What do you care about in a toy review?

Post your reviews of Transformers toys in this topic. Please keep each topic dedicated to one specific toy (i.e. DOTM Deluxe Class Optimus Prime"). Videos can be posted in a topic as well as text reviews and images.

What do you care about in a toy review?

Postby grimdragon2001 » Tue Jul 25, 2017 3:48 pm

Motto: "Battle is my addiction."
Weapon: Particle Beam Cannon
Hey guys, I know this isn't an actual review, but I'm still trying to figure out how to make reviews people will want to watch so consider this a call for help. I'd like to know what you guys care about when looking at toy reviews, what draws you in, what makes you want to close the window. It would mean a lot if you could share some info on this, and who knows, it might not be just me you are helping.

thank you
User avatar
grimdragon2001
Brainmaster
Posts: 1464
News Credits: 13
Joined: Sat May 15, 2010 6:29 pm
Location: Florida
Watch grimdragon2001 on YouTube
Buy from grimdragon2001 on eBay

Re: What do you care about in a toy review?

Postby paul053 » Mon Jul 31, 2017 11:25 am

Transformation
Poseability/articulation
Durability
Aesthetics
Playability
Comparison (size)
User avatar
paul053
Godmaster
Posts: 1575
News Credits: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2009 8:02 am
Location: Plymouth, MN
Buy from paul053 on eBay

Re: What do you care about in a toy review?

Postby Rodimus Prime » Fri Aug 04, 2017 12:10 am

Mainly I look for comparison to other representations of the same character, as well as comparison to characters that are associated with the reviewed character in-fiction.
Burn wrote:Alpha Bravo...He's a helicopter in a team of jets. That's just dumb.
............Image
My fanfics:
disaster-transport--p1927519.php#p1927519
the-bad-seed--p1909021.php#p1909021
stories-from-a-wild-and-crazy-con--t109626.php
Rodimus Prime
Site Moderator
Posts: 19074
News Credits: 19
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2002 8:31 pm

Re: What do you care about in a toy review?

Postby shajaki » Fri Aug 04, 2017 5:37 pm

Motto: "A man who wants nothing is invincible."
Posability, both modes detailed, and above all: to be entertained. Probably why I only watch guys like Thew, Jobby, and Vangelus.
User avatar
shajaki
Matrix Keeper
Posts: 8702
News Credits: 220
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2012 5:56 pm
Location: Edmonton Alberta Canada
Buy from shajaki on eBay

Re: What do you care about in a toy review?

Postby WreckerJack » Fri Aug 04, 2017 6:31 pm

Motto: "The complain train is leaving the station."
Weapon: Arc-Welders
Someone being honest, to the point and thinks objectively. A big thing for me is that the reviewer is down to Earth and expects a reasonable amount of quality for the price paid. Its hard to find a happy medium sometimes.
User avatar
WreckerJack
News Staff
Posts: 1528
News Credits: 27
Joined: Tue May 03, 2016 2:52 am
Location: Pacific NW
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 9
Speed: 5
Endurance: 8
Rank: ???
Courage: 7
Firepower: 7
Skill: 8

Re: What do you care about in a toy review?

Postby Rysquad » Wed Aug 09, 2017 1:02 pm

For the most part, I only really check out reviews on YouTube.

I'm a subscriber to channels by baltmatrix, chefatron, emgo316, and ome9asupreme.

One thing that I've noticed though, more specific to the Titans Return line, is that most reviewers don't take the time to show off the Titan Master play pattern - swapping heads or showing off the base mode connection points with other toys.
Rysquad
Vehicon
Posts: 364
News Credits: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2016 6:50 pm

Re: What do you care about in a toy review?

Postby shajaki » Wed Aug 09, 2017 1:06 pm

Motto: "A man who wants nothing is invincible."
Rysquad wrote:One thing that I've noticed though, more specific to the Titans Return line, is that most reviewers don't take the time to show off the Titan Master play pattern - swapping heads or showing off the base mode connection points with other toys.
Vengelus does ;)^
User avatar
shajaki
Matrix Keeper
Posts: 8702
News Credits: 220
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2012 5:56 pm
Location: Edmonton Alberta Canada
Buy from shajaki on eBay

Re: What do you care about in a toy review?

Postby Rysquad » Wed Aug 09, 2017 1:31 pm

shajaki wrote:
Rysquad wrote:One thing that I've noticed though, more specific to the Titans Return line, is that most reviewers don't take the time to show off the Titan Master play pattern - swapping heads or showing off the base mode connection points with other toys.
Vengelus does ;)^


Subscribed. :-D
Rysquad
Vehicon
Posts: 364
News Credits: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2016 6:50 pm

Re: What do you care about in a toy review?

Postby ExciKaiser » Mon Aug 14, 2017 6:53 am

Rysquad wrote:
One thing that I've noticed though, more specific to the Titans Return line, is that most reviewers don't take the time to show off the Titan Master play pattern - swapping heads or showing off the base mode connection points with other toys.


True.

Sixshot is probably the one who get the worst reviews ever. 'You're not forced to remove the titan master for transformation, so I'll do all the review without removing it, without showing where he seats etc'

I don't remember the names, but I think I saw at least 3 reviews like this.

