Submit News Contact Us Translate Sign in Join

Windblade IDW Comic Book Discussion: Interviews, Sneak Peaks, Previews and more

Discuss anything about the Transformers cartoons and comics! You can discuss anything from G1 to Cybertron as well as the comics from Marvel, Dreamwave, IDW and more!

Re: Windblade IDW Comic Book Discussion: Interviews, Sneak Peaks, Previews and more

Postby RiddlerJ » Sun May 18, 2014 12:45 pm

I predict that the last issue will have Starscream and Windblade slapping each other, then embracing in a passionate kiss.

Or have I been watching too many Cheers episodes again. :oops:
User avatar
RiddlerJ
Transmetal Warrior
Posts: 848
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 8:29 pm

IDW Transformers: Windblade #2 Full Preview

Postby Va'al » Tue May 20, 2014 1:58 am

Motto: "Till All Are Pun!"
One new comic coming out this week with IDW Publishing, and it's the second issue of the Transformers: Windblade mini-series, part of the Dawn of the Autobots era! Check out the full preview below, and head back here tomorrow for the Seibertron.com review.


Transformers: Windblade #2 (of 4): Dawn of the Autobots
Mairghread Scott (w) • Sarah Stone (a & c)
CYBERTRON UNDER FIRE! Someone is out to kill WINDBLADE—but discovering who means turning to some less-than-savory ’Bots. Can WINDBLADE trust her informants enough to stake her life on them? And who will she turn to when the events of DARK CYBERTRON come back to haunt them all?
FC • 32 pages • $3.99

Bullet points:
DAWN OF THE AUTOBOTS continues!
What is the secret history of WINDBLADE—and what does that mean for the future of Cybertron?
Variant Cover by Marcelo Matere!


Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image
Do you have Transformers news for Seibertron.com? Contact us here!


Image
Avatar image by sabrigami
User avatar
Va'al
News Admin
Posts: 6728
News Credits: 65
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 11:00 am
Location: UK, Italy, The Netherlands
Buy from Va'al on eBay

Re: Windblade IDW Comic Book Discussion: Interviews, Sneak Peaks, Previews and more

Postby Caelus » Tue May 20, 2014 2:58 am

This comic fascinates me to no end - they're playing with themes of patriarchy and gender-based inequity in a context where sexuality is (supposedly) not an issue, raising a lot of questions about the dynamics between the characters (specifically, Starscream and Windblade). It's interesting to read this, and ponder how many preconceptions are painted onto the situation by the reader, and how many actually come from the writer.

That part where Starscream prods her injury made me wince, but it also made my skin crawl. While the pain from the newly repaired wound was tangible, I know that the creepiness I felt came with the dominating violation of personal space. I also appreciate that Windblade's predicament is socially generated. Starscream's bigger than her, but he's not Overlord - if he'd done something like that to Arcee she would have torn him apart, and Windblade (being a main character in a Transformers comic) could probably tear him apart too, but she's putting up with all of it because he's protected by the society they're operating within.

So, it doesn't stand as an example of gender inequity (with only two women on Cybertron, that doesn't really make sense), but it serves well as an allegory for it.
Caelus
Matrix Keeper
Posts: 9349
News Credits: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2003 10:32 pm
Location: Fort Collins, CO

Re: Windblade IDW Comic Book Discussion: Interviews, Sneak Peaks, Previews and more

Postby Sabrblade » Tue May 20, 2014 8:09 am

Motto: "FOR THE EARTH!!!"
Weapon: Saber Blade
Who's that guy with the body-type (or at least the head design) of Prime Beat hunters Deluxe Ratchet?
If you've read Exodus, wanna read the War For Cybertron comic? PM me.
Shadowman wrote:This is Sabrblade we're talking about. His ability to store trivial information about TV shows is downright superhuman.
Caelus wrote:My wife pointed out something interesting about the prehistoric Predacons. I said that everyone was complaining because transforming for them mostly consisted of them just standing up-right. She essentially said, 'So? That's what our ancestors did.'
User avatar
Sabrblade
God Of Transformers
Posts: 17076
News Credits: 109
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:22 pm
Location: Florida, the "Neglected" State
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 10
Speed: 7
Endurance: 6
Rank: 9
Courage: 8
Firepower: 10
Skill: 9

Re: Windblade IDW Comic Book Discussion: Interviews, Sneak Peaks, Previews and more

Postby ILL-Star » Tue May 20, 2014 9:12 am

Motto: "What is life without misfortune?"
Weapon: Cluster Bombs
Sabrblade wrote:Who's that guy with the body-type (or at least the head design) of Prime Beat hunters Deluxe Ratchet?

