Preview and Review of Transformers ongoing #13!

Discuss anything about the Transformers cartoons and comics! You can discuss anything from G1 to Cybertron as well as the comics from Marvel, Dreamwave, IDW and more!

Preview and Review of Transformers ongoing #13!

Postby Dead Metal » Mon Nov 08, 2010 11:48 pm

Motto: "Don't do drugs, beer's cheaper anyway!"
IDW has provided us a five page preview for the ongoing Transformers #13 comic book. Check out the official description and images from the preview below. Join our discussion about this book by clicking here.

IDW wrote:TRANSFORMERS #13
Written by Mike Costa with art by Nick Roche.
Covers by Don Figueroa and Nick Roche

RODIMUS might be impulsive, but he’s not stupid. The last anyone saw of him, he was rocketing off Earth in disgrace and a stolen ship. In this issue we finally see where he went, what his plan was, and which long-absent DECEPTICONS he came up against. Mike Costa and fan-favorite artist Nick Roche deliver a stand-alone issue that sets up the entire second year of the hit ongoing series.

*2 regular covers will be shipped in a 1-to-1 ratio.
FC • 32 pages • $3.99



Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Stay tuned for our review of this very issue!
Image


Jeep! wrote:Why do I imagine Dead Metal sounding exactly like Arnie?
Intah-wib-buls?

Blurrz wrote:10/10

Leave it to Dead Metal to have the word 'Pronz' in his signature.
User avatar
Dead Metal
God Of Transformers
Posts: 13840
News Credits: 767
Joined: Tue May 01, 2007 5:18 am

Re: 5 page pre-view of Transformers ongoing #13!

Postby JRFitzpatrick7 » Tue Nov 09, 2010 12:34 am

Motto: "It is an unfortunate fact that we can secure peace only by preparing for war."
Weapon: Reciprocating Laser Cannon
i love this! i LOVE masterpiece Acid Storm! roche's art is incredible, i love that ongoing has several artists from TF comics past and present trying their hand at our heroes and villains.

this looks like a great story and so much fun!

MP ACID STORM!!

TAKARA!! MAKE ME SOME RAINMAKERS!!! AND SUNSTORM TO CHASE AWAY THE CLOUDS!
Seibertron wrote:


Seibertron.com is a Transformers fansite. It is not a fansite about 3rd party products. I do NOT care for 3rd party products. I am TIRED of seeing the stuff here on this site. That's all it comes down to.


Image
JRFitzpatrick7
Headmaster Jr
Posts: 552
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 11:35 pm
Buy from JRFitzpatrick7 on eBay
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 7
Speed: 7
Endurance: 7
Rank: 7
Courage: 7
Firepower: 7
Skill: 7

Re: 5 page pre-view of Transformers ongoing #13!

Postby Vicalliose » Tue Nov 09, 2010 1:00 am

Motto: "Focus on one thing at a time? Are you crazy!? WHO DO YOU THINK I AM!!!"
Weapon: Semi-Automatic Sonic Boomer Gun
"a safe made of meter-thick osmium alloy that nothing short of Omega Supreme could penetrate."
Oh, I see where this is going.
Image
"Government, even in it's best state, is but a necessary evil; in it's worst state, an intolerable one." -Thomas Paine
User avatar
Vicalliose
Targetmaster
Posts: 694
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 4:20 pm
Location: You already know that.
Watch Vicalliose on YouTube
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 6
Speed: 4
Endurance: 3
Rank: 1
Courage: 3
Firepower: 10+
Skill: 1

Re: 5 page pre-view of Transformers ongoing #13!

Postby Dead Metal » Tue Nov 09, 2010 2:08 am

Motto: "Don't do drugs, beer's cheaper anyway!"
Vicalliose wrote:"a safe made of meter-thick osmium alloy that nothing short of Omega Supreme could penetrate."
Oh, I see where this is going.

You are correct!
Image


Jeep! wrote:Why do I imagine Dead Metal sounding exactly like Arnie?
Intah-wib-buls?

Blurrz wrote:10/10

Leave it to Dead Metal to have the word 'Pronz' in his signature.
User avatar
Dead Metal
God Of Transformers
Posts: 13840
News Credits: 767
Joined: Tue May 01, 2007 5:18 am

Re: 5 page preview of Transformers ongoing #13!

