Atop the Fourth Wall LIVE reviews Marvel's Transformers #24

Discuss anything about the Transformers cartoons and comics! You can discuss anything from G1 to Cybertron as well as the comics from Marvel, Dreamwave, IDW and more!

Atop the Fourth Wall LIVE reviews Marvel's Transformers #24

Postby Sabrblade » Thu Jan 10, 2013 3:05 pm

Motto: "It's not done right if it's not done well."
Weapon: Saber Blade
Comic enthusiast/reviewer Lewis "Linkara" Lovhaug recently attended MAGFest 2013, at which he gave a live performance of his webshow, Atop the Fourth Wall, by reviewing the infamous "Transformers #24" issue from Marvel Comics.

Can be watched here - http://atopfourthwall.blogspot.com/2013/01/son-of-at4w-live.html

Or here - http://blip.tv/at4w/son-of-at4w-live-6496664

Or here - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dX4_fv8djCU
"When there's gold feathers, punch behind you!!"

Shadowman wrote:This is Sabrblade we're talking about. His ability to store trivial information about TV shows is downright superhuman.
Caelus wrote:My wife pointed out something interesting about the prehistoric Predacons. I said that everyone was complaining because transforming for them mostly consisted of them just standing up-right. She essentially said, 'So? That's what our ancestors did.'
User avatar
Sabrblade
God Of Transformers
Posts: 27664
News Credits: 207
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:22 pm
Location: Florida, the "Neglected" State
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 10
Speed: 7
Endurance: 6
Rank: 9
Courage: 8
Firepower: 10
Skill: 9

Re: Atop the Fourth Wall LIVE reviews Marvel's Transformers #24

Postby RK_Striker_JK_5 » Fri Jan 11, 2013 2:55 pm

Motto: ""I am a warrior. Let the battle be joined.""
Weapon: Electron Gun
This is the one where he killed himself over the video game, right?

...

God, no wonder I prefer the cartoon SO MUCH more than the comic. >:oP
Not caring about scale since 1984. Just like Hasbro.

My reviews of Transformers G1, one episode at a time. Stop by for a spell!
RK_Striker_JK_5
City Commander
Posts: 3905
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 6:48 pm
Location: New Hampshire
Strength: 4
Intelligence: 9
Speed: 6
Endurance: 10
Rank: 2
Courage: 9
Firepower: 4
Skill: 6

Re: Atop the Fourth Wall LIVE reviews Marvel's Transformers #24

Postby Duke of Luns » Fri Jan 11, 2013 3:09 pm

I was very pleasantly surprised to see this one reviewed, considering "Car Wash Of Doom" is scheduled in a few weeks. Sadly(?) I don't have and haven't read that one.

Hopefully someday Linkara reviews the Marvel G.I. Joe vs. Transformers, cause those comics are pretty terrible, partly due to poor timing continuity wise(new leaders coming into play), and a very odd mcguffin(a flying remote controlled nuclear reactor...during the Cold War.. :HEADHURTS: ), and a lot of other stuff.
Image
Duke of Luns
Faction Commander
Posts: 4412
News Credits: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2003 7:19 pm
Location: North Central West Virginia

Re: Atop the Fourth Wall LIVE reviews Marvel's Transformers #24

Postby Sabrblade » Fri Jan 11, 2013 8:49 pm

Motto: "It's not done right if it's not done well."
Weapon: Saber Blade
RK_Striker_JK_5 wrote:This is the one where he killed himself over the video game, right?

...

God, no wonder I prefer the cartoon SO MUCH more than the comic. >:oP
Yeah, you could tell when Budiansky wasn't doing so hot with issues like these.

Though, once Prime and Megatron were out of the picture, things got much better again... for a while. When it came to the Marvel G1 comics, their stories felt like a roller coaster of constantly going up and down and up and down in story quality. But once Furman took over, things remained a more steady level of quality with hardly any major low points.

And then there's a UK stuff which added a whole additional level of richness and awe to the comics that the U.S. stuff only seemed to grasp on occasion.

But I'll take Marvel Ratchet (deeply complex and developed character) over Sunbow Ratchet (typical doctor stock character) anyday. 8)
"When there's gold feathers, punch behind you!!"

Shadowman wrote:This is Sabrblade we're talking about. His ability to store trivial information about TV shows is downright superhuman.
Caelus wrote:My wife pointed out something interesting about the prehistoric Predacons. I said that everyone was complaining because transforming for them mostly consisted of them just standing up-right. She essentially said, 'So? That's what our ancestors did.'
User avatar
Sabrblade
God Of Transformers
Posts: 27664
News Credits: 207
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:22 pm
Location: Florida, the "Neglected" State
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 10
Speed: 7
Endurance: 6
Rank: 9
Courage: 8
Firepower: 10
Skill: 9


Return to Transformers Cartoons and Comics Forum

Ending Soon On eBay

Brand New Transformers Animated Voyager Clas DECEPTICON CYBERTRON MODE MEGATRON - Time Remaining: 7 days 12 hours 56 minutes 6 seconds
Medix the Doc-Bot TRANSFORMERS Rescue Bots 1st Series ambulance figure 2012 NEW - Time Remaining: 4 days 17 hours 10 minutes 3 seconds
Takara Tomy Transformers Unite Warriors UW08 Computron Action Figure - Time Remaining: 5 days 16 hours 22 minutes 17 seconds
Transformers Robots in Disguise Warrior Class Steeljaw Figure - Ready to Ship - Time Remaining: 4 days 12 hours 27 minutes 29 seconds
Transformers Adventure TAV-EX Black Knight Bumblebee,In stock! - Time Remaining: 6 days 4 hours 32 minutes 14 seconds
Hasbro Transformers IDW Titans Return Fortress Maximus Ver.New - Time Remaining: 6 days 15 hours 46 minutes 2 seconds
Transformers MUDFLAP STARSCREAM Starscream's Assualt New Walmart Exclusive 2010 - Time Remaining: 1 day 17 hours 6 minutes 21 seconds
New DX9 toys Transformers D06T TERROR Hot Rod Black MP version Rodimus In Stock - Time Remaining: 3 days 4 hours 15 minutes 2 seconds
Transformers Podcast: Twincast / Podcast #174 - Autobot Jedi Newtypes
Twincast / Podcast #174:
"Autobot Jedi Newtypes"
MP3 · iTunes · RSS · View · Discuss · Ask
Posted: Monday, May 8th, 2017
Website Security Test