Chicago Cubs World Series 2016 8-Disc Collector's Edition Set from Shout! Factory

HD Signal

Welcome to the General Discussion area where just about anything goes! This area is designed to discuss all matters and does not necessarily have to be Transformers related. Please keep topics relevant.

HD Signal

Postby Moonlight » Tue Feb 19, 2008 8:24 pm

I have a HD television but I do not have HD signal going into it. The picture is still really good though. If we decided to go DH in our satellite programming would I need to get different cables? Also would a HD DVD still be HD in a regular DVD player?
Image
Moonlight
Combiner
Posts: 474
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 3:37 pm
Location: SW Missouri

Re: HD Signal

Postby TheMuffin » Tue Feb 19, 2008 11:23 pm

Motto: "I still function!"
Weapon: Plasma Beam Rifle
Missourisnowflakes wrote:I have a HD television but I do not have HD signal going into it. The picture is still really good though. If we decided to go HD in our satellite programming would I need to get different cables? Also would a HD DVD still be HD in a regular DVD player?

It's dependent on how your TV connects to the satelite box. What cable are you using for that at the moment?

And no an HD-DVD would not produce HD in a regular DVD player. I'm guessing you're talking about those HD-DVD's that have both formats on a single disc right?
Image
User avatar
TheMuffin
God Of Transformers
Posts: 11058
News Credits: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 10:12 am
Location: Ohiooooooo
Strength: 4
Intelligence: 8
Speed: 3
Endurance: 7
Rank: 7
Courage: 6
Firepower: 8
Skill: 7

Re: HD Signal

Postby Autobot032 » Wed Feb 20, 2008 12:03 am

Weapon: Switch Blade Tail
Depending on the model of your TV and the Satellite tuner, there are two ways you can connect the two devices to receive the HD signals through the TV.

1.) Component Video Cables (Red, Blue, Green.) This is known as Analog, but can support video signals from 480i (SDTV) up through 1080p (True HD). Most likely, your TV will only do 1080i as the maximum resolution.

2.) HDMI (High Definition Multimedia Interface) This is digital and it handles both Audio and Video through a single cable. This will handle all formats running from 480p (EDTV Enhanced Definition. Better than SD, not quite as good as HD.) all the way through to 1080p. (Again, depending on the set, most likely your TV can only go as high 1080i)

Make sure your Satellite receiver has either one of those capabilities and you'll be able to receive the High Definition signal and content through your TV.

If you want HD froma DVD signal (which also uses HDMI) you'll need an upconvert DVD player, or a Blu-Ray Player. (I won't recommend HD-DVD because it's no longer going to be made or supported.)

A standard definition DVD player will only play standard discs. It cannot play Blu-Ray or HD-DVD discs as they are physically different than a standard DVD disc.

Also, Upconvert DVD players cannot play HD or Blu-Ray discs. They only play standard definition discs. (The player and the tv upconvert the signal together, makes it look HD.)

If you've got any questions, PM me. I'll try and walk you through it.
NOTE: Realize that I am not a perfect Christian, nor do I profess to be. I apologize if anyone's ever offended by me, I'm not perfect. Don't hold my posts and opinions against other Christians.
Autobot032
Matrix Keeper
Posts: 9497
News Credits: 48
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 4:51 am
Location: I don't know!
Buy from Autobot032 on eBay

Re: HD Signal

Postby Moonlight » Wed Feb 20, 2008 10:57 am

TheMuffin wrote:
Missourisnowflakes wrote:I have a HD television but I do not have HD signal going into it. The picture is still really good though. If we decided to go HD in our satellite programming would I need to get different cables? Also would a HD DVD still be HD in a regular DVD player?

It's dependent on how your TV connects to the satelite box. What cable are you using for that at the moment?

And no an HD-DVD would not produce HD in a regular DVD player. I'm guessing you're talking about those HD-DVD's that have both formats on a single disc right?

They can put both formats on one DVD? We did not have an HD television before so I never even bothered looking at the HD DVD's before.

We have not upgraded our cables at all so we are using the ones the satellite installer brought with him when we got they system a couple of years ago.
Autobot032 wrote:Depending on the model of your TV and the Satellite tuner, there are two ways you can connect the two devices to receive the HD signals through the TV.

1.) Component Video Cables (Red, Blue, Green.) This is known as Analog, but can support video signals from 480i (SDTV) up through 1080p (True HD). Most likely, your TV will only do 1080i as the maximum resolution.