Postby Oilspill » Tue Nov 09, 2010 4:00 am

Don, I used to love your work, but that Kup design is possibly the ugliest transformer design I've seen. No offense, but it just doesn't appeal at all.

Nick's art looks great. Glad he gets to draw his favourite character again.
Image
Oilspill
Transmetal Warrior
Posts: 807
News Credits: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 11:29 pm
Location: Western Australia

Re: 5 page preview of Transformers ongoing #13!

Postby GEEWUN » Tue Nov 09, 2010 5:59 am

Motto: ""I'm not Psychotic... just Crazy!!!""
Weapon: Double-Barreled, Armor-Piercing Particle Beam Cann...
Oilspill wrote:Don, I used to love your work, but that Kup design is possibly the ugliest transformer design I've seen. No offense, but it just doesn't appeal at all.

Nick's art looks great. Glad he gets to draw his favourite character again.



That Kup wouoldn't be so ugly and more like his new generations toy if he had normal eyes and no visible rib cage thingy
Image
GEEWUN
Pretender
Posts: 731
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 7:38 pm
Location: classified
Strength: Infinity
Intelligence: Infinity
Speed: Infinity
Endurance: Infinity
Rank: Infinity
Courage: Infinity
Firepower: Infinity
Skill: Infinity

Re: 5 page preview of Transformers ongoing #13!

Postby Heavy B » Tue Nov 09, 2010 6:06 am

Motto: "The best weapon isn't one you never have to fire, It's the one you only have to fire once."
Weapon: Gattling Gun
WTF is up with kups eyes?
Image
Psycho Warrior wrote: Heavy B, the man who can open armor plating with his bare ass. To fight a bear no less.
User avatar
Heavy B
Gestalt
Posts: 2835
News Credits: 1
Joined: Thu May 01, 2003 3:03 pm
Location: Anywhere I roam, Where I lay my head is home. Carved upon my stone, My body lie, but still I roam.
Strength: 10+
Intelligence: 5
Speed: 4
Endurance: 10
Rank: 7
Courage: Infinity
Firepower: 9
Skill: 5

Re: 5 page preview of Transformers ongoing #13!

Postby Jaw Crusher » Tue Nov 09, 2010 6:40 am

Weapon: Mace
Dr. Heavy B wrote:WTF is up with kups eyes?


My guess is they're probably old-man specs as opposed to his actual eyes. Like Movie Jetfire's cane, it's something to remind us that he's, y'know, old.
I got yer new Captain America right here!
Image

http://jochimus.deviantart.com
Jaw Crusher
Combiner
Posts: 491
Joined: Mon May 26, 2003 1:14 pm
Location: Shelby, IA USA
Alt Mode: Land Shark
Strength: 8
Intelligence: 7
Speed: 5
Endurance: 10
Rank: 5
Courage: 8
Firepower: 5
Skill: 5

Re: 5 page preview of Transformers ongoing #13!

Postby Darth Bombshell » Tue Nov 09, 2010 7:19 am

Motto: "Insanity is a state of mind, and I have a home there."
Weapon: Cerebro-Shell Launcher
I've come to expect a certain wrongness when it comes to comics with the words "Written by Mike Costa" on it. And ever since I heard about what's in this issue, I expected it to suck harder than a Hoover.

But never in a quintillion years would I have expected this issue to be as wrong and to suck as hard as this preview makes it seem.

Ultra Magnus would NOT leave an apparently inpenetrable weapons locker open so any dumb schmuck could get into it. Hot Rod did NOT try to convince the others with reason. Hot Rod is NOT good with bold moves. Nobody in their right mind would plunge headlong into an enemy base and walk away alive.

And after what he did last issue, Mike Costa has no business writing Transformers comics, and needs to be fired from IDW post-haste if they have any respect for their readership or their quality of work they put out.
Darth Bombshell
Gestalt
Posts: 2806
News Credits: 487
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2002 8:38 pm
Location: Maple Ridge, British Columbia, Canada.
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 7
Speed: 5
Endurance: 6
Rank: 7
Courage: 8
Firepower: 6
Skill: 7

Review of Transformers ongoing #13!

Postby Dead Metal » Tue Nov 09, 2010 7:28 am

Motto: "Don't do drugs, beer's cheaper anyway!"
Well it's that Tuesday again and you know what that means – idw Transformers Ongoing comic review time!

