Submit News Contact Us Translate Sign in Join

Transformers: Robots in Disguise Ongoing #13 Preview

Discuss anything about the Transformers cartoons and comics! You can discuss anything from G1 to Cybertron as well as the comics from Marvel, Dreamwave, IDW and more!

Moderators: Supreme Convoy, robofreak

Transformers: Robots in Disguise Ongoing #13 Preview

Postby El Duque » Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:31 pm

Motto: "I ain't got time to bleed!"
Weapon: Gattling Gun
Our friends at IDW Publishing have sent over the preview for Transformers: Robots in Disguise Ongoing #13. Be sure to pick up or download your copy tomorrow, but for now enjoy the preview found below.

Transformers: Robots in Disguise Ongoing #13
John Barber (w) • Andrew Griffith (a) • Andrew Griffith, Casey Coller (c)
ON THE PROWL! It’s “no more mister nice guy," as CYBERTRON burns and one AUTOBOT is all that stand between order and anarchy. Meet the new PROWL—deadlier than ever, colder then any other AUTOBOT, and ready to end the DECEPTICON threat—forever.
FC • 32 pages • $3.99

*Variant cover:
Variant Marcelo Matere cover!

Bullet points:
• Cybertron hangs in the balance!
• Will the Autobots go too far?


Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image
User avatar
El Duque
News Admin
Posts: 9599
News Credits: 88
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 8:57 pm
Location: tornado alley

Re: Transformers: Robots in Disguise Ongoing #13 Preview

Postby Henry921 » Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:15 am

Motto: "All I have to be is exceptional."
Weapon: Battle Blades
Cybertronian police cars have the same red and blue flashers as Earth police cars? Who knew?

In all seriousness though, Starscream didn't realize this was going to happen last issue?
User avatar
Henry921
Gestalt Team Leader
Posts: 996
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 11:52 pm
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 8
Speed: 4
Endurance: 6
Rank: 8
Courage: 10+
Firepower: 3
Skill: 8

Seibertron.com Reviews IDW Transformers: Robots in Disguise #13

Postby Blurrz » Tue Jan 08, 2013 3:47 am

Motto: "The Wreckers. Weird brain bullets. Impossible odds... It doesn't get much better than this."
Weapon: Sniper Rifle
True Colors

(Spoilerfree)

If you've been following Transformers comics as of late, then you would have noticed that there has been a resurgance in the Robots In Disguise camp. No longer More Than Meets The Eye's little-kid brother, the RID series is picking up heat and is becoming a well polished and refined Wednesday read. In recent issues, the political powder keg in Cybertron has been foaming over of the top. With a year full of comics in the books, and a new year ahead of us, it's fair to say that RID #13 is the trigger that starts it all.

Image

While some may argue that it isn't Transformers if there aren't Autobots vs Decepticons, in IDW's Transformers, we've had our fair share of clashing between the factions. Ultimately peace was found through a controversial Ongoing series. However when the peace consists of the Autobots acting as sovereigns, and the other factions, the NAILS and Decepticons, being oppressed, then the peace is far from ideal.

Image

Enter Megatron. With his return in RID #11, the cohibitation between 'bots, 'cons and NAILs set up by Bumblebee and friends is slowly evaporating. Old habits return, and old factions are revisited. One of the biggest flaws in the Autobots' reign over the reborn Cybertron is that they were content with playing politics, which slowly allowed their enemies to regain their strength in the shadows.

Image

Prowl has been an intriguing character - some argue that he's not being written as he should be - some believe he's a gimmick in this series. I think Barber and Roberts have done a great job in writing him, they've molded him into something real - his actions in issue #13 certainly explain his actions ever since Ongoing split into RID and MTMTE.

Image

RID #13 is really good - Barber and co. have evolved their game. It's worth the price and just, wow, it's a shocker.

