Preview and Review of Transformers ongoing #13!

Discuss anything about the Transformers cartoons and comics! You can discuss anything from G1 to Cybertron as well as the comics from Marvel, Dreamwave, IDW and more!

Re: Preview and Review of Transformers ongoing #13!

Postby Flashwave » Fri Nov 12, 2010 1:03 pm

Motto: "Our society's downfall will not be this war. The war IS our society. That which will get us will be the little things. Some humanoid race, some tossed cannon, the little things that no one looks out for. THAT is for what we must be vigilant."
Weapon: Twin Shoulder-Mounted Rocket Launchers
As one who hasn't been able to get back into the comics, I really have littel to go on, but I can say I throughyl enjoyed the review.

The thing I liked about some of the earlier comics was the idea of Prime being somewhat helpless outside of The War, having been driven into it. I think it was brought up in StormBringer, and other comic lines have done it too. (TCC's Megatron/Ratchet prose).

This, ain't seeming to be it.

Likewise, I can see Prime having moments of doubt on popularted planets. That would be his conscious.( I know that's misspelled, shoot me. Or better yet, shoot him.)It might also be bothering him on the fact that he lost the Autobots' sacred Disco Ball.

This, ain't seeming to be it.

The other thing I liked is this recent take on TFs/Humans that we humans aren't all suckers and will actually try and fight back. I actually prefer that to the old "Look A GIANT ALIEN ROBOT! HOO-RAY!" *Squash* approach they seem to have had in the earlier runs. It's an entirely more accurate approach. And it doesn't bother me that cons had signed up with foreign powers of Weapons of Mass Destruction. They want Power, cons want destruction, which they can then pillage, they all win.
---------------
Far as this sissue goes. Not having seen how he got Razorclaw to swallow exactly, but a surpise shove and close of the mouth could create an automatic reflex. It;s been overdone in Horror movies, why not?

Shooting the Matrix: Actually makes perfect sense. I would've expected it to reflect back, but having it backfeed would work too, in order to protect itself and disperse excess energy. Why shoot Starscream? Because He's likely be expecting you to shoot him. So go for the open target. The Magic 8 Disco Ball. I find it hard to believe it was interfaced WITH Starscream though, he just got to be the lightning rod.

Why is Roddy WEARING the Matrix? Doesn't he have one of those nifty little pockets in his chest? Starscream I get. but Roddy?
Image
User avatar
Flashwave
Gestalt
Posts: 2901
News Credits: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2005 2:42 pm
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 9
Speed: 9
Endurance: 6
Rank: 9
Courage: 9
Firepower: 7
Skill: 9

Re: Preview and Review of Transformers ongoing #13!

Postby Chaoslock » Fri Nov 12, 2010 3:35 pm

Weapon: Reciprocating Laser Cannon
I've read the issue, and:

Well, Roches art is awesome, and it may be the only reason for anybody to buy this comic. Although, the new Megatron is a bit too much Animated-ish in his style.

As for the writing: it is a joke.
The decepticons seem to be a bunch of clowns, starting with Acidstorms "What should we do, what should we do?" panicking, and if the cerebro-shells should work on anybodys command, shouldn't have Starscream been able to stop Razorclaw?
Also, Costa clearly didn't see the Mythbusters episode where if was busted that guns don't cause people to fly backwards, but Rodi becomes a comet just after one shot from Megatron (with Megatron clearly shooting through him(and shooting a hole in the wall that was smaller than Rodimus; how did he fly out like that, anyway?)) - it would have been clear if Megatron actually would have thrown him out of the window like trash, but this was just ridiculous.
Another issue: it looks like fridges are made for easy opening from the inside in Cybertron - you know, you have a meter-long wall made out of fantasium, that nobody can open from the outside, but just a kick from inside can easily open it.

I see there was a base story in this issue that could have been good in a capable writers hands. Hot Rod busting in the Decepticon base, stealing the matrix, but getting killed after it - simple idea, and could have worked, but Costa is an impotent writer. Talentless characterization (decepticons are on the 80s GIJoe cartoon villains' level) and stolen gags...

