Seibertron.com Reviews IDW Transformers: More Than Meets The Eye #7

Discuss anything about the Transformers cartoons and comics! You can discuss anything from G1 to Cybertron as well as the comics from Marvel, Dreamwave, IDW and more!

Seibertron.com Reviews IDW Transformers: More Than Meets The Eye #7

Postby Anonymous. » Tue Jul 24, 2012 4:01 pm

MISFITS

SPOILER FREE
(CONTAINING SPOILERS FROM PREVIOUS MTMTE ISSUES, HOWEVER)


With a jaw dropping sequence and cliffhanger in the last issue of MTMTE #6, and with what feels to be the longest wait I have ever had for a comic book to be released, we now have Transformers: More Than Meets The Eye #7. Unfortunately, I have to say with the wide range of emotions that I have had in this half year from MTMTE #1-6, this issue doesn't exactly match the pace of it's predecessors. In my attempt to keep this review as spoiler-free as I usually do, I will try my best to relate more to the themes and tones of the comic book, rather than the events that happen.

Image
Don't infect me with Bieber fever!


You might ask, how does #7 slow things down? We now realize that Overlord is on the Lost Light, shouldn't that snowball into some awesome killing and epic destruction? Sadly that's not how it is, and I do understand why. LSOTW was a 5-part series, MTMTE is an ongoing that, as much as we know, is going on for a very long while. Roberts is slowing it down, but still keeping us hooked by throwing us a few tidbits here and there - whether those tidbits be character building for our massive roster, an addition to our already large cast, or a horror from the past.

Image
So that's why Brainstorm likes being alone...



Another aspect that forces this issue to slow down is due to the theme for this month. IDW has labelled July 2012 to be Decepticon Month, as you may have noticed in Robots In Disguise #7. This issue features not one, but two new groups of Decepticons that add a darker tone to the series. Yet at the same time, they take away from the screen time for those on the Lost Light. Who are these groups? The first is one you've already heard many times over, the Decepticon Justice Division, or shortly, the DJD - a group of Decepticons bent on punishing fellow 'Cons who disobey or abandon the Decepticon code. You don't need to be Perceptor to put two and two together - there are a handful of suspects among Rodimus' boys who would be on the hitlist of the DJD. With the majority of members among the Lost Light no longer shooting at each other, it's evident that these guys are our new antagonists.

Image
This is what Swerve gets for watching a TV series with Christina Aguilera and Adam Levine


The other group of Decepticons is an interesting story, and in it's own right, could fit perfectly on the Lost Light. The group features a ragtag number of Decepticons, rounded out by even more misfits. What I find special is that with the war between Decepticons and Autobots over, it's not the machines bred for war that just survive, but it's those who had normal lives and practicions too. It's certainly not a tone we get to see regarding Transformers fiction very often, so it's a treat to see how some cons deal with the feeling of 'freedom'.

Image
Occupy Cybertron! We are the 1%


While I might allude you to believe that #7 is just filler, it is certainly not. It's a great setup for the future of the series - we don't get immediate closure of the events that occured in MTMTE #6, but we do have leads to events that might happen soon. We get a good introduction to future villains of MTMTE, and just like in Issue #6, you always, always, always have to check out the last page.

Image
They usually do...

:BOT: :BOT: :BOT: :BOT: out of :BOT: :BOT: :BOT: :BOT: :BOT:
Anonymous.
God Of Transformers
Posts: 11588
News Credits: 102
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 1:31 am
Strength: N/A
Intelligence: N/A
Speed: N/A
Endurance: N/A
Rank: N/A
Courage: N/A
Firepower: N/A
Skill: N/A

Re: Seibertron.com Reviews IDW Transformers: More Than Meets The Eye #7

Postby #Sideways# » Wed Jul 25, 2012 8:43 am

Motto: "Wake up. Wake up and smell the ashes."
Weapon: Dual Compression Cannons
pduidos89 wrote:*Le snip because of random sales ad*

Image

What just happened in this thread...


