Submit News Contact Us Translate Sign in Join

Video Review: Transformers Prime Beast Hunters Sharkticon Megatron

Post your reviews of Transformers toys in this topic. Please keep each topic dedicated to one specific toy (i.e. DOTM Deluxe Class Optimus Prime"). Videos can be posted in a topic as well as text reviews and images.

Moderators: Supreme Convoy, robofreak, Seibertron

Video Review: Transformers Prime Beast Hunters Sharkticon Megatron

Postby El Duque » Thu Jun 13, 2013 11:31 am

Motto: "I ain't got time to bleed!"
Weapon: Gattling Gun
YouTube reviewer felzbug has posted a review of the Transformers Prime Beast Hunters Voyager Sharkticon Megatron, which apparently is his official name. The somewhat lighthearted review is embedded below.

The figure's instruction also mention a previously unknown novel, Transformers: Retribution, which Random House will be publishing later this Fall.

User avatar
El Duque
News Admin
Posts: 9599
News Credits: 88
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 8:57 pm
Location: tornado alley

Re: Video Review: Transformers Prime Beast Hunters Sharkticon Megatron

Postby gothsaurus » Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:06 pm

Okay, this toy turns out to be a really (oddly) nice homage to the dumpy Sharkticons. Quite out of left field. I think this may be one of the only Beast Hunters figures I venture to buy. Might make for a nice display with the Botcon Sharkticon team, just chilling out together.

Actually, a Bulkhead Deluxe in Sharkticon deco would be a fantastic troop builder...especially with a new head. It has a load of nautical steampunk vents and such. Even with a truck mode, I could forgive. :-?

So yeah, looking at getting just Prime, Shockwave, and Megs... plus maybe Roadbuster Bulkhead.
I'm a tough sell, huh? [-(
TFCC Subscription Bots for sale: Breakdown, Jackpot, Circuit. Will ship international.
User avatar
gothsaurus
Godmaster
Posts: 1543
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 8:30 am

Re: Video Review: Transformers Prime Beast Hunters Sharkticon Megatron

Postby rockman_fan » Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:15 pm

Motto: "mottos are for dorks"
Weapon: Sonic-Stun Gun
that puppet terrifies me :shock:
getting rid of junk. it's a gold... well, ok, silver mine if you're a customizer.

RIP: crave.com. you will be forever missed.
User avatar
rockman_fan
Minibot
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2010 7:50 pm
Location: USA
Strength: 10+
Intelligence: 7
Speed: 7
Endurance: 8
Rank: 3
Courage: 10
Firepower: Infinity
Skill: 10

Re: Video Review: Transformers Prime Beast Hunters Sharkticon Megatron

Postby gothsaurus » Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:20 pm

Yeah, it's like the guys from Gwar decided to review transformers. ;)
TFCC Subscription Bots for sale: Breakdown, Jackpot, Circuit. Will ship international.
User avatar
gothsaurus
Godmaster
Posts: 1543
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 8:30 am

Re: Video Review: Transformers Prime Beast Hunters Sharkticon Megatron

Postby dedcat » Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:53 pm

Motto: "It's dedcat, son."
Eeesh. Didn't make it past the 20 second mark. I'll wait for the next reviewer. Thanks anyway, annoying puppet.
User avatar
dedcat
Fuzor
Posts: 222
News Credits: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 2:21 pm

Re: Video Review: Transformers Prime Beast Hunters Sharkticon Megatron

Postby PrymeStriker » Thu Jun 13, 2013 1:15 pm

Motto: "Brilliant"
Weapon: Augmented Quark Disruptor
Looks like we know the official name of "Stealth Bumblebee" now...which isn't Stealth Bumblebee at all.

The review was interesting, but I found it extremely annoying at the same time. Nothing has shifted my opinion here. Sharkticon Megatron is not joining my collection.
Image
By "Kim Yura" & "Zimmo81"
Henry921 wrote:You can always be counted on to listen to reason, Pryme.