So, overall: 3/10 (because of the art; 1/10 on the story)
GENERATION 1: THE EPIC ORIGINS! -Hasbro

"Autobots, Buster Witwicky killed Primus. Kill on sight!" - broadcast from Urban Dead

Image

Psychout wrote:Never, ever take the internet seriously, especially not when its on a website dedicated to giant cartoon robots from outer space.
User avatar
Chaoslock
Faction Commander
Posts: 4294
News Credits: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 2:31 am
Strength: Infinity
Intelligence: Infinity
Speed: 7
Endurance: 8
Rank: 6
Courage: 9
Firepower: 7
Skill: 7

Re: Preview and Review of Transformers ongoing #13!

Postby Burn » Fri Nov 12, 2010 6:51 pm

Motto: "Freedom is the right of all sentient beings to randomly click things in the Admin Panel to see what it breaks."
What a load of rubbish.

The comic that is, not the review, didn't bother reading it (no offense DM).

Gay slash fanfic? Not going there, but I do feel this was written by a Rodimus/Megatron fangirl.

Overall i've been able to tolerate the ongoing story. But this issue? ugh ... Rodimus ... this issue made me dislike him even more.

But that's fine, I can handle that. I have other comics to read ...

... then Megatron showed up and made me realise what it is I really dislike about IDW's TF's.

The belief that they can take all the different aesthetics (G1, Movie, Animated ... and Drift's Gundam-esque garbage) and make it work.

It doesn't. I could overlook Bumblebee's "upgrade", but Megatron? The bastard child of Animated and WFC Megatron? ugh ... doesn't work, not when you put him next to other more "traditional" G1 figures.

Let's get some consistency to the designs IDW.
Image
"Three blokes doing random crap and taking the mickey out of anyone and everyone"

carytheone wrote:It's kangaroo pinching time :-x
Burn
Forum Admin
Posts: 26973
News Credits: 202
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 2:37 am

Re: Preview and Review of Transformers ongoing #13!

Postby Bobton03 » Sat Nov 13, 2010 9:50 pm

Motto: "When Goldbug is to become a Prime, then his name shall be "Aurum Prime.""
Weapon: Particle Beam Rifle
I just read Issue #13 and here are my thoughts:

1.) The artwork, except for that depicted on the incentive cover, was decent in my opinion and shows an improvement over previous issues.

2.) For all of the pre-release hype surrounding "Rodimus in space", Hot Rod's/Rodimus' death seemed to be overly premature and was probably fueled by the perceived need to showcase the power of the "new" Megatron, as well as the upcoming zombie cross-over event. In order for there to be zombies, there must first be some deaths -- if the zombies are to arise from with the TF story-arc itself, then IDW just gave themselves their first zombie-candidate in the form of Hot Rod/Rodimus.

3.) Where was the fight between Rodimus and Starscream that was depicted on Cover A for the issue?
Bobton03
Minibot
Posts: 101
Joined: Tue May 25, 2010 4:56 am

Re: Preview and Review of Transformers ongoing #13!

Postby Dead Metal » Sun Nov 14, 2010 11:01 am

Motto: "Don't do drugs, beer's cheaper anyway!"
Finally got to post a corrected version.
Image


Jeep! wrote:Why do I imagine Dead Metal sounding exactly like Arnie?
Intah-wib-buls?

Blurrz wrote:10/10

Leave it to Dead Metal to have the word 'Pronz' in his signature.
User avatar
Dead Metal
God Of Transformers
Posts: 13840
News Credits: 767
Joined: Tue May 01, 2007 5:18 am

Re: Preview and Review of Transformers ongoing #13!

Postby im ruined » Tue Nov 16, 2010 12:54 pm

Motto: "Once again, our bodies SLUGGISH with GOAT MEAT"
Weapon: Concussion Pistol
loves some nick roche
Image I DREW THIS
im ruined
Minibot
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 12:05 am
Location: Houston, Tx.
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 7
Speed: 3
Endurance: 2
Rank: 4
Courage: 8
Firepower: 9
Skill: 8

Re: Preview and Review of Transformers ongoing #13!