Image

:CON: :CON: :CON: :CON: :CON: out of :CON: :CON: :CON: :CON: :CON:
dA/twitter/tumblr
Image
MTMTE customs - Click the picture to see my progress
User avatar
Blurrz
God Of Transformers
Posts: 11496
News Credits: 102
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 12:31 am
Location: Oil Country
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 8
Speed: 10
Endurance: 6
Rank: 7
Courage: 8
Firepower: 7
Skill: 5

Re: Transformers: Robots in Disguise Ongoing #13 Preview

Postby Va'al » Tue Jan 08, 2013 4:58 am

Motto: "Till all are pun!"
I'm confused about the lack of MTMTE #12. Did they skip a month? :?

EDIT: I just checked the news on here, and the only thing I can find is an interview about the issue, rather than the preview/review combo. Confused! :???:
The Amazing Adventures of Dennis and Bruce!
The only thing better than setting yourself on fire! -njb902


Image
Photo by robotmel
User avatar
Va'al
News Staff
Posts: 5342
News Credits: 58
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 11:00 am
Location: Unicron's Colon
Buy from Va'al on eBay

Re: Transformers: Robots in Disguise Ongoing #13 Preview

Postby sabrigami » Tue Jan 08, 2013 8:38 am

Weapon: Semi-Automatic Rifle
Va'al wrote:I'm confused about the lack of MTMTE #12. Did they skip a month? :?

EDIT: I just checked the news on here, and the only thing I can find is an interview about the issue, rather than the preview/review combo. Confused! :???:


It was released last month. There was a preview, but I don't remember a review made for it. It was actually a great issue. a must read for MTMtE fans :)

On topic, I may just pick this up today. I haven't read the series so far, but I can't miss more Prowl development. I've missed him so :x
User avatar
sabrigami
Headmaster Jr
Posts: 539
News Credits: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 9:17 am
Location: Ontario, Canada
Strength: 4
Intelligence: 7
Speed: 8
Endurance: 9
Courage: 9
Firepower: 7
Skill: 8

Re: Transformers: Robots in Disguise Ongoing #13 Preview

Postby #Sideways# » Tue Jan 08, 2013 9:47 am

Motto: "If the ends justify the means, then life is just about as meaningless to you than the cause you think so highly of."
Weapon: Rapid-Fire Sonic Shell Cannons
Prowl is looking kinda like Christopher Nolan's Batmobile in his vehicle mode...


"I swear to Primus, I didn't know anything about the Decepticon attack!"

"SWEAR TO ME!!!"

"... Why are you yelling...?"

"BECAUSE I'M BATPROWL!!!"


Looking good. I might have to pick this and RG1 up soon.
Image

"I don't stink, but I am silent but deadly!" ~One of the many reasons I like Sideways.
User avatar
#Sideways#
Brainmaster
Posts: 1401
News Credits: 16
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 2:18 pm
Location: Planet X
Watch #Sideways# on YouTube
Strength: 5
Intelligence: 7
Speed: 9
Endurance: Infinity
Rank: ???
Courage: 7
Firepower: 7
Skill: 7

Re: Transformers: Robots in Disguise Ongoing #13 Preview

Postby T-Macksimus » Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:21 pm

Is it just me or does Prowls alt. mode now bear a striking resemblance to WWI Optimus?
Would love to see some of these characters hit the shelves in toy form to go along with the FOC/Generations lines.
Also, it's about time we get to see Prowls last nerve finally snap. Arcee and Drift have already been established as the sword wielding bad-asses but even Drift seems a bit...neutered... compared to what he could be. Watching Prowl travel down this inevitable dark path has just been delicious, wicked fun. I can't wait to see just how far down into Hell he's willing to drag the rest of the Autobots to maintain order on Cybertron. I'm thinking that even Megatron is going to be rattled by the coldness of all this when it's all over with.
"That which does not kill me...had better run pretty damn fast!"
T-Macksimus
Gestalt
Posts: 2196
News Credits: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2005 8:49 pm
Location: I'm In The Witless Relocation Program

Re: Transformers: Robots in Disguise Ongoing #13 Preview

Postby Blurrz » Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:33 pm

Motto: "The Wreckers. Weird brain bullets. Impossible odds... It doesn't get much better than this."
Weapon: Sniper Rifle
Va'al wrote:I'm confused about the lack of MTMTE #12. Did they skip a month? :?

