Something I don't understand with most of the movie complaints.

Discuss anything and everything related to the Transformers Live Action Films franchise, which are directed by Michael Bay. Join us to discuss the movies and stuff up to date with news for the 2017 release of Transformers 5. Check out our Live Action Film section here.

Something I don't understand with most of the movie complaints.

Postby kaijuguy19 » Wed Nov 19, 2014 9:05 pm

I understand the movies are far from popular with a lot of fans. I know they're far from flawless either I mean I disliked the toleit jokes and I strongly disliked how ROTF turned out. I also understand that they have some plot holes which were solved in the IDW comics by John Barber but since not a lot of people read them that doesn't help and that certain traits on characters are sometimes turned up like Optimus's rage and tactics. However there are complaints that don't make sense to me and I can't help but feel if they're a form of double standards.

For example the movies are bashed for straying far from the source material for having characters and elements not be like the G1 versions at all yet the franchise before hand have been doing that sort of thing way before the movies came to be after G1 ended. Also most fans bash Optimus for not having a flat nose truck alt mode and having a long nose truck yet in Armada and his G2 had the same type of alt mode either yet they don't get bashed on, and how AOE Drift is accused for being an offensive sterotype because of how much of a samurai he looks yet characters like Bludegeon,TFA Prowl and Yoketron and IDW Windblade who have their own share of some strong Japanese cultural design elements to them seem to get a free pass despite that fact.

Some fellow fans told me it's likely due to the movies have a larger exposure to the media not to mention not a lot of the shows before the first movie came out were as well known as G1 so in that regard it makes sense as well as the shows like RID and the UT had their share of complaints about having characters that weren't like the G1 versions as well. Still the movies seem to get larger flak for it. What do you guys think?
User avatar
kaijuguy19
Minibot
Posts: 160
Joined: Mon May 13, 2013 7:36 pm
Watch kaijuguy19 on YouTube

Re: Something I don't understand with most of the movie complaints.

Postby Aladar » Wed Nov 19, 2014 10:38 pm

Motto: "時には最小のものは、すべての最大の変更を行うことができます."
Weapon: Cyber Tail Claw
People just bitch for the sake of bitching. I love the movies despite their obvious flaws. Fight scenes are great, toys are cool and they offer new takes on characters that are pretty cool looking. I'm probably one of the few that actually found a way to make sense of Starscream's dorito shaped body :lol: Basically enjoy them for what they are. Big stupid action movies with giant robots at war that hide among us in plai- **** they lost the whole robots in disguise thing in movie 1 :lol: just enjoy them or leave em alone your choice don't let anyone convince you otherwise.
Stand together!
http://aladrscustoms.webs.com/

Commission a custom today

Image
Why can't everyone just shut up and get along?
User avatar
Aladar
Fuzor
Posts: 293
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 1:35 pm
Location: Nesting Grounds
Watch Aladar on YouTube
Buy from Aladar on eBay
Strength: 10+
Intelligence: 10
Speed: 10
Endurance: 10+
Rank: 10
Courage: 10+
Firepower: 10
Skill: 10

Re: Something I don't understand with most of the movie complaints.

Postby Evil_the_Nub » Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:37 pm

Motto: "Feel free to die when you've had enough."
Weapon: Dark Saber Sword
It does get pretty ridiculous. I think some people are still pissed about the trivial stuff like specific alt modes or what color a character is that they watch the movies just to find things to complain about. They were expecting a straight up G1 adaptation down to the cardboard box like designs and early 80's alt modes. They didn't get their way and they've been throwing a tantrum ever since.
Image
NewFoundStarscreamLuv wrote:me and my friends combine all the time. Sometimes I even combine by myself if no one is around.
User avatar
Evil_the_Nub
Gestalt
Posts: 2432
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 9:47 am
Strength: 6
Intelligence: 10
Speed: 8
Endurance: 7
Rank: ???
Courage: 9
Firepower: 3
Skill: 9

Re: Something I don't understand with most of the movie complaints.

Postby Noideaforaname » Fri Nov 21, 2014 6:03 pm

People aren't going to review the entire damn history of whatever they have an issue with, just "their" version and the new one. They're not giving things passes, you're moving the goalposts.
Image
"He may end up destroying a nearby planet or two, but such is life."
My Art Website -- Redbubble Shop
User avatar
Noideaforaname
City Commander
Posts: 3276
News Credits: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 8:31 pm
Location: South Jersey


Return to Transformers Live Action Film Forum

Ending Soon On eBay

TRANSFORMERS DARK OF THE MOON STARSCREAM DECEPTICON  ONLY AT TARGET - Time Remaining: 2 days 17 hours 3 minutes 42 seconds
Transformers COMBINER WARS Decepticon Dead End MINT COMPLETE 2015 - Time Remaining: 2 days 14 hours 12 minutes 9 seconds
Transformers Adventure TAV08 Gregevor Action Figure IN STOCK USA SELLER - Time Remaining: 6 days 23 hours 13 minutes 59 seconds
Transformers Cybertron Armada Primus Unicron Severed Head - Time Remaining: 1 day 8 hours 16 minutes 11 seconds
Transformers PRIME BEAST HUNTERS AUTOBOT RATCHET MOC Mint COMP.  2014 - Time Remaining: 4 days 10 hours 18 minutes 15 seconds
Transformers Combiner Wars Stunticon DRAGSTRIP 100% complete - Time Remaining: 13 days 15 hours 20 minutes 46 seconds
Transformers Action Figure toy Universe Optimus Prime, Warpath Lot - Time Remaining: 4 days 3 hours 21 minutes 39 seconds
Transformers Adventure TAVVS01 Bumblebee vs Steeljaw 2-Pack Action Figure Set - Time Remaining: 6 days 22 hours 23 minutes 40 seconds
Transformers Podcast: Twincast / Podcast #188 - Mutinous Intent
Twincast / Podcast #188:
"Mutinous Intent"
MP3 · iTunes · RSS · View · Discuss · Ask
Posted: Monday, November 13th, 2017