Postby Sunstar » Wed Jul 18, 2018 9:11 am

Motto: "All hail Lord Starscream"
Weapon: Null-Ray Rifle
I know this is a super old zombie thread, but I am excited to say I picked up the original artwork for the page that contains the below image from Nick Roche. I bought it the day after the robbery, as well as donated some money to the fund-raising table that was in his name. The question is, anyone got a spare copy of this book? Preferably two as I may get the page removed and framed with the art.

Image

Image
Image
"We, Decepticons, are a swell bunch. And boy do we have fun." - Starscream
"You're one of...those, Never understood why any self respecting Decepticon would choose auto-mobile as his vehicle mode when he could have flight." - Starscream
"For a guy hearing voices of the dead, you've got a pretty insensitive view of Mental Health" - Bumblebee
Starscream's Shrine ~ Fan Art ~Collection~Sunstar's Discord - join today!
User avatar
Sunstar
Gestalt
Posts: 2241
News Credits: 38
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 7:40 pm
Location: Cybertron
Alt Mode: Tetra Jet
Strength: 8
Speed: 10+
Endurance: 9
Rank: 10
Courage: 7
Skill: 9

Previous

Return to Transformers Cartoons and Comics Forum

Featured Products on Amazon.com

Buy "Transformers Attacker 15 Kramer Action Figure" on AMAZON
Buy "Transformers MPM04 Optimus Prime" on AMAZON
Buy "Transformers: Generations Power of the Primes Voyager Class Starscream" on AMAZON
Buy "Transformers Studio Series 11 Deluxe Class Movie 4 Lockdown" on AMAZON
Buy "Transformers Deluxe 20 Mercenary Action Figure" on AMAZON
Buy "Transformers Generations Titans Return Deluxe Twin Twist and Flameout" on AMAZON
Buy "Transformers Generations Power of The Primes Deluxe Class Sinnertwin" on AMAZON
Buy "Transformers: Generations Power of The Primes Megatronus Prime Master" on AMAZON
Buy "Transformers Generations Voyager Class Roadbuster Figure" on AMAZON
Buy "Transformers: Robots in Disguise Combiner Force Team Combiner Galvatronus" on AMAZON
Buy "Transformers: Generations Power of The Primes Deluxe Class Dreadwind" on AMAZON
Buy "Transformers Generations Titans Return Voyager Class Optimus Prime and Diac" on AMAZON
Transformers Podcast: Twincast / Podcast #213 - How to Say Expensive and Mean It
Twincast / Podcast #213:
"How to Say Expensive and Mean It"
MP3 · iTunes · RSS · View · Discuss · Ask
Posted: Sunday, December 9th, 2018

New Items on eBay

Buy "LOT 3 DATA DISCS Frenzy RATBAT Sunder TRANSFORMERS GENERATIONS Fall of Cybertron" on EBAY
Buy "Transformers Fall of Cybertron REWIND, SUNDER, EJECT, RAMHORN  NEW SEALED" on EBAY
Buy "Transformers: Robots in Disguise Clash of the Transformers Starscream Exclusive" on EBAY
Buy "Transformers G2 Motormouth Generation 2 GO-BOTS SEALED ON CARD MOC MOSC" on EBAY
Buy "NEW, TRANSFORMERS DANCING AUTOBOT SQWEEKS, CONNECT YOUR MP3 PLAYER" on EBAY
Buy "Transformers G2 Mirage Generation 2 GO-BOTS SEALED ON CARD MOC MOSC" on EBAY
Buy "Transformers War For Cybertron Siege Voyager DECEPTICON MEGATRON G1 IN STOCK USA" on EBAY
Buy "Transformers War For Cybertron Siege Voyager AUTOBOT OPTIMUS PRIME G1 IN STOCK" on EBAY