguise #1 Preview and Review

Postby Prime Evil » Tue Jan 24, 2012 10:11 am

Motto: "No Good Deed Goes Unpunished"
Weapon: Dark Saber Sword
I'm not to familiar with Andrew Griffith's work, but I'm liking it so far. Hoping for another good TF coming from the new creative direction IDW has for Transformers. I am kind of curious why they do have the cons working in tandem instead of one con and one bot so that they don't really get out of hand.
Image
facebook
PSN:Kalibr3Fyre
Transfandom's resident Junglist
Botcon Twitter re: Botcon 2012, "This set is not TFA" :D

Fans Project- Highly Recommend any and all products
Hasbro- Need more Generations toys peas
HeadRobots- Awesome, looking fwd to more good products
Perfect Effect- OK, looking fwd to more lil bots.
User avatar
Prime Evil
City Commander
Posts: 3145
News Credits: 24
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2002 10:22 am
Location: West Chester, PA
Strength: 8
Intelligence: 8
Speed: 8
Endurance: 8
Rank: N/A
Courage: 10
Firepower: 7
Skill: 7

Re: Transformers: Robots in Disguise #1 Preview and Review

Postby Tigertrack » Tue Jan 24, 2012 10:43 am

Motto: "A good head and a good heart are always a formidable combination."
Weapon: Sniper Rifle
Really liking the artwork. Hopefully the story is not as slow as it sounds.

I'm curious to read further to see what is happening with Prowl and his decision-making.
User avatar
Tigertrack
God Of Transformers
Posts: 16138
News Credits: 71
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 7:08 am
Strength: 6
Intelligence: 8
Speed: 7
Endurance: 7
Rank: 10+
Courage: 9
Firepower: 8
Skill: 10

Re: Transformers: Robots in Disguise #1 Preview and Review

Postby Sabrblade » Tue Jan 24, 2012 10:54 am

Motto: "FOR THE EARTH!!!"
Weapon: Saber Blade
Add Bluestreak and Jazz to the WFC-bodied dudes. :roll:
If you've read Exodus, wanna read the War For Cybertron comic? PM me.
Shadowman wrote:This is Sabrblade we're talking about. His ability to store trivial information about TV shows is downright superhuman.
Caelus wrote:My wife pointed out something interesting about the prehistoric Predacons. I said that everyone was complaining because transforming for them mostly consisted of them just standing up-right. She essentially said, 'So? That's what our ancestors did.'
User avatar
Sabrblade
God Of Transformers
Posts: 16366
News Credits: 101
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:22 pm
Location: Florida, the "Neglected" State
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 10
Speed: 7
Endurance: 6
Rank: 9
Courage: 8
Firepower: 10
Skill: 9

Re: Transformers: Robots in Disguise #1 Preview and Review

Postby 1111111222233333 » Tue Jan 24, 2012 11:37 am

Motto: ""...more than you need a FRIEND??" - Tracks"
Weapon: Electron Scimitar Sword
I really love that the comic is splitting into two separate storylines. That is just so awesome. I kind of think Robots in Disguise will pale in comparison to MTMTE, it just seems like the latter will be way more exciting.
1111111222233333
Micromaster
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 3:49 pm
Location: Orlando, FL
Strength: 8
Intelligence: 9
Speed: 5
Endurance: 7
Rank: 6
Courage: 9
Firepower: 4
Skill: 10

Re: Transformers: Robots in Disguise #1 Preview and Review

Postby Dead Metal » Tue Jan 24, 2012 12:40 pm

Motto: "Don't do drugs, beer's cheaper anyway!"
Wait a minute...
Image
See that long thing sticking up behind Horribul and Needlenose? Is that the robot thing from "Flight of the Navigator"? Don't know, that's kinda the first thing that springs to mind seeing it.


Also, this looks and sounds interesting.
Image


Jeep! wrote:Why do I imagine Dead Metal sounding exactly like Arnie?
Intah-wib-buls?

Blurrz wrote:10/10

Leave it to Dead Metal to have the word 'Pronz' in his signature.
User avatar
Dead Metal
God Of Transformers
Posts: 13687
News Credits: 34
Joined: Tue May 01, 2007 5:18 am

Re: Transformers: Robots in Disguise #1 Preview and Review

Postby craggy » Tue Jan 24, 2012 2:03 pm

so good Transformers comics have bus alt-modes? because we've waited ages, and now two have come along at once!
assembling a Neo-G1/TF:TM cast. Please PM if you have (or know of) the following at a reasonable price: Classics or Henkei Astrotrain, Ramjet, Sunstreaker, Sideswipe, Blurr, or 3rd Party Motobot Arcee, iGear Ratchet and Ironhide.
Also looking for Universe Repugnus and Overbite, Frostbite and Longhorn and any Webdiver toys.
craggy
Faction Commander
Posts: 4646
News Credits: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 2:07 pm

Re: Transformers: Robots in Disguise #1 Preview and Review

Postby ILL-Star » Tue Jan 24, 2012 3:00 pm

Motto: "What is life without misfortune?"
Weapon: Cluster Bombs
Dr. Heavy B wrote:Is that Oil Slick behind Jazz's head?.