Just this time with Dead Metal, instead of TT24, that's because TT24 is chained up in my basement, and he shall remain there until idw makes a new Transformers comic I don't hate with a passion so intense that it should be illegal.
So I'll be reviewing The Transformers Ongoing #13, a comic by idw focusing on Hot Rod Rodimus Prime Roddy the Hot Rod, that is HOT, Rodimus (?), and the role he has in the future of the comic series. Oh looks like TT24's staying in my basement for a while – OR IS HE?!

And just in case you don't know, this review contains spoilers and as the name says, these spoilers spoil the comic for you. I will include the ending in this review, so if you don't mind getting spoilt keep on reading


So idw was very happy to stress to us that this issue took place in SPACE! and not on earth, but that's not all, they also stressed that this book had Rodimus, in SPACE!.
What an exciting brake from all that boring as hell Spike waffling, pseudo political waffling, propaganda, and the most boring and unexciting way Transformers have ever been portrait, seriously, they're giant sentient robots from SPACE!, how can they not be exiting and awesome – oh yea waffling...

I'm going to start by saying something about the art, since that's not just half of a comic but also the half one notices before the story.

The art, well the line art, is done by Nick Roche, the Irish artist who not only harassed idw into hiring him (according to Chris Ryall), but also made a huge impact on the fans with the art and scripting of such titles as "Spotlight: Kup" and "Last Stand of the Wreckers", the later with a great portion of help by James Roberts. He's famous for having a style that is both cartoony and organic, and still very mechanical. He's also, in his own words "Gay for Hot Rod".

And he does not disappoint, the art is very dynamic, expressive and full of character, and still very detailed.

Now on the subject that is always good for controversy in the idw comics since the Launch of "All Hail Megatron", the designs.
Nick Roche uses a mix of character designs, The Master Piece toy design for the Seekers, Don Figueroa's new design for Hot Rod, and the rest are more or less based on the Sunbow cartoon designs, except for a mystery character!

So the art will please Nick Roche-fans and displease those that don't care for his work, and comic character design nerds will probably find something to rage about.

I'll voice my opinion on the story part of the comic at the end of this review.

Now this is where the real spoilers start!

So the issue starts with Rodimus flying with Ultra Magnus's ship (which he stole from Ultra Magnus in #06) through SPACE!. They didn't lie you guys the story really is in SPACE!.

Now I'm not really going to say too much about the first five pages, since if you click here you can read them in the pre-view.

The pages give us a basic gist of what happened earlier, Rodimus "unexpectedly" getting swindled by Swindle (also #06), oh wow we didn't see that happening back when Swindle showed up in #02, how could you not trust someone going by that name. Rodimus also goes on about how smart he is, yea Swindle thinks so too, and that Ultra Magnus has a super-duper high security safe which can't be broken by anything short of Omega Supreme, which he doesn't lock. Why Magnus went through the trouble of owning that I don't understand, but I do think it's kind of funny, stupid but funny.

Rodimus arrives at the Decepticons' asteroid base and we see Acid Storm, yes he's even actually referred to as such, and Shrapnel. They lose their cool and shoot the ship, but due to an error the ship crashes and destroys their defences.

Bombshell gets the job of telling Starscream the bad news, who doesn't really care and tells him to go and fix it. Then we have a bit of an awkward moment in which Bombshell kind of suggests he should have The Matrix and tries taking it from Starscream (I guess it's like the "one" ring), who's still wearing it with a chain around his neck. Starscream orders him to "Leave us", which is odd as there is only Bombshell and Starscream in the room, maybe he's going nuts.

Image
"And one to enslave them all."


We cut back to Rodimus who has survived the crash and gets ready to attack the base. However Acid Storm, Kickback and Bombshell search the wreak for survivors and useful things, and well they find Rodimus, who ambushes them and kills all three of them, well I guess he kills them.

Image
I guess a fridge could have also been used for this.


Rodimus himself is then ambushed by Razorclaw, they exchange some dialogue in which Razorclaw reveals he could bite off Rodimus' head and swallow it whole, which is odd since he's a robot, but then again we've seen Transformers do stranger things. Rodimus tells Razorclaw to "Swallow this!" while sticking one of Bombshell's cerebro shells in his mouth, and he does. Razorclaw is now under Rodimus' command, because well roll with it.

