Page 1 of 1

Optibotimus Reviews: Transformers Movie: Allspark Prop Replica

PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2012 11:02 am
by optibotimus
Again, hopefully this is in the right spot. This isn't exactly a toy, so i wasn't sure haha.

I picked this up at the Transformers: The Ride store at Universal and thought i'd share with you guys...


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6ZLBmqEszIY

Re: Optibotimus Reviews: Transformers Movie: Allspark Prop Replica

PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2012 11:38 pm
by El Duque
Seibertron.com member optibotimus has posted a review of the Universal Studios Transformers: The Ride 3D Exclusive Allspark prop replica. This item is available at the Universal Studios Hollywood Transformers: The Ride 3D gift shop. This 1:1 prop replica comes with a clear display base and will set you back $225.00


Re: Optibotimus Reviews: Transformers Movie: Allspark Prop Replica

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 3:51 am
by Autobot032
$225.00?!

Oh and that sound it produced when you knocked on it, it sounded an awful lot like wood.

Re: Optibotimus Reviews: Transformers Movie: Allspark Prop Replica

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 5:00 am
by Down_Shift
That was five minutes and nine seconds longer than it needed to be.

Otherwise good review.

Re: Optibotimus Reviews: Transformers Movie: Allspark Prop Replica

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 6:55 am
by GuyIncognito
When I read this, I had to check the date to make sure today wasn't April 1st.

Re: Optibotimus Reviews: Transformers Movie: Allspark Prop Replica

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 7:56 am
by New Omen
Thats a lot of money for a paper weight. It would be far cheaper to make your own. If I have the time I might just do that... :-?

Great review as always Obtibotimus :BOWDOWN:

Re: Optibotimus Reviews: Transformers Movie: Allspark Prop Replica

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 8:10 am
by Genocide G2.0
I know its not my money there spending and so on but come on that is the biggest waste of money i think i have ever seen in this transformers hobby the detail is a joke

would it have hurt to put another 100% effort into the detail and colour on this boring grey box for $225.

No thats not unicron either, i think its the same symbol on the box from hellraiser and when pressed pinheads gonna torture the people who bought it.

Re: Optibotimus Reviews: Transformers Movie: Allspark Prop Replica

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 8:43 am
by SlyTF1
I want this so bad. Too bad I'll probably never go anywhere near California. I wish they'd open the ride in the Florida Universal Studios.

Re: Optibotimus Reviews: Transformers Movie: Allspark Prop Replica

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 9:13 am
by omega666
$225 for a fancy brick? Um, no.

Re: Optibotimus Reviews: Transformers Movie: Allspark Prop Replica

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 12:51 pm
by Autobot032
omega666 wrote:$225 for a fancy brick? Um, no.


But, but....it's a FANCY brick! I mean, be reasonable! Who doesn't want to cough up a car payment for a painted piece of whatever that is, that will just sit there and be an expensive dust collector?

Sheesh, it's almost like you have priorities or something.

Re: Optibotimus Reviews: Transformers Movie: Allspark Prop Replica

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 1:29 pm
by optibotimus
Autobot032 wrote:
omega666 wrote:$225 for a fancy brick? Um, no.


But, but....it's a FANCY brick! I mean, be reasonable! Who doesn't want to cough up a car payment for a painted piece of whatever that is, that will just sit there and be an expensive dust collector?

Sheesh, it's almost like you have priorities or something.


Yes, priorities are very important. Which is why i paid my two car payments, mortgage and every other bill of mine...the proceeded to see how much i had left to play with and i was able to afford this without any problems. Besides, aren't most things we buy (IE toys) just expensive dust collectors?

Re: Optibotimus Reviews: Transformers Movie: Allspark Prop Replica

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 4:42 pm
by Autobot032
optibotimus wrote:
Autobot032 wrote:
omega666 wrote:$225 for a fancy brick? Um, no.


But, but....it's a FANCY brick! I mean, be reasonable! Who doesn't want to cough up a car payment for a painted piece of whatever that is, that will just sit there and be an expensive dust collector?

Sheesh, it's almost like you have priorities or something.


Yes, priorities are very important. Which is why i paid my two car payments, mortgage and every other bill of mine...the proceeded to see how much i had left to play with and i was able to afford this without any problems. Besides, aren't most things we buy (IE toys) just expensive dust collectors?


Okay, now wait just a minute. My comments were not aimed towards you, or anyone else. There was no one specific in mind. It was a generalized comment, carrying on from another poster's comment. Nothing more, nothing less.

This isn't YouTube and I'm not some commenter giving you a hard time. Don't react as such.