That's Longtooth. He's a Cameraman for Circuit.

http://tfwiki.net/wiki/File:EndoftheBeg ... gtooth.jpg
ILL-Star
Fuzor
Posts: 252
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 10:37 am
Strength: 6
Intelligence: 10
Speed: 8
Endurance: 7
Rank: 5
Courage: 9
Firepower: 7
Skill: 9

Re: Windblade IDW Comic Book Discussion: Interviews, Sneak Peaks, Previews and more

Postby Doctor McGrath » Tue May 20, 2014 8:40 pm

Motto: "This is quick but not quite painless.."
Weapon: Semi-Automatic Glue Gun
I really don't care for how Rattrap is being characterized so far..
Image
El Duque wrote:Quite a firestorm I started here :michaelbay:
User avatar
Doctor McGrath
Gestalt
Posts: 2513
News Credits: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 11:03 am
Buy from Doctor McGrath on eBay
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 9
Speed: 8
Endurance: 7
Rank: 6
Courage: 7
Firepower: 7
Skill: 8

Re: Windblade IDW Comic Book Discussion: Interviews, Sneak Peaks, Previews and more

Postby Heckfire » Tue May 20, 2014 11:48 pm

Motto: "Nothing is impossible, just improbable."
Weapon: "Claw" Flame-Throwers
Doctor McGrath wrote:I really don't care for how Rattrap is being characterized so far..

Gotta say, I agree wholly...Rattrap is my favorite TF character, and seeing him turned into this sniveling, toadying, villain wanna-be really darkens what is possibly my favorite period on any TF comic run. I can only hope that, like the Rattrap I know and love from before, this version is simply playing the long con, working his way into Starscream's good graces before revealing he was trying to pry the Silver (er, Red?) Snake out of his position of power for the betterment of all.

Rattrap is like Doc Holiday in "Tombstone," he's the dark agent who sides with the heroes because he can do the things the heroes can't or, more likely, won't. This...thing...in these comics isn't Rattrap, or it's Rattrap before he came to the side of the heroes at best. Of course, everybody probably has one or two characters that they might not agree with the IDW versions...I can't imagine the Japanese fans who voted for a Masterpiece Star Saber figure would be too pleased with the religious fascist from MTMTE either.

Amusing that the best version of a post-BW Rattrap would be the Internal Affairs agent that homages him in the Wild Cards mosaic novel, Fort Freak.
"Grab a shovel, I'm one skull away from a Mouseketeer reunion." - Bender
"I've never seen anything this beautiful in the entire galaxy...all right, give me the bomb." —Ultra Magnus
Image
You got WRECK-ROLLED!
User avatar
Heckfire
Vehicon
Posts: 369
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 10:37 am
Strength: 4
Intelligence: 9
Speed: 5
Endurance: 4
Rank: 1
Courage: 7
Firepower: 6
Skill: 8

IDW Transformers: Windblade #2 Review

Postby Va'al » Wed May 21, 2014 2:06 am

Motto: "Till All Are Pun!"
*REC
(Spoiler free-ish)



Synopsis
CYBERTRON UNDER FIRE! Someone is out to kill WINDBLADE—but discovering who means turning to some less-than-savory ’Bots. Can WINDBLADE trust her informants enough to stake her life on them? And who will she turn to when the events of DARK CYBERTRON come back to haunt them all?

Image
FAT TANKOR, clearly


Story

Aaand we're back on Cybertron, as Windblade recovers from the first issue's explosion, abruptly waking up to the reality of Cybertron and its somehow democratically elected ruler Lord Starscream, and aide Rattrap. Indeed, both her and the other Camien Chromia start digging for proof of ..well, anything. This is Starscream after all.

Image
That kinda sums up the setting


After a fairly painful and actually quite visually uncomfortable moment between the two opposing main characters, Windblade does set with Chromia to investigate the happenings from issue #1, and find out from Metroplex, Ironhide and others what might help them - stumbling across an adorable and well-rounded Waspinator.