Image
Razorclaw will swallow anything smaller than his own head without question.


Rodimus then uses Razorclaw to ambush Starscream, who quickly kills him, yea sorry no Predaking in these comics.
Rodimus attacks Starscream, who tells him that he's impenetrably armoured, but Rodimus shoots The Matrix which knocks Starscream out, or kills him I'm not sure which.
click here for spoilerish image

He then takes The Matrix and goes deeper into the base, where he's surprised by Astrotrain, who's in his cartoon design, Rodimus thinks he's smart and decides to sneak up on him, while thinking to himself he's destined to bring the Matrix back. But surprise! And out of the shadows steps our mystery character! I'm not going to use any spoiler tags since, well it won't work.

Image
"Out of the Dark, into the light."

The mystery character is Megatron in his new design, marking the first time the design has been used in fiction.
Due to Megatron having a new body, Rodimus panics and shows us that he knows what happens when a character gets a new body and shows it off to the reads/viewers for the first time! Rodimus somehow thinks The Matrix could shield him from Megatron, possibly forgetting Megatron is not Unicron (who isn't even in this universe, but still).

Image
"Erm, Rodimus he's not Unicron, but whatever."

It goes just as well as one would think, and Rodimus is back in SPACE!

Image
"SPACE! Blacker than the blackest black times infinity!"

Megatron somehow no longer caring for The Matrix, strange, he seemed to have been all over it in AHM, guess it was important enough to start a war over it (if we ignore the fiction prior to AHM) but blasting it with a huge cannon into SPACE! is OK, guess he thinks his new body is a much better "toy".
Megatron then tells Soundwave to assembly the Decepticons since he wants "To address my followers".

And on the last page we see Rodimus floating dead through SPACE!
Image spoils the final page of the comic.

So that was it, our space related issue in the ongoing, enjoy it while it lasts as it might take a while till we get another issue set completely in space.

Now I'll get to the story part , which is the most important part of a comic. A comic can be good with horrible art as long as the story is good, just like a wonderfully illustrated comic can be bad due to a bad story and horrible writing.

The comic is written by Mike Costa, who's been writing the ongoing since #01 - poorly in my opinion. Everything's dragged out far too long, characters act weird and the plot seems to be nothing more than Costa's statement of how much our beloved alien robots suck when compared to humans, it's so poor that it overshadows the few pretty good ideas and concepts he brings in.

Image
"A typical and unedited page of what dialogue in the Ongoing."

However, this issue is different, it's pacing is good, although it kind of feels rushed near the end; it's dialogue is waffle free, something which we usually suffer through when Costa writes dialogue involving humans or Optimus Prime (please die Prime, you suck in this continuity now); Rodimus' internal monologues are pretty good, sometimes stupid and cliché, but overall pretty good; and the best part, no Spike!
However, there are some bad or let’s say week parts to the story, like Razorclaw's part in this, which was pretty pointless since Rodimus' would have had the same effect if he just went and attacked Starscream himself, Razorclaw was basically just there to get killed. The part about Ultra Magnus' safe, that odd scene with Bombshell and The Matrix, The Matrix in general which seems to be indestructible and Megatron's appearance, while cool is somewhat sudden and not explained. But we might get the explanation in a following issue or heck even a Spotlight, telling us the story, which idw planned from the beginning but wanted to wait, of how and why in a few months.

So yea the story's not that bad, plus the fantastic art by nick Roche, with fantastic colours by J. Brown, make a pretty good and enjoyable comic.

I give it three stars out of five, which means I must have liked it.

"This I recommend!"
5 point of cool to who gets this.

Personally I think it's not as good or interesting as idw's earlier output (-tion, Stormbringer, etc.) but not that bad and might be the first sign of the series actually getting better, but then again Megatron might come back to earth and team up with Osama Bin Laden or revive Hitler, which would sadly make sense looking at what happened in previous issues.
Image


Jeep! wrote:Why do I imagine Dead Metal sounding exactly like Arnie?
Intah-wib-buls?

Blurrz wrote:10/10

Leave it to Dead Metal to have the word 'Pronz' in his signature.
User avatar
Dead Metal
God Of Transformers
Posts: 13840
News Credits: 767
Joined: Tue May 01, 2007 5:18 am

Re: 5 page preview of Transformers ongoing #13!

