Optibotimus Reviews: Transformers Prime Beast Hunters RATCHET

Post your reviews of Transformers toys in this topic. Please keep each topic dedicated to one specific toy (i.e. DOTM Deluxe Class Optimus Prime"). Videos can be posted in a topic as well as text reviews and images.

Re: Optibotimus Reviews: Transformers Prime Beast Hunters RATCHET

Postby optibotimus » Fri Apr 05, 2013 11:06 am

Doubledealer93 wrote:gonna wait to see a review of this wave from emgo or peaugh.


Then why even bother commenting?
check out my video reviews @ http://www.youtube.com/optibotimus
optibotimus
Combiner
Posts: 472
News Credits: 47
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 3:35 pm

Re: Optibotimus Reviews: Transformers Prime Beast Hunters RATCHET

Postby optibotimus » Fri Apr 05, 2013 11:14 am

Flux Convoy wrote:You are more than welcome to your opinion but in no way do those colors resemble any version of Dinobot, Transmetal or otherwise. I'd go one further and say that body in no way resembles the character either. There are very minor nods in the head and if you want to force an homage in there, the chest/spark crystal. Dinobot never had a gun weapon in his tail blade weapon either. I'm sorry, as a huge fan of Beast Wars and Prime, this figure looks like a terrible version of a great character. That character is Ratchet, nothing more.
:BOT:


I'm sorry you didn't seem to enjoy the look at this great figure. As such a huge fan of Beast Wars myself, i couldn't help but notice the subtle things on him that were, at least to me, obvious homages. I guess i should have been more specific with what i was saying. But the majority of the colors i saw as a similar reference to the TM2 version of Dinobot like what you see here:

Image

The head i think is more than just a "minor nod" and the chest is a nice homage i think too. The weapon, again, i should have been more specific, it's similar to toys and not the actual character by having the gun on the inside.
check out my video reviews @ http://www.youtube.com/optibotimus
optibotimus
Combiner
Posts: 472
News Credits: 47
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 3:35 pm

Re: Optibotimus Reviews: Transformers Prime Beast Hunters RATCHET

Postby craggy » Fri Apr 05, 2013 12:01 pm

I think it's very reminiscent of Dinobot. The head especially, as well as the weapon. The colours evoke both the TM2 Dinobot as well as the original, with the orange, and the green eye(s).

I'm still going to try to get him and repurpose as a Junkion medic character. I'm sure there's probably a TF called Salvage already, but that's what I'll be calling this guy.
assembling a Neo-G1/TF:TM cast. Please PM if you have (or know of) the following at a reasonable price: Classics or Henkei Astrotrain, Sunstreaker, Sideswipe, or 3rd Party iGear Ratchet and Ironhide.
Also looking for Universe Repugnus and Overbite, Frostbite and Longhorn and any Webdiver toys.
craggy
Faction Commander
Posts: 4787
News Credits: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 2:07 pm

Re: Optibotimus Reviews: Transformers Prime Beast Hunters RATCHET

Postby Sodan-1 » Fri Apr 05, 2013 5:23 pm

Motto: "Motive is a universal weakness."
I simply can't get behind the aesthetics of this figure. Think it's to do with the natural, almost mutated look of his beast armour. I don't know what I mean. It just doesn't jive with me.
Sodan-1
Gestalt
Posts: 2296
News Credits: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 11:35 am
Location: Right where you'd least expect me to be.

Re: Optibotimus Reviews: Transformers Prime Beast Hunters RATCHET

Postby Mindmaster » Fri Apr 05, 2013 6:25 pm

Motto: "For I have dipped my hands in muddied waters, and, withdrawing them, find 'tis better to be a commander than a common man!"
Weapon: Dark Saber Sword
Sodan-1 wrote:I simply can't get behind the aesthetics of this figure. Think it's to do with the natural, almost mutated look of his beast armour. I don't know what I mean. It just doesn't jive with me.


Agreed, I just don't like the overall aesthetic of the line, with the even-more unrealistic beast armor. Shockwave, Smokescreen, Optimus (despite the look, he is closer to his Generation One counterpart than his pre-Beast Hunters form), and the Legion-class Terrorcons (still hoping they make Deluxe-versions that combine as well) are the only winners.
Image

Va'al wrote:I keep track of everyone. Backwards.
There are atandarfs to maintain.