Image
At Maccadam's, where else


The dialogue works very well, and there are definitely distinctive voices for different characters, other than the obvious Wazzzzpinator quirks (and he really does shine in this issue, finally a proper, not-exclusively comical look at his character). Starscream gets creepier, Chromia gets tougher, and Windblade has some good, moving moments with Metroplex, too.

Image
*This* is Chromia


Another solid issue, if a little slower compared to the opening one. It feels more like a legal-procedural with political intrigue, with a significant emotional and personal take on some of the key players, and all the better for it in places, less punchy in others.

Art

The artwork, on the other hand, and as fully expected, is still quite marvellous. Sarah Stone's composition of the panels does some really great work in terms of border employment and perspectives, making 'camera angles' more so than initially expected, for example, and sliding in some really really cool shots - and transformation sequences.

Image
"Too close, a little too close"


The colours, of course, do wonders to complement the artwork, and all still at the hands of Stone. But I want to take some time to look at Chris Mowry's lettering, after Scott pointed out something last month: Metroplex's multifaceted speech is due to Mowry's excellent handiwork. And it is magnificent.

Image
See? Magnificent


So yes, the artistic team nails it truly and squarely. And that includes the truly great covers, with the main version by Stone, an amazing Alex Milne and Priscilla Tramontano variant, with a steadfast, defiant Camien, and a haunting continuation of last week's MTMTE #29 incentive by Marcelo Matere and Tramontano again - in the post thumbnail!

Thoughts
Spoilerish ahead

The writing is really, truly good, alternating a great dialogue with steady monologue, and bringing out some touching moments of interaction between characters, especially Metroplex and his Cityspeaker. The final sections feel like a tremendous teasing build-up to what's to come next month - and, in fact, that's exactly what they are.

Image
Because Scott is an evil mastermind


I was conflicted about whether the slower pacing would hinder the full enjoyment of the issue, especially compared to last month. On re-reading the story once more, however, and taking in every single panel slowly, the emotional, empathetic, compassionate qualities of Windblade shine onto the often misused Waspinator and resonate with Metroplex, without it ever being too much of an aside. Slower? Yes. But also really quite moving. Bring on the next issue.

. :CON: :CON: :CON: :CON: ½ out of :CON: :CON: :CON: :CON: :CON:
Do you have Transformers news for Seibertron.com? Contact us here!


Image
Avatar image by sabrigami
User avatar
Va'al
News Admin
Posts: 6728
News Credits: 65
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 11:00 am
Location: UK, Italy, The Netherlands
Buy from Va'al on eBay

Re: Windblade IDW Comic Book Discussion: Interviews, Sneak Peaks, Previews and more

Postby Caelus » Wed May 21, 2014 2:43 am

Heckfire wrote:
Doctor McGrath wrote:I really don't care for how Rattrap is being characterized so far..

Gotta say, I agree wholly...Rattrap is my favorite TF character, and seeing him turned into this sniveling, toadying, villain wanna-be really darkens what is possibly my favorite period on any TF comic run. I can only hope that, like the Rattrap I know and love from before, this version is simply playing the long con, working his way into Starscream's good graces before revealing he was trying to pry the Silver (er, Red?) Snake out of his position of power for the betterment of all.


I imagine this is probably the case, given he'd been fighting as an Autobot before the truce. I have a feeling Rhinox will be involved in it too, given he's the only Thrilling 30 character I can think of not in the IDW universe, and if he were introduced, he'd probably have been fighting on the same planet as Rattrap.

I would be more interested, though, in seeing events in the series actually change him into the hero he was in Beast Wars. In Beast Wars, Rattrap had a sort of anti-hero thing going on - he didn't fight honorably, he spied on allies and needled them to test their loyalty, and while he could be incredibly brave, it was only when everything hinged on him - not so much because it inspired courage, as much as it was that Rattrap pragmatically wasn't going to waste his heroics on something trivial. He belonged on Firefly, really.