2.) HDMI (High Definition Multimedia Interface) This is digital and it handles both Audio and Video through a single cable. This will handle all formats running from 480p (EDTV Enhanced Definition. Better than SD, not quite as good as HD.) all the way through to 1080p. (Again, depending on the set, most likely your TV can only go as high 1080i)

Make sure your Satellite receiver has either one of those capabilities and you'll be able to receive the High Definition signal and content through your TV.

If you want HD froma DVD signal (which also uses HDMI) you'll need an upconvert DVD player, or a Blu-Ray Player. (I won't recommend HD-DVD because it's no longer going to be made or supported.)

A standard definition DVD player will only play standard discs. It cannot play Blu-Ray or HD-DVD discs as they are physically different than a standard DVD disc.

Also, Upconvert DVD players cannot play HD or Blu-Ray discs. They only play standard definition discs. (The player and the tv upconvert the signal together, makes it look HD.)

If you've got any questions, PM me. I'll try and walk you through it.

A Blu-Ray player will not play a regular DVD? I wonder if that will change now that HD is getting discontinued.
I am not entirely sure what the resolution is on the TV. The picture looked the same as all of the other TV's there. I do notice that the picture is not as clear as it was in the store. I am assuming that the store used an HD signal.
Image
Moonlight
Combiner
Posts: 474
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 3:37 pm
Location: SW Missouri

Re: HD Signal

Postby TheMuffin » Wed Feb 20, 2008 11:11 am

Motto: "I still function!"
Weapon: Plasma Beam Rifle
You misunderstood a little bit. You CAN play DVD's in a Blu-Ray player. You however cannot go backwards and play a Blu-Ray Disc in a regular DVD-Player.

And as Autobot said, you'll need either component cables (red, green and blue) or an HDMI cable (looks like a big USB cable) to see video in HD. Of course you'll have to see what your TV supports when it comes to connections as not all HDTV's have an HDMI port. Stupid I know. But newer ones all have at least one.

And yeah, the HDTV's in the store are running on an HD signal, hence the picture clarity. Keep also in mind that you have to adjust the settings on the TV to get the correct picture quality. Just taking it out of the box and going with the default settings is a foolish idea.

If you can get the model number, I can get some good settings for you to use. Would also answer some questions for me.
Image
User avatar
TheMuffin
God Of Transformers
Posts: 11058
News Credits: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 10:12 am
Location: Ohiooooooo
Strength: 4
Intelligence: 8
Speed: 3
Endurance: 7
Rank: 7
Courage: 6
Firepower: 8
Skill: 7

Re: HD Signal

Postby Moonlight » Wed Feb 20, 2008 12:42 pm

TheMuffin wrote:You misunderstood a little bit. You CAN play DVD's in a Blu-Ray player. You however cannot go backwards and play a Blu-Ray Disc in a regular DVD-Player


Oh good I can deal with that.


TheMuffin wrote:And as Autobot said, you'll need either component cables (red, green and blue) or an HDMI cable (looks like a big USB cable) to see video in HD. Of course you'll have to see what your TV supports when it comes to connections as not all HDTV's have an HDMI port. Stupid I know. But newer ones all have at least one.



I think ours has 3 HDMI ports. It has 3 I need to go through to get back to the regular television

TheMuffin wrote: Keep also in mind that you have to adjust the settings on the TV to get the correct picture quality. Just taking it out of the box and going with the default settings is a foolish idea.

If you can get the model number, I can get some good settings for you to use. Would also answer some questions for me.


Yeah we just took it out of the box and hung it on the wall :oops:

Where is the serial number? Sure I will answer some questions you have answered a ton of mine :grin:
Image
Moonlight
Combiner
Posts: 474
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 3:37 pm
Location: SW Missouri

Re: HD Signal

Postby TheMuffin » Wed Feb 20, 2008 12:49 pm

Motto: "I still function!"
Weapon: Plasma Beam Rifle
Just take a look on the front of the manual. Should be in big bold letters. I meant model number, not serial number. So call that a flub on my part.
Image
User avatar
TheMuffin
God Of Transformers
Posts: 11058
News Credits: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 10:12 am
Location: Ohiooooooo
Strength: 4
Intelligence: 8
Speed: 3
Endurance: 7
Rank: 7
Courage: 6
Firepower: 8
Skill: 7

Re: HD Signal

Postby Moonlight » Wed Feb 20, 2008 1:27 pm

DP50747
Image
Moonlight
Combiner
Posts: 474
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 3:37 pm
Location: SW Missouri

Re: HD Signal

Postby Autobot032 » Wed Feb 20, 2008 2:22 pm

Weapon: Switch Blade Tail
Missourisnowflakes wrote:DP50747


Sanyo 50" plasma? Nice.