Also, Metalhawk is a prick.
Looks to me like the bot behind Jazz is the green version of Cy-kill.
ILL-Star
Fuzor
Posts: 252
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 10:37 am
Strength: 6
Intelligence: 10
Speed: 8
Endurance: 7
Rank: 5
Courage: 9
Firepower: 7
Skill: 9

Re: Transformers: Robots in Disguise #1 Preview and Review

Postby ILL-Star » Tue Jan 24, 2012 3:01 pm

Motto: "What is life without misfortune?"
Weapon: Cluster Bombs
Dr. Heavy B wrote:Is that Oil Slick behind Jazz's head?.

Also, Metalhawk is a prick.
Looks to me like the bot behind Jazz is the green version of Cy-kill.

Sorry for the double post. #-o
ILL-Star
Fuzor
Posts: 252
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 10:37 am
Strength: 6
Intelligence: 10
Speed: 8
Endurance: 7
Rank: 5
Courage: 9
Firepower: 7
Skill: 9

Re: Transformers: Robots in Disguise #1 Preview and Review

Postby MINDVVIPE » Tue Jan 24, 2012 7:00 pm

Motto: "One look from me and you've lost"
Weapon: Black Magic
Haha, I noticed the fett man too. Damnit boba fett, these aren't the droids you're looking for!
Image
THE POWERS OF DARKNESS ARE A MORE POWERFUL WEAPON THAN ALL THE TOYS YOUR SCIENCE CAN MUSTER

Die, Autobots!
User avatar
MINDVVIPE
Gestalt
Posts: 2279
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 2:49 pm
Strength: ???
Intelligence: 10+
Speed: Infinity
Endurance: ???
Rank: ???
Courage: ???
Firepower: ???
Skill: ???

Re: Transformers: Robots in Disguise #1 Preview and Review

Postby Stormrider » Tue Jan 24, 2012 8:01 pm

Weapon: Atom-Smasher Cannon
Nice review.
Image
Stormrider
Matrix Keeper
Posts: 8571
News Credits: 36
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 5:24 am
Location: USA

Re: Transformers: Robots in Disguise #1 Preview and Review

Postby El Duque » Wed Jan 25, 2012 12:17 pm

Motto: "I ain't got time to bleed!"
Weapon: Gattling Gun
Steven Boyd dropped by the Seibertron facebook page to share the TRANSFORMERS: ROBOTS IN DISGUISE #1 Retailer Incentive Sketch Cover by Dan Khanna seen below. Transformers: Robots in Disguise debuts today, be sure to swing by your local comic retailer to grab a copy.

Image
User avatar
El Duque
News Admin
Posts: 9892
News Credits: 88
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 8:57 pm
Location: tornado alley

Re: Transformers: Robots in Disguise #1 Preview and Review

Postby dedcat » Wed Jan 25, 2012 12:40 pm

Motto: "It's dedcat, son."
A surprisingly emotive expression, considering it's a cartoon robot. I likes it.
User avatar
dedcat
Fuzor
Posts: 234
News Credits: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 2:21 pm

Re: Transformers: Robots in Disguise #1 Preview and Review

Postby quickmixed » Wed Jan 25, 2012 4:26 pm

A nice sketch. Khanna has also uploaded a pic of a second variant cover to his Deviant Art page of wfc style prowl.
http://dan-the-artguy.deviantart.com/#/d4ndnob
WANTED TO BUY

C-125:Shoki, C126:Getsui, C127:Yukikaze, C129:Seizan. MIB + unused stickers PM for details.
User avatar
quickmixed
Vehicon
Posts: 364
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 10:00 pm

Re: Transformers: Robots in Disguise #1 Preview and Review

Postby Neurie » Wed Jan 25, 2012 4:43 pm

This does nothing but strengthern my view that Khanna is only good for covers and portraits.

His actual comic work is poor in comparison, I dont know why botcon keep using him.
User avatar
Neurie
Headmaster Jr
Posts: 524
News Credits: 2
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 10:55 am
Location: London, UK

Re: Transformers: Robots in Disguise #1 Preview and Review

Postby Tigertrack » Thu Jan 26, 2012 12:22 pm

Motto: "A good head and a good heart are always a formidable combination."
Weapon: Sniper Rifle
Read it yesterday night.

I have to say, I am not sure I like the way things are set up for the characters in RID.

Prowl is manipulating his fellow bots a bit too much for me. Bumblebee = puppet/face of gov, Prowl = puppetmaster.

If that fellow in shadow with Prowl is Swindle or Skywarp, I'm tearing that next issue up (cover suggests Skywarp). If it's Megatron or a new Con or Autobot, my interest is piqued.

Why is Sideswipe G1 colors again? Why did he switch for one issue? Joke from the colorist?