But his odd mishmash of heroics and selfishness, betrayal and bravado, and his long list of martial and espionage skills, just always begged the question - WHERE THE HECK DID HE COME FROM? Although this is not the same universe as Beast Wars, I hope the evolution of this character gives us some idea of how the original Rattrap became the unique character he was.
Caelus
Matrix Keeper
Posts: 9349
News Credits: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2003 10:32 pm
Location: Fort Collins, CO

Re: Windblade IDW Comic Book Discussion: Interviews, Sneak Peaks, Previews and more

Postby Nemesis Maximo » Wed May 21, 2014 9:26 pm

Motto: "Zounds! A sarsparilla swimming hole! Last one in's a freemason!"
Weapon: Gatling Cannon
While I really like the way Starsceam is being written by. Scott, I kinda wish he wasn't being portrayed as the sole bad guy here. Granted, we're only two issues in, but that's half-way now. I want to see his side of this tale; I would totally by "The Starscream Version", you know what I'm sayin'?
User avatar
Nemesis Maximo
Headmaster
Posts: 1206
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 11:59 pm
Location: Northern MI
Strength: 8
Intelligence: 8
Speed: 5
Endurance: 6
Rank: 5
Courage: 10
Firepower: 10+
Skill: 7

Re: Windblade IDW Comic Book Discussion: Interviews, Sneak Peaks, Previews and more

Postby Va'al » Thu May 22, 2014 4:10 am

Motto: "Till All Are Pun!"
Nemesis Maximo wrote:While I really like the way Starsceam is being written by. Scott, I kinda wish he wasn't being portrayed as the sole bad guy here. Granted, we're only two issues in, but that's half-way now. I want to see his side of this tale; I would totally by "The Starscream Version", you know what I'm sayin'?


Well, we are getting some of that in MTMTE, are we not? Plus, pretty much all of RID pre-DC was about him. :D

The perspective in this series is Windblade and Chromia's, mostly, and they're very much new to the whole planet and its ways. Through their eyes, Starscream, and Rattrap, are the sole bad guys!

That's how I read it, anyway. Obviously welcome to disagree. ;)
Do you have Transformers news for Seibertron.com? Contact us here!


Image
Avatar image by sabrigami
User avatar
Va'al
News Admin
Posts: 6728
News Credits: 65
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 11:00 am
Location: UK, Italy, The Netherlands
Buy from Va'al on eBay

Re: Windblade IDW Comic Book Discussion: Interviews, Sneak Peaks, Previews and more

Postby Nemesis Maximo » Thu May 22, 2014 8:35 am

Motto: "Zounds! A sarsparilla swimming hole! Last one in's a freemason!"
Weapon: Gatling Cannon
Va'al wrote:
Nemesis Maximo wrote:While I really like the way Starsceam is being written by. Scott, I kinda wish he wasn't being portrayed as the sole bad guy here. Granted, we're only two issues in, but that's half-way now. I want to see his side of this tale; I would totally by "The Starscream Version", you know what I'm sayin'?


Well, we are getting some of that in MTMTE, are we not? Plus, pretty much all of RID pre-DC was about him. :D

The perspective in this series is Windblade and Chromia's, mostly, and they're very much new to the whole planet and its ways. Through their eyes, Starscream, and Rattrap, are the sole bad guys!

That's how I read it, anyway. Obviously welcome to disagree. ;)

Okay, so looking back at the RID comic, you're right: a lot of it was about Starscream. As for the current MTMTE, we really only got that one scene where they took a recess from the trial. I guess it counts.

And yes, the perspective is something I need to keep in mind. This is "Transformers: Windblade" after all, so I know it needs to focus on her. I just really want to see more of Starscream as drawn by Sarah Stone. :D
User avatar
Nemesis Maximo
Headmaster
Posts: 1206
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 11:59 pm
Location: Northern MI
Strength: 8
Intelligence: 8
Speed: 5
Endurance: 6
Rank: 5
Courage: 10
Firepower: 10+
Skill: 7

IDW Publishing Transformers: Windblade - Mairghread Scott And The Ambassador Autobot Interview

Postby Va'al » Mon Jun 02, 2014 10:35 am

Motto: "Till All Are Pun!"
The folks over at comics distribution sub-site PREVIEWSworld were able to have a chat with IDW Publishing's Transformers writer Mairghread Scott, focusing on the Windblade mini-series which is now halfway through its run. Check out below some snippets, and head here for the full thing!

PREVIEWSworld: In putting together your story, what helped you get in the mood to draw this series? What resources or Transformers history did you draw from to help you visualize where you wanted to go with this series?

