Transformers: AR Guide Mobile Game REVIEW

This is the forum to discuss all of those video games you love playing or that are coming out. From Transformers video games to Fighting games to Sports games ... whatever makes you a happy Seibertronian. Just keep it the topics and conversations game and console related.

Transformers: AR Guide Mobile Game REVIEW

Postby Bronzewolf » Fri Sep 09, 2016 3:42 pm

Motto: ""What Would Sky Lynx Do?""
Weapon: Double-Barreled Solid Sonic Energy Blaster
Seibertronians, thanks to user Collectotron, we've been alerted to a brand new Transformer Augmented Reality mobile game that has seemingly slipped under our radar, called Transformers AR Guide. It's based on the new Robots in Disguise animated show, and is developed by Red Frog Limited LTD. I've decided to look a little deeper and try it out for you!

NOTE: What I will be reviewing is the trial version of the game, meaning some features will not/can not be covered in this article. I will address this more in a bit.

First, some technical info about the game: It's Augmented Reality based, meaning it features the ability to superimpose a digital character into the real world through your mobile device. The AR is triggered by a physical book that you have to buy separately for around $10. The app, however, allows you to demo it with a printable image that will allow Bumblebee to appear on your desk, living room, or anywhere else you want him to.

Initially, I was skeptical of the game, and the somewhat convoluted process of getting it to work (I had to download the page, change the file type, email it to myself, and print it out) was kind of off-putting, but I kept positive, and saw it through.

Let's look at the game's features.

The main attraction is the AR gimmick, so let's look at that. The book allows you to cue up quite a few autobots and Decepticons into the real world, but the printable only gives you Bumblebee, as mentioned above.

I was pleasantly surprised with the amount of controls you can use on Bumblebee. You can make him walk around, pose, transform into his car mode (you can even turn his headlights on and off), almost like a digital RC car. Frankly the coolest feature is that you can even make him life-sized, if you have a big enough space. You still have complete control over him even in Life-sized mode, so if you want to have Bumblebee walk down your street, you can!
Image
Bumblebee's on my driveway!!

It's also pretty cool to have Bumblebee on while playing with real toys at the same time. It adds a whole new layer of animation (quite literally) to your stories.
Image

Another feature allows you to create your own custom charcter, that you can then superimpose into the real world as well. I made my own character, but wasn't able to "bring him to life" because I, obviously, didn't have the book.
Image
Hey! RID Windcharger!
My one critisim here would be that I wish you could get into more detail in the customization process, not just solid colors on various body parts.

The third feature is Battlemode, but I wasn't able to demo this at all. It looks very interesting, however, being a two-player AR fighting game.

So some final thoughts: I didn't expect much from this game going in, and I was very pleased and impressed with what it turned out to be. It's a lot of fun, and a great implementation of this tech, and I'm almost postive I'll be getting that book very soon.

Wanna try it for yourself? It's available now on the App Store and Google play for most devices for free!

And, as always, keep it here on seibertron.com for all your latest Transformers news and reviews!
----------------

#Braingate
#DOMEGATE
:DAFT-PUNK-GM: :DAFT-PUNK-HAPPY:
Decepticon Stryker wrote:
Bronzewolf wrote:
Decepticon Stryker wrote:Actually, being only five minutes long, all 8 of these episodes would make nice shorts for a certain show... :SERVO: :D :CROW:

Ehh, I doubt that would happen.

Maybe in the not too distant future...

Will it be next Sunday A.D.?
User avatar
Bronzewolf
News Staff
Posts: 530
News Credits: 51
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 8:28 pm
Alt Mode: 2016 Aston Martin Vanquish
Strength: 6
Intelligence: 8
Speed: 5
Endurance: 7
Rank: 7
Courage: 4
Firepower: 7
Skill: 9

Re: Transformers: AR Guide Mobile Game REVIEW

Postby Kurona » Fri Sep 09, 2016 3:48 pm

Motto: "The universe is cold, and cruel, and violent—but only if you choose to look at it that way. For every act of aggression there are a thousand acts of kindness. For every hateful word, a million declarations of love. The good always outweighs the bad."
Weapon: High-Amplification Directional Radiowave Sensor
This is pretty much the start of every mobile game developer going "Pokémon Go is amazingly popular let's copy it" isn't it
Image