Okay here's what I was able to find out...

1.) It does handle High Def signals though both Component and HDMI.
2.) Here's the instruction manual in case you might be missing something important: http://www.sanyotv.com/DP50747%20(ESF)%200257A-.pdf

One of the easiest things you can do to set the colors, contrast, etc... is use a DVD with the THX Optimizer.

Star Wars
Disney films

Any of those discs will have the Optimizer. You can use it by hand, step by step to get the picture just right. Generally you can use the same settings for any signal that comes through it.

Good luck.
NOTE: Realize that I am not a perfect Christian, nor do I profess to be. I apologize if anyone's ever offended by me, I'm not perfect. Don't hold my posts and opinions against other Christians.
Autobot032
Matrix Keeper
Posts: 9497
News Credits: 48
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 4:51 am
Location: I don't know!
Buy from Autobot032 on eBay

Re: HD Signal

Postby TheMuffin » Wed Feb 20, 2008 2:50 pm

Motto: "I still function!"
Weapon: Plasma Beam Rifle
Theres an optimizer on THX movies?!

Huh. I just use Digital Video Essentials.
Image
User avatar
TheMuffin
God Of Transformers
Posts: 11058
News Credits: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 10:12 am
Location: Ohiooooooo
Strength: 4
Intelligence: 8
Speed: 3
Endurance: 7
Rank: 7
Courage: 6
Firepower: 8
Skill: 7

Re: HD Signal

Postby Autobot032 » Wed Feb 20, 2008 3:01 pm

Weapon: Switch Blade Tail
TheMuffin wrote:Theres an optimizer on THX movies?!

Huh. I just use Digital Video Essentials.


Yup they're included in the setup portion of the disc. (Subtitles/Audio menu) Click on the THX logo and it'll take you to the Optimizer.
NOTE: Realize that I am not a perfect Christian, nor do I profess to be. I apologize if anyone's ever offended by me, I'm not perfect. Don't hold my posts and opinions against other Christians.
Autobot032
Matrix Keeper
Posts: 9497
News Credits: 48
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 4:51 am
Location: I don't know!
Buy from Autobot032 on eBay

Re: HD Signal

Postby Moonlight » Wed Feb 20, 2008 3:53 pm

Autobot032 wrote:

One of the easiest things you can do to set the colors, contrast, etc... is use a DVD with the THX Optimizer.

Star Wars
Disney films

Any of those discs will have the Optimizer. You can use it by hand, step by step to get the picture just right. Generally you can use the same settings for any signal that comes through it.

Good luck.


Thanks I will do that :grin:
Image
Moonlight
Combiner
Posts: 474
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 3:37 pm
Location: SW Missouri


Return to General Discussion

Ending Soon On eBay

Transformers Generations Voyager Class Motormaster - Time Remaining: 2 days 12 hours 8 minutes 3 seconds
hot Transformers Generation Toy GT-4 Autobot JAZZ J4ZZ MP - Time Remaining: 2 days 7 hours 39 minutes 50 seconds
VTG 90s 1992 G2 Transformers Decepticon Jet Ramjet Body For Parts Box Tech Spec - Time Remaining: 2 days 9 hours 25 minutes 5 seconds
Transformers Loyal Subjects Series 1 Midnight Megatron Cybertron SDCC exclusive - Time Remaining: 2 days 6 hours 13 minutes 29 seconds
Transformers Loyal Subjects Series Wave 1 Ultra Magnus Prime - Time Remaining: 24 days 3 hours 44 minutes 51 seconds
Transformers Prime AM-31 Frenzy with Arms Micron Action Figure Tomy Takara - Time Remaining: 2 days 21 hours 16 minutes 50 seconds
Transformers Loyal Subjects Series Wave 1 TLS Starscream - Time Remaining: 3 days 3 hours 3 minutes 4 seconds
1985 Dirge Complete with booklet & box G1 Transformers Jet Plane - Time Remaining: 1 day 18 hours 6 minutes 47 seconds
Transformers Podcast: Twincast / Podcast #160 - Grappling with Memory
Twincast / Podcast #160:
"Grappling with Memory"
MP3 · iTunes · RSS · View · Discuss · Ask
Posted: Saturday, December 3rd, 2016
Website Security Test