Mairghread Scott: Well, I always keep a running soundtrack for whatever I’m writing to help capture the right mood and this was no exception (MIA, Katy Perry and Franz Ferdinand got looped a lot on my iPad), but Sarah Stone, Windblade’s artist, really brought an expressiveness and vibrancy to the characters that I just kept trying to live up to. We drew on everything from Cheers to anime, to Star Trek TNG to try and give each character their own unique attitude and personality and Sarah’s art is all about both. We also tried hard to give them a level of grace and fluidity to their movements. Just because they’re robots, doesn’t mean they’re…you know, robots, and we really tried to push the envelop on both the human and alien aspects of the brand. In terms of lore, I really tried to reframe my brain to that of a newcomer with this series, to make sure I never assumed, “Oh, everyone knows this." I also wanted to show off all the aspects of Transformers that I love so much: humor, political drama, really unique and challenging fight sequences and a total explosion of different sizes and shapes when it comes to the characters.

[...]

PREVIEWSworld: Will you be hitting the convention scene this year? And how can people get in touch with you using social media?

Mairghread Scott: I’m currently signed up for Bot Con and San Diego, but if I end up going to more I’ll be sure to mention it on Twitter and Tumblr (http://www.tumblr.com/blog/mscottwrites).
Do you have Transformers news for Seibertron.com? Contact us here!


Image
Avatar image by sabrigami
User avatar
Va'al
News Admin
Posts: 6728
News Credits: 65
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 11:00 am
Location: UK, Italy, The Netherlands
Buy from Va'al on eBay

Re: Windblade IDW Comic Book Discussion: Interviews, Sneak Peaks, Previews and more

Postby Sabrblade » Mon Jun 02, 2014 11:21 am

Motto: "FOR THE EARTH!!!"
Weapon: Saber Blade
Speaking of Windblade, I recently stumbled across this:

Image
If you've read Exodus, wanna read the War For Cybertron comic? PM me.
Shadowman wrote:This is Sabrblade we're talking about. His ability to store trivial information about TV shows is downright superhuman.
Caelus wrote:My wife pointed out something interesting about the prehistoric Predacons. I said that everyone was complaining because transforming for them mostly consisted of them just standing up-right. She essentially said, 'So? That's what our ancestors did.'
User avatar
Sabrblade
God Of Transformers
Posts: 17076
News Credits: 109
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:22 pm
Location: Florida, the "Neglected" State
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 10
Speed: 7
Endurance: 6
Rank: 9
Courage: 8
Firepower: 10
Skill: 9

Re: Windblade IDW Comic Book Discussion: Interviews, Sneak Peaks, Previews and more

Postby Bounti76 » Mon Jun 02, 2014 2:05 pm

Weapon: Vibro-Axe
Sabrblade wrote:Speaking of Windblade, I recently stumbled across this:

Image


Hahahahaha!! TOO true.
Bounti76
Vehicon
Posts: 389
News Credits: 14
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 12:17 am
Strength: 5
Intelligence: 9
Speed: 5
Endurance: 9
Rank: 6
Courage: 9
Firepower: 6
Skill: 8

Re: Windblade IDW Comic Book Discussion: Interviews, Sneak Peaks, Previews and more

Postby Shadowstream » Mon Jun 02, 2014 2:32 pm

Weapon: No Weapon
Bounti76 wrote:
Sabrblade wrote:Speaking of Windblade, I recently stumbled across this:

Image


Hahahahaha!! TOO true.


Doesn't make her any less exempt from the ridicule as far as I'm concerned. At least Hot Rod wasn't our own damn fault.
MightyMagnus78 wrote:Nothing Hasbro does surprises me anymore, their ineptitude is legendary!

Burn wrote:
Shadowstream wrote:It's quite clear they dun dropped the ball, but did they have to drop it so far and so hard?

It's FunPub. It's their specialty.

I'm a killjoy, and proud of it!
don't take that to mean I'm a killjoy just because I can be, though...
User avatar
Shadowstream
Headmaster
Posts: 1033
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:16 am

Re: Windblade IDW Comic Book Discussion: Interviews, Sneak Peaks, Previews and more

Postby Sabrblade » Mon Jun 02, 2014 2:50 pm

Motto: "FOR THE EARTH!!!"
Weapon: Saber Blade
Shadowstream wrote:Doesn't make her any less exempt from the ridicule as far as I'm concerned. At least Hot Rod wasn't our own damn fault.
True, but at least Windblade, unlike Hot Rod and Drift, wasn't hyped as the greatest thing ever made that we all should totally fall head over heels in love with.