Postby Prime Evil » Tue Nov 09, 2010 7:32 am

Motto: "No Good Deed Goes Unpunished"
Weapon: Dark Saber Sword
This looks promising. Always been a fan of Roche's artwork and maybe they can salvage Hot Rod's character with this issue.

In Roche We Trust!!
Image
facebook
PSN:Kalibr3Fyre
Transfandom's resident Junglist
Botcon Twitter re: Botcon 2012, "This set is not TFA" :D

Fans Project- Highly Recommend any and all products
Hasbro- Need more Generations toys peas
HeadRobots- Awesome, looking fwd to more good products
Perfect Effect- OK, looking fwd to more lil bots.
User avatar
Prime Evil
Godmaster
Posts: 1629
News Credits: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2002 10:22 am
Location: West Chester, PA
Strength: 8
Intelligence: 8
Speed: 8
Endurance: 8
Rank: N/A
Courage: 10
Firepower: 7
Skill: 7

Re: Preview and Review of Transformers ongoing #13!

Postby Darth Bombshell » Tue Nov 09, 2010 7:33 am

Motto: "Insanity is a state of mind, and I have a home there."
Weapon: Cerebro-Shell Launcher
Head, meet desk.

Even reading that spoiler'ed summary doesn't give me any hope for this issue. I thought the pointless inclusion of Acid Storm was the stupidest thing Costa could do with this. But I forgot about his habit of casually killing off characters, well loved or not.

Not for the first time do I find myself wondering why the *%$& I ordered this issue.
Darth Bombshell
Gestalt
Posts: 2806
News Credits: 487
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2002 8:38 pm
Location: Maple Ridge, British Columbia, Canada.
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 7
Speed: 5
Endurance: 6
Rank: 7
Courage: 8
Firepower: 6
Skill: 7

Re: 5 page preview of Transformers ongoing #13!

Postby Oilspill » Tue Nov 09, 2010 7:34 am

Darth Bombshell wrote:I've come to expect a certain wrongness when it comes to comics with the words "Written by Mike Costa" on it. And ever since I heard about what's in this issue, I expected it to suck harder than a Hoover.

But never in a quintillion years would I have expected this issue to be as wrong and to suck as hard as this preview makes it seem.

Ultra Magnus would NOT leave an apparently inpenetrable weapons locker open so any dumb schmuck could get into it. Hot Rod did NOT try to convince the others with reason. Hot Rod is NOT good with bold moves. Nobody in their right mind would plunge headlong into an enemy base and walk away alive.

And after what he did last issue, Mike Costa has no business writing Transformers comics, and needs to be fired from IDW post-haste if they have any respect for their readership or their quality of work they put out.


I disagree with the Hot Rod part. His motto is "my actions speak louder than words", his function is Cavalier - so he's meant to throw himself into battle in, well, a cavalier manner. He takes the risks and damns the consequences. And in Spotlight Hot Rod (was that Furman?), he basically rides a meteor to break into a Decepticon prison (which was fairly awesome).

However, I agree with all the rest. Mike Costa's writing in the Ongoing has been terrible - though Ironhide was not bad. I hope someone else takes the reigns before Transformers comics are ruined forever.
Image
Oilspill
Transmetal Warrior
Posts: 807
News Credits: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 11:29 pm
Location: Western Australia

Re: 5 page preview of Transformers ongoing #13!

Postby Darth Bombshell » Tue Nov 09, 2010 7:38 am

Motto: "Insanity is a state of mind, and I have a home there."
Weapon: Cerebro-Shell Launcher
Oilspill wrote:I disagree with the Hot Rod part. His motto is "my actions speak louder than words", his function is Cavalier - so he's meant to throw himself into battle in, well, a cavalier manner. He takes the risks and damns the consequences. And in Spotlight Hot Rod (was that Furman?), he basically rides a meteor to break into a Decepticon prison (which was fairly awesome).