Dead Metal wrote:Have you ever, and i mean ever seen/read/heard something that is completely original and does not copy/homage/pay tribute to something else? Here's a hint: Nope. You never have and you never will.
User avatar
PrymeStriker
Guardian Of Seibertron
Posts: 5364
News Credits: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 12:57 pm
Location: Palm Beaches, FL
Buy from PrymeStriker on eBay
Strength: 6
Intelligence: 9
Speed: 7
Endurance: 8
Rank: 7
Courage: 6
Firepower: 9
Skill: 8

Re: Video Review: Transformers Prime Beast Hunters Sharkticon Megatron

Postby gothsaurus » Thu Jun 13, 2013 1:43 pm

certainly not after that pupped GUMMED IT! >:oP
TFCC Subscription Bots for sale: Breakdown, Jackpot, Circuit. Will ship international.
User avatar
gothsaurus
Godmaster
Posts: 1543
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 8:30 am

Re: Video Review: Transformers Prime Beast Hunters Sharkticon Megatron

Postby craggy » Thu Jun 13, 2013 2:27 pm

well...it looks like a great toy. paintjob is fantastic. really love the eyes.
assembling a Neo-G1/TF:TM cast. Please PM if you have (or know of) the following at a reasonable price: Classics or Henkei Astrotrain, Ramjet, Sunstreaker, Sideswipe, Blurr, or 3rd Party Motobot Arcee, iGear Ratchet and Ironhide.
Also looking for Universe Repugnus and Overbite, Frostbite and Longhorn
craggy
Faction Commander
Posts: 4281
News Credits: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 2:07 pm

Re: Video Review: Transformers Prime Beast Hunters Sharkticon Megatron

Postby KnightStrike » Thu Jun 13, 2013 4:35 pm

Motto: "Remember, this hobby is supposed to be your therapy, not the reason you need therapy."
Weapon: Electro-burst Rifle
Well. Ummm. That is a rather unique review. Can't say I have ever seen a Dixie-fried Alien Reaper Dog before. Points for creativity that is for certain :lol:
As for Megs, still not feeling this as Megs, maybe with a head swap I could get behind it as Gnaw?
User avatar
KnightStrike
Headmaster Jr
Posts: 535
News Credits: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 4:18 am
Location: KY, USA
Buy from KnightStrike on eBay

Re: Video Review: Transformers Prime Beast Hunters Sharkticon Megatron

Postby Sabrblade » Thu Jun 13, 2013 6:01 pm

Motto: "FOR THE EARTH!!!"
Weapon: Saber Blade
Transformers: Retribution?

Wonder what that might be.

Doesn't sound like a title fitting for the Exodus Trilogy, but the author did mention writing two books,so maybe this is the other book from the next Ex one.
If you've read Exodus, wanna read the War For Cybertron comic? PM me.
Shadowman wrote:This is Sabrblade we're talking about. His ability to store trivial information about TV shows is downright superhuman.
Caelus wrote:My wife pointed out something interesting about the prehistoric Predacons. I said that everyone was complaining because transforming for them mostly consisted of them just standing up-right. She essentially said, 'So? That's what our ancestors did.'
User avatar
Sabrblade
God Of Transformers
Posts: 14804
News Credits: 90
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:22 pm
Location: Florida, the "Neglected" State
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 10
Speed: 7
Endurance: 6
Rank: 9
Courage: 8
Firepower: 10
Skill: 9

Re: Video Review: Transformers Prime Beast Hunters Sharkticon Megatron

Postby MGrotusque » Thu Jun 13, 2013 7:42 pm

gothsaurus wrote:Yeah, it's like the guys from Gwar decided to review transformers. ;)

:D. I all of the sudden appreciate the review all the more now.
Plus Gwar was formed in Virginia so the accent fits to (maybe?). :-B
Image
User avatar
MGrotusque
Godmaster
Posts: 1705
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 7:40 pm
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Strength: 9
Intelligence: 7
Speed: 9
Endurance: 7
Rank: 8
Courage: 6
Firepower: 9
Skill: 8

Re: Video Review: Transformers Prime Beast Hunters Sharkticon Megatron

Postby dmon01 » Thu Jun 13, 2013 8:08 pm

i might buy this figure if someone could figure out a way to give this guy a decent looking beast mode. other wise i would have to pass
dmon01
Mini-Con
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 7:42 pm

Re: Video Review: Transformers Prime Beast Hunters Sharkticon Megatron

Postby Janus Prime » Thu Jun 13, 2013 9:35 pm

I hear a voice in my head saying: "I need it. Buy it. Store it".
Janus Prime
Fuzor
Posts: 210
News Credits: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 12:08 am

Re: Video Review: Transformers Prime Beast Hunters Sharkticon Megatron

Postby Flashwave » Thu Jun 13, 2013 11:22 pm

Motto: "Our society's downfall will not be this war. The war IS our society. That which will get us will be the little things. Some humanoid race, some tossed cannon, the little things that no one looks out for. THAT is for what we must be vigilant."
Weapon: Twin Shoulder-Mounted Rocket Launchers
I see what Hasbro did there... The SHARKticon has a TARTARex sword. Isn't there some old saying about the forutne of a duck carrying its own sprig of onion?