"Fortress Maximus prepare for your death today you're gonna die"
~Megazark
Kurona
News Staff
Posts: 5039
News Credits: 24
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 3:48 pm
Location: Scotland
Strength: 1
Intelligence: 7
Speed: 2
Endurance: 1
Rank: 2
Courage: 3
Firepower: 1
Skill: 2

Re: Transformers: AR Guide Mobile Game REVIEW

Postby Bronzewolf » Fri Sep 09, 2016 3:50 pm

Motto: ""What Would Sky Lynx Do?""
Weapon: Double-Barreled Solid Sonic Energy Blaster
Kurona wrote:This is pretty much the start of every mobile game developer going "Pokémon Go is amazingly popular let's copy it" isn't it

Preeettty much, yep :lol:
----------------

#Braingate
#DOMEGATE
:DAFT-PUNK-GM: :DAFT-PUNK-HAPPY:
Decepticon Stryker wrote:
Bronzewolf wrote:
Decepticon Stryker wrote:Actually, being only five minutes long, all 8 of these episodes would make nice shorts for a certain show... :SERVO: :D :CROW:

Ehh, I doubt that would happen.

Maybe in the not too distant future...

Will it be next Sunday A.D.?
User avatar
Bronzewolf
News Staff
Posts: 530
News Credits: 51
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 8:28 pm
Alt Mode: 2016 Aston Martin Vanquish
Strength: 6
Intelligence: 8
Speed: 5
Endurance: 7
Rank: 7
Courage: 4
Firepower: 7
Skill: 9

Re: Transformers: AR Guide Mobile Game REVIEW

Postby Flashwave » Sat Sep 10, 2016 8:34 am

Motto: "Our society's downfall will not be this war. The war IS our society. That which will get us will be the little things. Some humanoid race, some tossed cannon, the little things that no one looks out for. THAT is for what we must be vigilant."
Weapon: Twin Shoulder-Mounted Rocket Launchers
Bronzewolf wrote:
Kurona wrote:This is pretty much the start of every mobile game developer going "Pokémon Go is amazingly popular let's copy it" isn't it

Preeettty much, yep :lol:


Yes and No. Augmented Reality has been a "Thing" for a while. Companies like Oculus have been chasing that venue alongside their VR pursuits and its been used to some degree to drive things like walkaround guided tours at State Parks.

What Pokemon did successfully is make it simple and engaging enough, and with a brand that everyone is familiar with to some degree, that it put AR gaming on the map and in everyday consumers' hands. Much the way Steve Jobs succeeded in making the Smartphone something that people suddenly wanted, and not just a tool of the ultra techy rich business entrepreneur,
Image
User avatar
Flashwave
Faction Commander
Posts: 4243
News Credits: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2005 2:42 pm
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 9
Speed: 9
Endurance: 6
Rank: 9
Courage: 9
Firepower: 7
Skill: 9


Return to Video Games and Mobile Apps Forum

Ending Soon On eBay

Transformers Titans Return Dark Moon Astrotrain Voyager Class Wave 2 Figures New - Time Remaining: 5 days 3 hours 32 minutes 11 seconds
Transformers Titans Return Autobot Sovereign Alpha Trion Voyager Class Figures - Time Remaining: 4 days 22 hours 32 minutes 25 seconds
Transformers Cybertron Legends Hot Shot NEW MIB - Time Remaining: 6 days 4 hours 38 minutes 32 seconds
AUTHENTIC 100% HASBRO TRANSFORMERS PLATINUM EDITION G1 REISSUE TRYPTICON FIGURE - Time Remaining: 2 days 16 hours 39 minutes 18 seconds
Takaratomy war for cybertron unite warriors soundwave Transformers complete - Time Remaining: 6 days 1 hour 39 minutes 23 seconds
Transformers FWI-2 Upgrade Kit for DOTM Leader Class Ironhide - Time Remaining: 14 days 20 hours 40 minutes 19 seconds
Transformers Generation 1 Actionmasters Lot Of (2) Jazz Starscream - Time Remaining: 2 days 3 hours 43 minutes 18 seconds
Transformers Robots In Disguise Super Bumblebee Figure Brand New In Box Fresh - Time Remaining: 3 days 8 hours 45 minutes 51 seconds
Transformers Podcast: Twincast / Podcast #170 - NC Comicon 2017
Twincast / Podcast #170:
"NC Comicon 2017"
MP3 · iTunes · RSS · View · Discuss · Ask
Posted: Tuesday, March 21st, 2017
Website Security Test