By comparison, Windblade's promotion and introduction have been vastly more tame and humble.
If you've read Exodus, wanna read the War For Cybertron comic? PM me.
Shadowman wrote:This is Sabrblade we're talking about. His ability to store trivial information about TV shows is downright superhuman.
Caelus wrote:My wife pointed out something interesting about the prehistoric Predacons. I said that everyone was complaining because transforming for them mostly consisted of them just standing up-right. She essentially said, 'So? That's what our ancestors did.'
User avatar
Sabrblade
God Of Transformers
Posts: 17076
News Credits: 109
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:22 pm
Location: Florida, the "Neglected" State
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 10
Speed: 7
Endurance: 6
Rank: 9
Courage: 8
Firepower: 10
Skill: 9

Re: Windblade IDW Comic Book Discussion: Interviews, Sneak Peaks, Previews and more

Postby Shadowstream » Mon Jun 02, 2014 4:05 pm

Weapon: No Weapon
Sabrblade wrote:
Shadowstream wrote:Doesn't make her any less exempt from the ridicule as far as I'm concerned. At least Hot Rod wasn't our own damn fault.
True, but at least Windblade, unlike Hot Rod and Drift, wasn't hyped as the greatest thing ever made that we all should totally fall head over heels in love with.

By comparison, Windblade's promotion and introduction have been vastly more tame and humble.

True, but the only reason it works out like that by comparison I feel has more to do with the huge difference in the transformers franchise between then and now, since there's just so much on the table coming of of the franchise at this point. Even so I still find Windblade overhyped within the realm she's meant to stand in.
MightyMagnus78 wrote:Nothing Hasbro does surprises me anymore, their ineptitude is legendary!

Burn wrote:
Shadowstream wrote:It's quite clear they dun dropped the ball, but did they have to drop it so far and so hard?

It's FunPub. It's their specialty.

I'm a killjoy, and proud of it!
don't take that to mean I'm a killjoy just because I can be, though...
User avatar
Shadowstream
Headmaster
Posts: 1033
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:16 am

Re: Windblade IDW Comic Book Discussion: Interviews, Sneak Peaks, Previews and more

Postby Blurrz » Mon Jun 02, 2014 9:15 pm

Motto: "The Wreckers. Weird brain bullets. Impossible odds... It doesn't get much better than this."
Weapon: Sniper Rifle
Buy

A

Drink

Or

Leave



<3
dA/twitter/tumblr
Image
MTMTE customs - Click the picture to see my progress
User avatar
Blurrz
God Of Transformers
Posts: 11581
News Credits: 102
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 12:31 am
Location: Oil Country
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 8
Speed: 10
Endurance: 6
Rank: 7
Courage: 8
Firepower: 7
Skill: 5

Re: Windblade IDW Comic Book Discussion: Interviews, Sneak Peaks, Previews and more

Postby Va'al » Tue Jun 03, 2014 3:00 am

Motto: "Till All Are Pun!"
I thought you'd like him.. er.. you, Blurrz. :D
Do you have Transformers news for Seibertron.com? Contact us here!


Image
Avatar image by sabrigami
User avatar
Va'al
News Admin
Posts: 6728
News Credits: 65
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 11:00 am
Location: UK, Italy, The Netherlands
Buy from Va'al on eBay

Sneak Peek - IDW Transformers: Windblade #3

Postby Va'al » Tue Jun 10, 2014 2:41 pm

Motto: "Till All Are Pun!"
IDW Publishing digital assistant Mariel Romero has been busy today! Another iTunes three-page preview has emerged, this time for the third issue of the Transformers: Windblade mini-series. Check out the images mirrored below - it's Terrorcon time.

THE FATE OF CYBERTRON! WINDBLADE learns more about the new face of CYBERTRON—and lesson number one is: never underestimate STARSCREAM! She’s trapped in a no-win situation—but what is the scheming DECEPTICON really after, and how far will he go to keep WINDBLADE out of his way?


Image

Image

Image
Do you have Transformers news for Seibertron.com? Contact us here!