Has fingers crossed for Legions remold of some kind. but I'll probably have to get at least one of these.
User avatar
Flashwave
City Commander
Posts: 3543
News Credits: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2005 2:42 pm
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 9
Speed: 9
Endurance: 6
Rank: 9
Courage: 9
Firepower: 7
Skill: 9

Re: Video Review: Transformers Prime Beast Hunters Sharkticon Megatron

Postby Sabrblade » Thu Jun 13, 2013 11:27 pm

Motto: "FOR THE EARTH!!!"
Weapon: Saber Blade
Flashwave wrote:I see what Hasbro did there... The SHARKticon has a TARTARex sword. Isn't there some old saying about the forutne of a duck carrying its own sprig of onion?
Could also be a roboty take on the word "Tartarus". Essentially, the Greek myth equivalent of Hell.
If you've read Exodus, wanna read the War For Cybertron comic? PM me.
Shadowman wrote:This is Sabrblade we're talking about. His ability to store trivial information about TV shows is downright superhuman.
Caelus wrote:My wife pointed out something interesting about the prehistoric Predacons. I said that everyone was complaining because transforming for them mostly consisted of them just standing up-right. She essentially said, 'So? That's what our ancestors did.'
User avatar
Sabrblade
God Of Transformers
Posts: 14804
News Credits: 90
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:22 pm
Location: Florida, the "Neglected" State
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 10
Speed: 7
Endurance: 6
Rank: 9
Courage: 8
Firepower: 10
Skill: 9

Re: Video Review: Transformers Prime Beast Hunters Sharkticon Megatron

Postby knocking predacon » Fri Jun 14, 2013 8:25 am

so... were is vertebreak? I can`t get the tales of the beast hunters without him reviewed!...
knocking predacon
Mini-Con
Posts: 4
News Credits: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 11:01 am
Strength: 6
Intelligence: 7
Speed: 8
Endurance: 8
Rank: 5
Courage: 8
Firepower: 4
Skill: 6

Re: Video Review: Transformers Prime Beast Hunters Sharkticon Megatron

Postby gothsaurus » Fri Jun 14, 2013 8:32 am

Double pun FTW!
TFCC Subscription Bots for sale: Breakdown, Jackpot, Circuit. Will ship international.
User avatar
gothsaurus
Godmaster
Posts: 1543
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 8:30 am

Re: Video Review: Transformers Prime Beast Hunters Sharkticon Megatron

Postby Spleenzorio » Fri Jun 14, 2013 8:33 am

Motto: "I must be a doctor because I'm surrounded by scrubs"
Weapon: Null-Ray Rifle
dedcat wrote:Eeesh. Didn't make it past the 20 second mark. I'll wait for the next reviewer. Thanks anyway, annoying puppet.


How did you make it that far? I pressed play and stop so quick i almost got whiplash :P What's with these reviewers and needing some weird mascot to make us feel even more awkward while watching grown men talk about toys?!
WANT BotCon 2013 Starscream without having to sell my firstborn
User avatar
Spleenzorio
Fuzor
Posts: 205
News Credits: 1
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 8:25 am
Location: London, Ontario
Watch Spleenzorio on YouTube
Buy from Spleenzorio on eBay
Strength: Infinity
Intelligence: Infinity
Speed: Infinity
Endurance: Infinity
Rank: Infinity
Courage: Infinity
Firepower: Infinity
Skill: Infinity

Re: Video Review: Transformers Prime Beast Hunters Sharkticon Megatron

Postby gothsaurus » Fri Jun 14, 2013 9:22 am

Yeah, I love to listen to podcasts and reviews while I work... but being a "grown-up" now, it sure makes you self conscious (and turn the volume down quick) when you hit one like this. Not to mention when podcasters start yelling, distorting on their mic, etc. Groan. #-o Don't they know I'm listening at work!!?? But I digress.

Green guy aside, this looks like a must buy. Original and well executed idea. Good homage. Doesn't look ridiculous like most of the BH toys. (no offense to any BH fans, but Bee, Ratchet, and many others look quite silly - and very much aimed at a target audience about 15 years younger than the first wave of TF:Prime. IMHO.) Glad to see this figure crop up. >:oP
TFCC Subscription Bots for sale: Breakdown, Jackpot, Circuit. Will ship international.
User avatar
gothsaurus
Godmaster
Posts: 1543
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 8:30 am


Return to Transformers Toy Reviews

Transformers Podcast: Twincast / Podcast #90 - Dark Scorponok
Twincast / Podcast #90:
"Dark Scorponok"
MP3 · iTunes · RSS · View · Discuss · Ask
Posted: Monday, April 7th, 2014