Lot of reviewers often go to the path "I will not show you the official transformation because I don't like it, so I'll show you instead how I prefer it". And for me it's a wrong way to do reviews.

WreckerJack wrote: A big thing for me is that the reviewer is down to Earth and expects a reasonable amount of quality for the price paid. Its hard to find a happy medium sometimes.



Or sometimes it's the contrary, sometimes the reviewer is too happy whatever he has in hands.

I stopped watching Baltmatrix after his review of the Movie Megazord..
Not english-native speaker. Thank you for being cool on my typos.
My Collection - Transformers Go Combiner Teams onboard !
Image
Looking for the claw-shield-gun which comes with Magna convoy.
User avatar
ExciKaiser
Combiner
Posts: 433
News Credits: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 6:12 pm
Location: France
Buy from ExciKaiser on eBay

Re: What do you care about in a toy review?

Postby grimdragon2001 » Mon Aug 14, 2017 10:48 am

Motto: "Battle is my addiction."
Weapon: Particle Beam Cannon
Thank you guys for the feedback, I really appreciate it.

If i may add something, I think a reviewer should care about the content he/she is reviewing in some respect. It really shows when someone dosnt care either way about something
User avatar
grimdragon2001
Brainmaster
Posts: 1464
News Credits: 13
Joined: Sat May 15, 2010 6:29 pm
Location: Florida
Watch grimdragon2001 on YouTube
Buy from grimdragon2001 on eBay

Re: What do you care about in a toy review?

Postby william-james88 » Mon Aug 14, 2017 2:45 pm

Maybe I am a gladd half full kind of guy but its easier to say what I dont want to see in a review:

Articulation unless there is something cool over other toys that should be discussed
I would rather see the reviewr do a cool pose and that will give me a better sense of what the articulation can do. Just lising joints tells me nothing and sounds very redundant.

The box, I just dont care about packaging. Unless you point out something really worthwhile. But just listing what I can see from any pic I find online is pointless.

I care about scale and how toys look together. I also care alot about functionality. I like when reviewers show me cool stuff that I can do with the toy.

I really like opinions too. Like a reviewer could tell us what they like and dislike about the toy so that we get a sense of their taste and whether or not we would like the toy too. Comparing it to other toys is also a good way of assessing this.
If you have any news, rumours, or hot new sightings to report which you feel should be front paged,
please contact us using this form.

Image
User avatar
william-james88
News Staff
Posts: 20568
News Credits: 848
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 5:46 am
Buy from william-james88 on eBay

Re: What do you care about in a toy review?

Postby ExciKaiser » Mon Aug 14, 2017 3:01 pm

william-james88 wrote:
Articulation unless there is something cool over other toys that should be discussed


Or problematic, like "woops, no knee articulation"
Not english-native speaker. Thank you for being cool on my typos.
My Collection - Transformers Go Combiner Teams onboard !
Image
Looking for the claw-shield-gun which comes with Magna convoy.
User avatar
ExciKaiser
Combiner
Posts: 433
News Credits: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 6:12 pm
Location: France
Buy from ExciKaiser on eBay

Re: What do you care about in a toy review?

Postby MegaX Master » Sun Aug 27, 2017 10:10 pm

Weapon: Acid Rainmaker Rifles
I usually watch to see the things listed below.

Transformation (Sometimes)

A quick showing of articulation (akin to Jobby's reviews)

Size comparisons

Faults in a figure's design

An honest opinion from the reviewer

Sixshot is probably the one who get the worst reviews ever. 'You're not forced to remove the titan master for transformation, so I'll do all the review without removing it, without showing where he seats etc'



I can totally agree with this. I DESPISE when people review ROTF Powered Up Optimus. They always transform it "their way". Specifically optibotimus' review.
MegaX Master
Mini-Con
Posts: 23
News Credits: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 3:42 pm
Watch MegaX Master on YouTube
Alt Mode: Spaceship
Strength: 5
Intelligence: 7
Speed: 8
Endurance: 6
Rank: 5
Courage: 7
Firepower: 8
Skill: 9


Return to Transformers Toy Reviews

Transformers products from AMAZON

Featured Products

Buy "Transformers Robots in Disguise Warrior Class Strongarm Figure" on AMAZON
You save: 57%
Buy "Transformers: The Last Knight Optimus Prime Voice Changer Helmet" on AMAZON
You save: 31%
Buy "Transformers: The Last Knight Premier Edition Voyager Class Megatron" on AMAZON
You save: 31%
Buy "Transformers Masterpiece MP-21 Bumble Figure" on AMAZON
You save: 29%
Buy "Hasbro Transformers Generations combiner wars deluxe protectobot groove" on AMAZON
You save: 20%
Buy "Transformers Generations Titans Return Deluxe Sergeant Kup and Flintlock" on AMAZON
You save: 20%
Transformers Podcast: Twincast / Podcast #194 - Toy Fair 2018
Twincast / Podcast #194:
"Toy Fair 2018"
MP3 · iTunes · RSS · View · Discuss · Ask
Posted: Monday, February 19th, 2018
Transformers products from EBAY

Items Ending Soon