Maybe so, yeah. But who in their right mind would dive head first into a Decepticon base and expect to get away alive? And let's not forget that one of Hot Rod's most famous acts of "throwing himself into battle" led to Prime getting killed. So he hasn't exactly had a good track record.
Darth Bombshell
Gestalt
Posts: 2806
News Credits: 487
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2002 8:38 pm
Location: Maple Ridge, British Columbia, Canada.
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 7
Speed: 5
Endurance: 6
Rank: 7
Courage: 8
Firepower: 6
Skill: 7

Re: Preview and Review of Transformers ongoing #13!

Postby GEEWUN » Tue Nov 09, 2010 7:44 am

Motto: ""I'm not Psychotic... just Crazy!!!""
Weapon: Double-Barreled, Armor-Piercing Particle Beam Cann...
Woah.... They just killed Rodimus!!! They are bringing him back... RIGHT?!?!?!!?
Image
GEEWUN
Pretender
Posts: 731
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 7:38 pm
Location: classified
Strength: Infinity
Intelligence: Infinity
Speed: Infinity
Endurance: Infinity
Rank: Infinity
Courage: Infinity
Firepower: Infinity
Skill: Infinity

Re: Preview and Review of Transformers ongoing #13!

Postby Oilspill » Tue Nov 09, 2010 7:52 am

So shooting the Autobots most sacred and valuable artifact is a good idea?
Image
Oilspill
Transmetal Warrior
Posts: 807
News Credits: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 11:29 pm
Location: Western Australia

Re: Preview and Review of Transformers ongoing #13!

Postby Darth Bombshell » Tue Nov 09, 2010 7:57 am

Motto: "Insanity is a state of mind, and I have a home there."
Weapon: Cerebro-Shell Launcher
GEEWUN wrote:Woah.... They just killed Rodimus!!! They are bringing him back... RIGHT?!?!?!!?


I hope not. His "characterization" has been the third stupidest thing Costa has done (after killing off Ironhide, then writing a miniseries that didn't explain why and killing off Bumblebee) and it's really nice to see him get his comeuppance.

Oilspill wrote:So shooting the Autobots most sacred and valuable artifact is a good idea?


It is when you, apparently, have no other ideas on how to create drama and tension in a story. That and killing people off.
Darth Bombshell
Gestalt
Posts: 2806
News Credits: 487
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2002 8:38 pm
Location: Maple Ridge, British Columbia, Canada.
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 7
Speed: 5
Endurance: 6
Rank: 7
Courage: 8
Firepower: 6
Skill: 7

Re: 5 page pre-view of Transformers ongoing #13!

Postby Cyberstrike » Tue Nov 09, 2010 8:29 am

Motto: "I don't lose, I CONQUER!"
Weapon: Electro-Sword
JRFitzpatrick7 wrote:roche's art is incredible


What is the big deal with Roche's art? I don't get why everybody loves his art, he's not that great. Guido, Figuara, Meline, and Su are all 1000 times better than he is.
Image
Know this: I would rather be hated for being honest for my opinions, than being loved as a liar!
Cyberstrike
Headmaster
Posts: 1157
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2002 2:33 pm
Location: Indiana
Watch Cyberstrike on YouTube
Strength: 10+
Intelligence: 9
Speed: Infinity
Endurance: Infinity
Rank: 10+
Courage: 10+
Firepower: 8
Skill: 5

Re: Preview and Review of Transformers ongoing #13!

Postby Carnivius_Prime » Tue Nov 09, 2010 8:56 am

Motto: "A cunning smile is more devastating than the fiercest weapon."
Weapon: Anti-Thermal Cannon
I'm not fond of IDW's G1 stuff at all though I really enjoy their Movieverse comics.

Not a fan of Roche's style either. Far too cartoon like especially in those pages with Hot Rod in up there. His face looks too childlike and immature though perhaps not to the extent of Animated's facial styles thankfully. Actually I've not really been keen on any TF artist since the very dynamic work by Geoff Senior and Lee Sullivan on the old Marvel Comics (and they used to draw far better TF faces too) though Alex Milne does good work with the Movie designs (even if his humans need work).
I have anxiety, depression and aspergers syndrome so my behaviour can be erratic. I don't mean any offense to anyone. I'm just very picky about my Transformers collecting. You're all cool! :)

Likes: Movieverse ('Bayformers' are my fave Transformers), Marvel UK G1, most Marvel US G1, 1986 animated movie (more for style & soundtrack rather than Star Wars-rip off plot).
Dislikes: TFA, G1 cartoon, IDW G1, BW/BM, MP. The entire concept of Autobot Megatron.
User avatar
Carnivius_Prime
City Commander
Posts: 3173
News Credits: 19
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 3:35 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, England

Re: Preview and Review of Transformers ongoing #13!