LOST Cybertronian wrote:Hey, If Mindmaster survived then you should do just fine.
User avatar
Mindmaster
Guardian Of Seibertron
Posts: 6202
News Credits: 52
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 4:00 pm
Location: Wilmington, NC
Watch Mindmaster on YouTube
Alt Mode: Cybertronian Jet
Strength: 8
Intelligence: Infinity
Speed: 8
Endurance: 7
Rank: 10
Courage: 8
Firepower: 6
Skill: 9

Re: Optibotimus Reviews: Transformers Prime Beast Hunters RATCHET

Postby MGrotusque » Fri Apr 05, 2013 11:15 pm

It looks great to me. I think Ratchet is one of the best molds of the entire line and is the best Autobot in the Beast Hunter line.
I almost think Junkion when i look at it.
Image
MGrotusque
Gestalt
Posts: 2531
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 7:40 pm
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Strength: 9
Intelligence: 7
Speed: 5
Endurance: 7
Rank: 8
Courage: 8
Firepower: 9
Skill: 8

Re: Optibotimus Reviews: Transformers Prime Beast Hunters RATCHET

Postby Fanboy » Sat Apr 06, 2013 12:55 am

well its a easy pass for me
Fanboy

Re: Optibotimus Reviews: Transformers Prime Beast Hunters RATCHET

Postby Sodan-1 » Mon Apr 08, 2013 11:39 am

Motto: "Motive is a universal weakness."
Mindmaster wrote:
Sodan-1 wrote:I simply can't get behind the aesthetics of this figure. Think it's to do with the natural, almost mutated look of his beast armour. I don't know what I mean. It just doesn't jive with me.


Agreed, I just don't like the overall aesthetic of the line, with the even-more unrealistic beast armor. Shockwave, Smokescreen, Optimus (despite the look, he is closer to his Generation One counterpart than his pre-Beast Hunters form), and the Legion-class Terrorcons (still hoping they make Deluxe-versions that combine as well) are the only winners.

I concur. What's your opinion on Predaking?
Sodan-1
Gestalt
Posts: 2296
News Credits: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 11:35 am
Location: Right where you'd least expect me to be.

Re: Optibotimus Reviews: Transformers Prime Beast Hunters RATCHET

Postby Mindmaster » Mon Apr 08, 2013 11:44 am

Motto: "For I have dipped my hands in muddied waters, and, withdrawing them, find 'tis better to be a commander than a common man!"
Weapon: Dark Saber Sword
Sodan-1 wrote:
Mindmaster wrote:
Sodan-1 wrote:I simply can't get behind the aesthetics of this figure. Think it's to do with the natural, almost mutated look of his beast armour. I don't know what I mean. It just doesn't jive with me.


Agreed, I just don't like the overall aesthetic of the line, with the even-more unrealistic beast armor. Shockwave, Smokescreen, Optimus (despite the look, he is closer to his Generation One counterpart than his pre-Beast Hunters form), and the Legion-class Terrorcons (still hoping they make Deluxe-versions that combine as well) are the only winners.

I concur. What's your opinion on Predaking?


Don't care for him. I like that he's (somewhat) of an homage to Generation One Predaking, but the fact he's a seperate entity rather than the collective minds of five characters kinda turns me off.
Image

Va'al wrote:I keep track of everyone. Backwards.
There are atandarfs to maintain.

LOST Cybertronian wrote:Hey, If Mindmaster survived then you should do just fine.
User avatar
Mindmaster
Guardian Of Seibertron
Posts: 6202
News Credits: 52
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 4:00 pm
Location: Wilmington, NC
Watch Mindmaster on YouTube
Alt Mode: Cybertronian Jet
Strength: 8
Intelligence: Infinity
Speed: 8
Endurance: 7
Rank: 10
Courage: 8
Firepower: 6
Skill: 9


Return to Transformers Toy Reviews

Ending Soon On eBay

Transformers OPTIMUS PRIME Year of the Horse Platinum Edition MP-10 Masterpiece - Time Remaining: 1 day 8 hours 21 minutes 42 seconds
NIB Transformers 4 Platinum Edition OPTIMUS PRIME w/ Trailer & Sideswipe Figure - Time Remaining: 1 day 8 hours 21 minutes 43 seconds
SNAPTRAP Transformers G1 complete 1988 vtg Hasbro Decepticon Seacons Piranacon - Time Remaining: 3 days 9 hours 34 minutes 53 seconds
Transformers Generations Leader Class Seekers Starscream Thundercracker Skywarp - Time Remaining: 2 days 5 hours 24 minutes 11 seconds
Hasbro Transformers Generations Decepticon Thundercracker Figure MOC - Time Remaining: 2 days 6 hours 46 minutes 32 seconds
Hasbro Transformers Generations Decepticon Thundercracker Figure NEW MOC - Time Remaining: 2 days 6 hours 46 minutes 32 seconds
NIB Transformers: Robots in Disguise-Power Surge-Optimus Prime and Aerobolt! - Time Remaining: 1 day 9 hours 52 minutes 41 seconds
OVER-RUN RUNABOUT Transformers Timelines Collectors Club TFCC 2012 Figure MIB - Time Remaining: 3 days 7 hours 53 minutes 28 seconds
Transformers Podcast: Twincast / Podcast #166 - Toy Fair 2017
Twincast / Podcast #166:
"Toy Fair 2017"
MP3 · iTunes · RSS · View · Discuss · Ask
Posted: Tuesday, February 21st, 2017
Website Security Test