Image
Avatar image by sabrigami
User avatar
Va'al
News Admin
Posts: 6728
News Credits: 65
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 11:00 am
Location: UK, Italy, The Netherlands
Buy from Va'al on eBay

Re: Sneak Peek - IDW Transformers: Windblade #3

Postby Fires_Of_Inferno » Tue Jun 10, 2014 2:57 pm

Motto: "I wish I could hate you to death."
Weapon: Venom Blaster
LOVE Slug's expression there. XD
Quick Toy Reviews. My Twitter account: https://twitter.com/QuickToyReviews

Image

Groovy
User avatar
Fires_Of_Inferno
Headmaster
Posts: 1136
News Credits: 15
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 8:34 pm
Location: Edmonton, Alberta. Canada
Strength: 4
Intelligence: 6
Speed: 3
Endurance: 9
Rank: 1
Courage: 7
Firepower: 3
Skill: 7

Re: Sneak Peek - IDW Transformers: Windblade #3

Postby #Sideways# » Tue Jun 10, 2014 8:50 pm

Motto: "If the ends justify the means, then life is just about as meaningless to you than the cause you think so highly of."
Weapon: Rapid-Fire Sonic Shell Cannons
I honestly don't think Starscream is trying to kill Windblade and friends (Windblade primarily) -- rather, I think it's Rattrap. He's already been established to be a backstabber (Starscream expressed it himself), and even though the fact is given that I have not read the comic yet so I cannot know whether or not logic has been presented otherwise, I cannot help but to feel that he is the true culprit. The motive I see is the fact that Rattrap is practically next in line to Starscream's position, and by framing him (it's pretty clear he's the primary suspect), it would make sense politically. Starscream's practically standing on the precipice of being ousted from office on a regular basis, and a scandal would just push his career right over the edge and into oblivion. I think that's who did it and why.

Good artwork, by the by, and hilarious Slug is hilarious.

"Buuuurrrrn"
Image

"I don't stink, but I am silent but deadly!" ~One of the many reasons I like Sideways.
User avatar
#Sideways#
Brainmaster
Posts: 1423
News Credits: 17
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 2:18 pm
Location: Planet X
Watch #Sideways# on YouTube
Strength: 5
Intelligence: 7
Speed: 9
Endurance: Infinity
Rank: ???
Courage: 7
Firepower: 7
Skill: 7

Re: Sneak Peek - IDW Transformers: Windblade #3

Postby Yweggo » Wed Jun 11, 2014 8:24 am

What's Blur worried about? He has Slug. Dinobot vs. Terrorcon, I'm putting my money on the Dinobot.
And before anyone says there's only one Dinobot and at least three Terrorcons other guys can keep them busy, right?

Also, I'm glad to see the Terrorcons back in IDW.
"All sentient beings are free to follow me. Refusal means destruction!"
I shall stand... The rest shall fall!
'Til all are gone

Optimus Prime, Autobot Emperor of Destruction
User avatar
Yweggo
Micromaster
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 7:23 pm

IDW Transformers: Windblade #3 Preview

Postby Va'al » Thu Jun 19, 2014 3:47 am

Motto: "Till All Are Pun!"
In further comics news from IDW Publishing, via Newsarama, we also get a full preview for the third in the four-issue mini-series of Transformers: Windblade - and it's time to fight for Metroplex, Cybertron and the Truth. Check the pages out below!

Transformers: Windblade #3 (of 4): Dawn of the Autobots
Mairghread Scott (w) • Sarah Stone (a & c)
THE FATE OF CYBERTRON! WINDBLADE learns more about the new face of CYBERTRON—and lesson number one is: never underestimate STARSCREAM! She’s trapped in a no-win situation—but what is the scheming DECEPTICON really after, and how far will he go to keep WINDBLADE out of his way?
FC • 32 pages • $3.99

Bullet points:
- WINDBLADE battles for the future of CYBERTRON!
- BLURR and the patrons of MACCADAM’S join the struggle against STARSCREAM!
- The biggest TRANSFORMERS character debut since DRIFT continues!
- Variant cover by Guido Guidi!


Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image
Do you have Transformers news for Seibertron.com? Contact us here!


Image
Avatar image by sabrigami
User avatar
Va'al
News Admin
Posts: 6728
News Credits: 65
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 11:00 am
Location: UK, Italy, The Netherlands
Buy from Va'al on eBay

PreviousNext

Return to Transformers Cartoons and Comics Forum

Transformers Podcast: Twincast / Podcast #101 - Talkin' 'Bout My Generations
Twincast / Podcast #101:
"Talkin' 'Bout My Generations"
MP3 · iTunes · RSS · View · Discuss · Ask
Posted: Sunday, September 21st, 2014