Re: Optibotimus Reviews: Transformers Movie: Allspark Prop Replica

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 5:03 pm
by optibotimus
Autobot032 wrote:
optibotimus wrote:
Autobot032 wrote:
omega666 wrote:$225 for a fancy brick? Um, no.


But, but....it's a FANCY brick! I mean, be reasonable! Who doesn't want to cough up a car payment for a painted piece of whatever that is, that will just sit there and be an expensive dust collector?

Sheesh, it's almost like you have priorities or something.


Yes, priorities are very important. Which is why i paid my two car payments, mortgage and every other bill of mine...the proceeded to see how much i had left to play with and i was able to afford this without any problems. Besides, aren't most things we buy (IE toys) just expensive dust collectors?


Okay, now wait just a minute. My comments were not aimed towards you, or anyone else. There was no one specific in mind. It was a generalized comment, carrying on from another poster's comment. Nothing more, nothing less.

This isn't YouTube and I'm not some commenter giving you a hard time. Don't react as such.


I was simply addressing what you said about priorities. I'm not saying that you were directing it at me...however, i am the one who bought it and you did go on to talk about how it's basically a waste of money and an "expensive dust collector".

Re: Optibotimus Reviews: Transformers Movie: Allspark Prop Replica

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 5:11 pm
by Autobot032
optibotimus wrote:
Autobot032 wrote:
optibotimus wrote:
Autobot032 wrote:
omega666 wrote:$225 for a fancy brick? Um, no.


But, but....it's a FANCY brick! I mean, be reasonable! Who doesn't want to cough up a car payment for a painted piece of whatever that is, that will just sit there and be an expensive dust collector?

Sheesh, it's almost like you have priorities or something.


Yes, priorities are very important. Which is why i paid my two car payments, mortgage and every other bill of mine...the proceeded to see how much i had left to play with and i was able to afford this without any problems. Besides, aren't most things we buy (IE toys) just expensive dust collectors?


Okay, now wait just a minute. My comments were not aimed towards you, or anyone else. There was no one specific in mind. It was a generalized comment, carrying on from another poster's comment. Nothing more, nothing less.

This isn't YouTube and I'm not some commenter giving you a hard time. Don't react as such.


I was simply addressing what you said about priorities. I'm not saying that you were directing it at me...however, i am the one who bought it and you did go on to talk about how it's basically a waste of money and an "expensive dust collector".


Yes, you did buy it. Still didn't aim my comments towards you.
Yes, I do find it a waste of money, that's my opinion. (You are entitled to enjoy it as much as you wish.)
Yes, I do think of as an expensive dust collector. That's my opinion, again. (Again, you can enjoy it as much as you wish.)

You posted the video in a public forum, posted it for all the world to see on YouTube, and people are going to comment. All comments were directed at the item itself, not you or anyone else. If you don't like people commenting on the item, then you shouldn't make it public.

I'm sorry, but if this is how you handle yourself when someone comments on a subject you bring up, then it's time to take a step back and reevaluate some things. No one commented on you, your camera work, the video, nothing of what you did. The item is not a piece of you. Comments on an inanimate object shouldn't affect you so personally.

Re: Optibotimus Reviews: Transformers Movie: Allspark Prop Replica

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 7:53 pm
by optibotimus
I've been doing this a long time haha i can handle comments. Also, you have to see my point of view. Your opinion reflex against me...especially how you worded it. Many times people have said that something isn't worth the price, that i've bought. That's fine. But you decided to go into detail with statements like "who doesn't wanna cough up a car payment" or furthering your opinion by talking about how you think it's an "expensive dust collector". All of which can easily be misconstrued into you saying basically that any person that buys this "expensive dust collector" clearly doesn't have his priorities straight by using the money for a car payment to buy this. You're belittling someone. That would be anyone that buys this basically, which i obviously did. Have your opinions, that's great. I have mine. Comments on inanimate objects don't bother me...feel free to not like it for your own personal reasons. But when you personalize it, as you did, it's going to be taken a bit more personally.

Re: Optibotimus Reviews: Transformers Movie: Allspark Prop Replica

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 8:06 pm
by Mindmaster
Was interested... until I saw the price tag. This is what I thought;

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eat38bSlVjc

(go to 14 seconds in the clip for my reaction)

Re: Optibotimus Reviews: Transformers Movie: Allspark Prop Replica

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 9:24 pm
by T-Macksimus
I think both of you guys ran into a bit of a context issue which is always a bitch when dealing with text as opposed to spoken word. I read sarcasm in the initial comment so I don't see at all where it had to go downhill but then again, I'm a smart-ass and I just assume something is intended in a lighter manner anyways. Not that anyone asked for my 2 cents worth but it is public and I'm giving it regardless.