EDIT: I just checked the news on here, and the only thing I can find is an interview about the issue, rather than the preview/review combo. Confused! :???:


My bad, post got lost in limbo; transformers-more-than-meets-the-eye-12-preview-t91425.php

....

I think this is a must read for all Transformers fans.. it's just awesome.
dA/twitter/tumblr
Image
MTMTE customs - Click the picture to see my progress
User avatar
Blurrz
God Of Transformers
Posts: 11496
News Credits: 102
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 12:31 am
Location: Oil Country
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 8
Speed: 10
Endurance: 6
Rank: 7
Courage: 8
Firepower: 7
Skill: 5

Re: Transformers: Robots in Disguise Ongoing #13 Preview

Postby Va'al » Tue Jan 08, 2013 2:24 pm

Motto: "Till all are pun!"
Blurrz wrote:
Va'al wrote:I'm confused about the lack of MTMTE #12. Did they skip a month? :?

EDIT: I just checked the news on here, and the only thing I can find is an interview about the issue, rather than the preview/review combo. Confused! :???:


My bad, post got lost in limbo; transformers-more-than-meets-the-eye-12-preview-t91425.php

....

I think this is a must read for all Transformers fans.. it's just awesome.


I sorted it out with my retailer: they just had a late shipment, and I'll pick it up tomorrow!

Thanks! :D

Looking forward to both of these.
The Amazing Adventures of Dennis and Bruce!
The only thing better than setting yourself on fire! -njb902


Image
Photo by robotmel
User avatar
Va'al
News Staff
Posts: 5342
News Credits: 58
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 11:00 am
Location: Unicron's Colon
Buy from Va'al on eBay

Re: Transformers: Robots in Disguise Ongoing #13 Preview

Postby Nemesis Maximo » Tue Jan 08, 2013 2:28 pm

Motto: "I have the body of a god! That god just HAPPENS to be Buddha!"
Weapon: Gatling Cannon
I actually like this serial better than MTMTE. Maybe that's 'cause Prowl is dodgey again!

But I also like the slower pacing; it reminds me of Furman's early run in the IDW comics.

Did I mention I like Prowl?
Burn wrote:
Wigglez wrote:It is a dude. And that's the picture I said to screw.


I'm just going to quote this and leave it here for everyone else to take out of context. :WHISTLE:


Check out my customs:
Classics Prowl
Classics Soundwave
User avatar
Nemesis Maximo
Transmetal Warrior
Posts: 883
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 11:59 pm
Location: Northern MI
Strength: 8
Intelligence: 8
Speed: 5
Endurance: 6
Rank: 5
Courage: 10
Firepower: 10+
Skill: 7

Re: Transformers: Robots in Disguise Ongoing #13 Preview

Postby Sodan-1 » Tue Jan 08, 2013 5:46 pm

Motto: "Motive is a universal weakness."
Oh yeah, this series is really picking up. Megatron is looking seriously obsolete. God, imagine if this was actually the end of his character as far as Ongoing goes. I have to admit I'm getting a bit bored of his comebacks.
Sodan-1
Gestalt
Posts: 2231
News Credits: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 11:35 am
Location: Right where you'd least expect me to be.

Re: Transformers: Robots in Disguise Ongoing #13 Preview

Postby Va'al » Wed Jan 09, 2013 12:26 pm

Motto: "Till all are pun!"
Ok, that was not entirely unexpected, maybe a little chaotic at times (but the story demanded it) but the ending is yet another kick -- although not exactly the last page this time.

Definitely looking forward to next month's issue!
The Amazing Adventures of Dennis and Bruce!
The only thing better than setting yourself on fire! -njb902


Image
Photo by robotmel
User avatar
Va'al
News Staff
Posts: 5342
News Credits: 58
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 11:00 am
Location: Unicron's Colon
Buy from Va'al on eBay

Re: Transformers: Robots in Disguise Ongoing #13 Preview

Postby El Duque » Wed Jan 09, 2013 4:33 pm

Motto: "I ain't got time to bleed!"
Weapon: Gattling Gun
The official Transformers facebook page has posted a Creator Commentary for Transformers: Robots in Disguise Ongoing #13. Series writer John Barber gives us his thoughts on the first five pages, which we've mirrored below for those without facebook access.