Postby Oilspill » Tue Nov 09, 2010 10:15 am

Carnivius_Prime wrote:Actually I've not really been keen on any TF artist since the very dynamic work by Geoff Senior and Lee Sullivan on the old Marvel Comics (and they used to draw far better TF faces too)


I've never understood the massive love for Geoff Senior's work.
Image

His art was OK for the 80s, but it seems to pale next to the detail & better proportions of the art today (for example EJ Su's art). His faces are expressive, but they still look a bit ridiculous at the same time - see the Galvatron pic above. Roche gets much better expressions out of his TFs, though I can see how his cartoony style doesn't suit everyone. But just glancing at his work you can see how much he enjoys drawing his subject matter!

Maybe, a bit like G1 cartoon itself, you had to grow up with the comics to really 'get' what's so great about Geoff Snr. Maybe I don't get it because I'm comparing it to the work of today, not the artists of the 80s.
Image
Oilspill
Transmetal Warrior
Posts: 807
News Credits: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 11:29 pm
Location: Western Australia

Re: Preview and Review of Transformers ongoing #13!

Postby partholon » Tue Nov 09, 2010 10:25 am

oh dear god.

how many blatant rip offs are in this issue?

more over considering the slagging nuking the fridge got in indianna jones how in the name of christ did costa think he could get away with that as a central plot point ?

and as to the end, no hot rod (which is his real **** name - fuct this "rodimus" nonsense ) is gonna come back after being rebuilt by the matrix....

...just like thunderwing did twenty years ago under furman ! !


sweet jesus did costa just randomly pick other films and stories to DO this issue over the weekend.

im actually getting angry at how the book is being handled now.

issue after issue of turgid, pointless, meaningless "stories" that dont add a fecking thing to the characters and worse of all bloody meaningless deaths that **** the whole universe up to whatever writer is going to have to step in at some stage to sort this clusterfeck out.

even nicks art isnt his best work, which TBH im putting down the the colourist who doest seem to know what subtle hues are. i dont know who this j brown is but there are better guys out there like josh who you think would be on the TFs flagship title.

FFS IDW just END this now while you still have a fanbase
partholon
Combiner
Posts: 439
News Credits: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 2:19 pm

Re: Preview and Review of Transformers ongoing #13!

Postby AbraxasGrey » Tue Nov 09, 2010 11:06 am

lol kups feet say "oldtimr"
AbraxasGrey
Mini-Con
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 12:30 pm

Re: Preview and Review of Transformers ongoing #13!

Postby Samsonator » Tue Nov 09, 2010 11:39 am

Motto: ""Death is the only way out.""
Weapon: Sword of Fury
I was hoping for better since they switched the focus from the "AMERICA F**K YEAH!" nonsense going on on earth, to some of the rest of the characters... but Costa really needs to quit, or get fired or something. Bring in a writer who knows a little more about continuity, subtle references as opposed to blatant ripoffs, characterization (which really shouldn't be hard since a lot of these characters have been around for over two decades), pacing, structure... pretty much ANYTHING a writer should be good for... At this point I'll maintain that the fictional aspect of Transformers is still dead to me, if anyone needs me I'll be in the toy forum ... for a long time.
Samsonator: I swear I'm still here! Yes, I know it's been fourteen years...
Toy reviews on YouTube? Don't mind if I do!
I build model kits on Twitch, too!
User avatar
Samsonator
Brainmaster
Posts: 1352
News Credits: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 4:45 pm
Location: Surrey, BC, Canada
Watch Samsonator on YouTube
Alt Mode: Tank
Strength: 5
Intelligence: 7
Speed: 4
Endurance: 6
Rank: 10
Courage: 6
Firepower: 10
Skill: 7

Re: Preview and Review of Transformers ongoing #13!

Postby Vicalliose » Tue Nov 09, 2010 11:39 am

Motto: "Focus on one thing at a time? Are you crazy!? WHO DO YOU THINK I AM!!!"
Weapon: Semi-Automatic Sonic Boomer Gun
Dead Metal wrote:
Vicalliose wrote:"a safe made of meter-thick osmium alloy that nothing short of Omega Supreme could penetrate."
Oh, I see where this is going.