And I thought Ratbat said they no longer had their special skills...who do we see using his teleport skill at the end of the issue. That's why I think it's Swindle in shadow, because he did something like those chips to Brawl in ongoing's end, and I could see it being used here, like he made a deal with Prowl, freedom for the ID chips...faulty ID chips (and Horribull shall now become a headmaster...) Because of Autocracy and Ongoing, Swindle is being set up as a big player in IDWs TFU.

Not sure which book I like better. Ultra-serious, or a bit more loose and silly?

The art I can deal with and am happy about, minus the WFC designs (especially Bumblebee). Like the Bee design on the cover much more.

Like the nod to Boba Fett in the splash panel (bottom right)...
User avatar
Tigertrack
God Of Transformers
Posts: 16138
News Credits: 71
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 7:08 am
Strength: 6
Intelligence: 8
Speed: 7
Endurance: 7
Rank: 10+
Courage: 9
Firepower: 8
Skill: 10

Re: Transformers: Robots in Disguise #1 Preview and Review

Postby Neurie » Thu Jan 26, 2012 1:38 pm

It wont be Megatron as Prime is off searching the galaxy for him, bringing him back this soome is just plan stupid.

Swindle is doubtful, more likely it would be Thundercracker. As the person talking to Prowl has little or no knowledge of Earth it would suggest its a character who was not on Earth.

Also, Ratbat is a politician and a trained liar so the fact that he said Skywarp could not teleport should not lead you to believe he was telling the truth especially when he said he had a plan. Those"guys sitting quiet in the corner" are obviously the guys who figured out how to overide it and they are using deception to hide thier true plans.

Quiet simple really.
User avatar
Neurie
Headmaster Jr
Posts: 524
News Credits: 2
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 10:55 am
Location: London, UK

Re: Transformers: Robots in Disguise #1 Preview and Review

Postby Tigertrack » Thu Jan 26, 2012 2:54 pm

Motto: "A good head and a good heart are always a formidable combination."
Weapon: Sniper Rifle
Neurie wrote:It wont be Megatron as Prime is off searching the galaxy for him, bringing him back this soome is just plan stupid.

Swindle is doubtful, more likely it would be Thundercracker. As the person talking to Prowl has little or no knowledge of Earth it would suggest its a character who was not on Earth.

Also, Ratbat is a politician and a trained liar so the fact that he said Skywarp could not teleport should not lead you to believe he was telling the truth especially when he said he had a plan. Those"guys sitting quiet in the corner" are obviously the guys who figured out how to overide it and they are using deception to hide thier true plans.

Quiet simple really.


I get the Ratbat deal, it's why I was assuming Swindle, with faulty chips..or overideable chips.

Not quite so simple as you say, but I've only read it once with distractions.

My ponderance/cross-reference time may not have been equal to yours here.
User avatar
Tigertrack
God Of Transformers
Posts: 16138
News Credits: 71
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 7:08 am
Strength: 6
Intelligence: 8
Speed: 7
Endurance: 7
Rank: 10+
Courage: 9
Firepower: 8
Skill: 10

Re: Transformers: Robots in Disguise #1 Preview and Review

Postby Josh » Fri Feb 03, 2012 5:29 am

Image
Josh
Gestalt Team Leader
Posts: 955
News Credits: 31
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2002 6:46 am

Re: Transformers: Robots in Disguise #1 Preview and Review

Postby CCsilverbolt » Tue Aug 07, 2012 4:51 pm

Motto: "Like a Boss ;d"
Weapon: Electro-Magnetic Rocket Launcher
Why does Bumblebee have a walking stick !? :???:
CCsilverbolt
Mini-Con
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 5:35 am
Strength: 5
Intelligence: 6
Speed: Infinity
Endurance: 8
Rank: 6
Courage: 9
Firepower: ???
Skill: 7

Re: Transformers: Robots in Disguise #1 Preview and Review

Postby Sabrblade » Tue Aug 07, 2012 4:56 pm

Motto: "FOR THE EARTH!!!"
Weapon: Saber Blade
CCsilverbolt wrote:Why does Bumblebee have a walking stick !? :???:
Cuz he's had one since...

...um...

...How long ago was it that he got his cane? During the ongoing? I don't remember. :oops:
If you've read Exodus, wanna read the War For Cybertron comic? PM me.
Shadowman wrote:This is Sabrblade we're talking about. His ability to store trivial information about TV shows is downright superhuman.
Caelus wrote:My wife pointed out something interesting about the prehistoric Predacons. I said that everyone was complaining because transforming for them mostly consisted of them just standing up-right. She essentially said, 'So? That's what our ancestors did.'
User avatar
Sabrblade
God Of Transformers
Posts: 16366
News Credits: 101
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:22 pm
Location: Florida, the "Neglected" State
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 10
Speed: 7
Endurance: 6
Rank: 9
Courage: 8
Firepower: 10
Skill: 9

Next

Return to Transformers Cartoons and Comics Forum

Transformers Podcast: Twincast / Podcast #96 - Age of Extinction
Twincast / Podcast #96:
"Age of Extinction"
MP3 · iTunes · RSS · View · Discuss · Ask
Posted: Monday, July 7th, 2014