Moving right along...

$225.00...steep but then again so is everything else at a theme park so I can't say as I'm at all surprised. There's finance officers standing by outside the hot-dog booths so that should tell you something right there.

The 4 plus pounds of weight? If I had to guess you probably have a metal overlay on top of a dense resin interior. That would account for the weight and solid sound. I'd make the gift shop my last stop before leaving because I'm not packing that freaking thing all over the park or leaving it unattended to go on other rides.

The scale...6 1/2 inches seems a bit on the small side for being 1:1. With my span from thumb to pinky I could palm that Allspark and it certainly didn't look like I could do that with the one in the movie either when Sam ran with it or when he held it up with both hands to fry Megatrons cookie. This would be the deal breaker for me. If it's not guaranteed the same size then, for the price involved, I think I'd have to pass.
The color issue doesn't bother me but that's because I'm a custom finisher and I could make a cardboard box match the colors of the Allspark so I'm not scared to apply a little color to an expensive item to add "authenticity".

Overall, very cool item. If I make it to the theme park I'll budget accordingly (well in advance) so I can snag it. Thanks for the review and for having the guts to invest so much in that product. That was a either a serious leap of faith or true dedication to the hobby.

Re: Optibotimus Reviews: Transformers Movie: Allspark Prop Replica

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 6:30 am
by Cyber Bishop
Ok it looks like autobot32 said a blanket statement and optibotimus took it personal. This is why when we post on the internet that we need to read, re-read, re-re-read and so on posts before we put our emotions into a reply.

If A32 feels that way about this then that is his opinion which he is entitled to. He does not have to agree as neither does optibotimus and just because one does not agree with the other does not mean that it was a personal attack.

Re: Optibotimus Reviews: Transformers Movie: Allspark Prop Replica

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 1:43 pm
by optibotimus
T-Macksimus wrote:
Overall, very cool item. If I make it to the theme park I'll budget accordingly (well in advance) so I can snag it. Thanks for the review and for having the guts to invest so much in that product. That was a either a serious leap of faith or true dedication to the hobby.


I instantly knew i wanted it when i first saw images of it surface. Me and several friends of mine had already planned to go there for the "annual passholders only" event so i figured i'd check it out in person. When i went there, i saw it and loved how it looked and instantly got it without hesitation. I still don't regret buying it. Your statement about waiting till the end, one cool thing about Universal is you can buy stuff and have it available at the front of the park to pick up later in that day. That's what i did with this. It doesn't cost extra to do and is a wonderful option to have instead of the alternatives. One being carrying it around all day or two rent one of the lockers and put it in, which can add up in terms of cost, rather quickly

Re: Optibotimus Reviews: Transformers Movie: Allspark Prop Replica

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 1:49 pm
by optibotimus
Cyber Bishop wrote:Ok it looks like autobot32 said a blanket statement and optibotimus took it personal. This is why when we post on the internet that we need to read, re-read, re-re-read and so on posts before we put our emotions into a reply.

If A32 feels that way about this then that is his opinion which he is entitled to. He does not have to agree as neither does optibotimus and just because one does not agree with the other does not mean that it was a personal attack.


I really don't look at it as a personal attack though. If i did, i'd be a lot more upset about it lol. And while i do agree that it was a blanket statement...in saying it the way he did...i honestly can't see how anyone wouldn't have figured it for a statement towards someone who did spend money on buying this item. It was assumptive to say and seeing how i was the one that did spend money on the item...it's easy to see how it could be taken wrongly. That being said, my initial response didn't have much emotion in it, which is why i also don't see why everyone else got so bent out of shape and started saying i was taking it so personally lol. I simply retorted the statement with facts that applied to my situation and why i did buy the item. The only bit of emotion i put into my initial reply was the statement about a dust collector. Something that i'm sure a lot of us deal with when the general public sees that we collect toys.

Re: Optibotimus Reviews: Transformers Movie: Allspark Prop Replica

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 3:26 pm
by Kylash327
Wow this is such a lazy replica, especially for the price. Here is one I painted myself and was made by a friend prop maker he carving by hand! If a fan can make this look this good, no reason they cant make an official replica as good. Its not only missing the paint detail, but the sculpted details are just so off the mark.

Re: Optibotimus Reviews: Transformers Movie: Allspark Prop Replica

PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2012 3:28 am
by bellaedward
thats good...