You are correct!

Yay! So, what do I win for pointing out the blatantly obvious? :APPLAUSE:

Yeah, I hate Mike Costa. Basically it's been nothing but a bunch of dumb humans who kick Transformer nutz (aren't we getting enough of that in the movies?), and randomly killing characters off followed by immediately reviving them just to get them from point A to point B.

I still prefer Shane McCarthy's work over reading this junk, bad as it is, I was still able to tolerate it, and at least the art didn't make my eyes hurt on top of everything else (not including this issue of course.)
Image
"Government, even in it's best state, is but a necessary evil; in it's worst state, an intolerable one." -Thomas Paine
User avatar
Vicalliose
Targetmaster
Posts: 694
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 4:20 pm
Location: You already know that.
Watch Vicalliose on YouTube
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 6
Speed: 4
Endurance: 3
Rank: 1
Courage: 3
Firepower: 10+
Skill: 1

Re: Preview and Review of Transformers ongoing #13!

Postby Doctor McGrath » Tue Nov 09, 2010 12:49 pm

Motto: "This is quick but not quite painless.."
Weapon: Semi-Automatic Glue Gun
Well I'm guessing they wouldn't make a big deal about Rodimus in space and the matrix just to kill him off. I'm guessing the matrix revives him, chooses him blah blah, and then he goes back to earth and relieves Bumblebee as leader of the bots. A position that still should be held by OP.
Image
El Duque wrote:Quite a firestorm I started here :michaelbay:
User avatar
Doctor McGrath
Gestalt
Posts: 2894
News Credits: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 11:03 am
Buy from Doctor McGrath on eBay
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 9
Speed: 8
Endurance: 7
Rank: 6
Courage: 7
Firepower: 7
Skill: 8

Next

Return to Transformers Cartoons and Comics Forum

Featured Products on Amazon.com

Buy "Transformers Attacker 15 Bania Action Figure" on AMAZON
Buy "Transformers: Generations Power of The Primes Legends Class Autobot Outback" on AMAZON
Buy "Transformers: Generations Power of The Primes Megatronus Prime Master" on AMAZON
Buy "Transformers Studio Series 10 Deluxe Class Movie 1 Autobot Jazz" on AMAZON
Buy "Transformers Studio Series 07 Leader Class Movie 4 Grimlock" on AMAZON
Buy "Transformers Studio Series 13 Voyager Class Movie 2 Megatron" on AMAZON
Buy "Transformers Generations Power of The Primes Deluxe Class Autobot Moonracer" on AMAZON
Buy "Masterpiece MPM-7 Bumblebee" on AMAZON
Buy "Transformers Generations Titans Return Triggerhappy and Blowpipe" on AMAZON
Buy "Transformers Generations Combiner Wars Legends Class Protectobot Groove Figure" on AMAZON
Buy "Transformers Generations Deluxe Titans Return Autobots Throttle and Breakaway Action Figure" on AMAZON
Buy "Transformers Generations Titan Class Metroplex with Autobot Scamper Figure" on AMAZON
Transformers Podcast: Twincast / Podcast #213 - How to Say Expensive and Mean It
Twincast / Podcast #213:
"How to Say Expensive and Mean It"
MP3 · iTunes · RSS · View · Discuss · Ask
Posted: Sunday, December 9th, 2018

New Items on eBay

Buy "Depth Charge Transformers Collectors Club Exclusive Mint in Sealed Bag 2013" on EBAY
Buy "Transformers Collectors Club TFCC Ramjet - Exclusive 2016" on EBAY
Buy "Bumblebee vs Long Haul 100% Complete Movie ROTF series Robot Heroes Transformers" on EBAY
Buy "Bumblebee MOSC Legends Universe 2 Transformers" on EBAY
Buy "Bumblebee Complete Legends Universe 2 Transformers" on EBAY
Buy "Bumblebee Complete Legends Generations - Titans Return Transformers" on EBAY
Buy "Stylor Chromedome 100% Complete Deluxe Generations - Titans Return Transformers" on EBAY
Buy "Optimus Prime Diac 100% Complete Voyager Generations Titans Return Transformers" on EBAY