Image
PAGE 1- Starscream is talking to the comatose Megatron, who was heavily blasted by the Autobots in the previous issue. Given these 2 have so much history between them across the Transformers franchise, how do you go about putting another spin or direction with them, showing us something brand new between them?

JOHN BARBER: I think there’s been a conceptual change in their relationship. It isn’t that Starscream is trying to usurp Megatron, or trying to fill Megatron’s shoes anymore—it’s that Starscream has found more of a Starscream-way to get what he wants. The problem is that he knows Megatron will bring in the old status quo of Autobots versus Decepticons—and Starscream knows neither of them will win that way.

In next month’s TRANSFORMERS SPOTLIGHT: MEGATRON comic that Nick Roche wrote and drew, we see them at an earlier point in their history—not long before the start of the current ROBOTS IN DISGUISE and MORE THAN MEETS THE EYES comic book series, The relationship then is very different. I think comparing the two comics really makes the changes that occurred to Starscream over the last couple years.

Image
PAGE 2- Starscream continues talking to Megatron, until he sees him smile. Right now, does Starscream really believe in the whole peace concept, or could this just be another one of his games that he plays?

JOHN BARBER Starscream is a complicated fellow. This whole issue is from Starscream’s point of view—and it’s the second of those in a very short amount of time. So despite the fact that we, as readers, really get to see in Starscream’s head… I don’t think the answer to what Starscream really believes in is clear yet.

I think he’s being pretty honest in what he says to Megatron, though.

Image
PAGE 3- Starscream reacts to Megatron’s “smile” as rioting continues on Cybertron. When planning out RID, was this scene something you thought up very early and worked on from that point?

JOHN BARBER: Well, Megatron’s return was part of the story from day one, and the impact that return would have on Iacon was planned from the beginning. Starscream’s relationship with Megatron—or his relationship with the idea of Megatron—was definitely key to the whole story of RID, so that was pretty solidly in place.

The idea of Starscream trying to talk Megatron out of what Starscream assumes he’s doing… that came a little bit later. I mean, the series wasn’t constructed to work toward this scene; this scene came out of what the story was working towards.

Image
PAGES 4 and 5- Chaos continues on as Needlenose continues to lead the rioting and Starscream reflects on what happened the previous year and where he stands. Is the established peace about to literally blow up in its face from this point? The planets future is starting to look dark again.

JOHN BARBER: I don’t know if it ever looked that bright. But you’ve hit the question right on the head, so to speak. There are enough Decepticons—and we’ve definitely seen enough Autobots, too—that, at some level, want the war to continue. It’s the only life they’ve known, and there are also millions-of-year-old resentments that don’t die easy. The Decepticons have been pushed to the side for the entire run of RID. There’s only so far you can stretch them before they break.
User avatar
El Duque
News Admin
Posts: 9599
News Credits: 88
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 8:57 pm
Location: tornado alley

Re: Transformers: Robots in Disguise Ongoing #13 Preview

Postby Downbeat » Thu Jan 10, 2013 12:07 am

Motto: "Can't think and I'm feeling fine."
Weapon: Electro-Disruptor
Holy cow, I love this comic.
Image
User avatar
Downbeat
Minibot
Posts: 112
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 2:42 pm
Location: The Gates of Steel
Strength: 5
Intelligence: 7
Speed: 9
Endurance: 5
Rank: 1
Courage: 4
Firepower: 3
Skill: 9


Return to Transformers Cartoons and Comics Forum

Transformers Podcast: Twincast / Podcast #90 - Dark Scorponok
Twincast / Podcast #90:
"Dark Scorponok"
MP3 · iTunes · RSS · View · Discuss · Ask
Posted: Monday, April 7th, 2014