Anyway, nice review. I trust you guys, and I think I might want to pick this one up.
Image

"I don't stink, but I am silent but deadly!" ~One of the many reasons I like Sideways.
User avatar
#Sideways#
Brainmaster
Posts: 1447
News Credits: 17
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 3:18 pm
Location: Planet X
Watch #Sideways# on YouTube
Alt Mode: Motorcycle
Strength: 5
Intelligence: 7
Speed: 9
Endurance: Infinity
Rank: ???
Courage: 7
Firepower: 7
Skill: 7

Re: Seibertron.com Reviews IDW Transformers: More Than Meets The Eye #7

Postby Dr Va'al » Wed Jul 25, 2012 11:47 am

Motto: "Till All Are Pun!"
Have yet to pick this one up, as I couldn't leave the house today.
But really looking forwards to it.

Nice spoiler-free review, by the way!
Do you have Transformers news for Seibertron.com? Contact us here!


Image

Burn wrote:I'm never wrong. Except when I am.

But then I just edit posts and make Va'al wrong.
User avatar
Dr Va'al
News Admin
Posts: 12513
News Credits: 123
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 12:00 pm
Location: Italy
Buy from Dr Va'al on eBay

Re: Seibertron.com Reviews IDW Transformers: More Than Meets The Eye #7

Postby Chaoslock » Wed Jul 25, 2012 5:06 pm

Weapon: Reciprocating Laser Cannon
Just read it, and I think it's way better than the review says - yes, it doesn't solve misteries that were in the viewpoint with the last issue, but it solves others - one that involves Skids, with a way of a very possible future story.

I love the way of how the big-scale war was described - before/without protocolls.

So, in my eyes: 10/10 - next issue, NOW!
GENERATION 1: THE EPIC ORIGINS! -Hasbro

"Autobots, Buster Witwicky killed Primus. Kill on sight!" - broadcast from Urban Dead

Image

Psychout wrote:Never, ever take the internet seriously, especially not when its on a website dedicated to giant cartoon robots from outer space.
User avatar
Chaoslock
Guardian Of Seibertron
Posts: 5246
News Credits: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 3:31 am
Strength: Infinity
Intelligence: Infinity
Speed: 7
Endurance: 8
Rank: 6
Courage: 9
Firepower: 7
Skill: 7

Re: Seibertron.com Reviews IDW Transformers: More Than Meets The Eye #7

Postby Dr Va'al » Thu Jul 26, 2012 8:49 am

Motto: "Till All Are Pun!"
Got it today.

Wow. The last page really is a kick.
And the Decepticons we meet after the DJD are quite the bunch.

Still think the first five pages are some of the best I've read so far.
Do you have Transformers news for Seibertron.com? Contact us here!


Image

Burn wrote:I'm never wrong. Except when I am.

But then I just edit posts and make Va'al wrong.
User avatar
Dr Va'al
News Admin
Posts: 12513
News Credits: 123
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 12:00 pm
Location: Italy
Buy from Dr Va'al on eBay


Return to Transformers Cartoons and Comics Forum

Ending Soon On eBay

TRANSFORMERS G1 RAVAGE DESEPTICONS ROBOT METAL FIGURE COLLECTIBLE - Time Remaining: 5 days 54 minutes 6 seconds
1988 Joyride Complete G1 Transformers Powermaster - Time Remaining: 5 days 5 hours 39 minutes 34 seconds
TAKARA TOMY TRANSFORMERS 4 AOE MOVIE AD-28 DINOBOT SNARL ACTION FIGURE NEW - Time Remaining: 6 days 9 hours 25 minutes 48 seconds
2016 SDCC EXCLUSIVE TRANSFORMERS EVOLUTION SOUNDWAVE FROM HASBRO - Time Remaining: 2 days 6 hours 3 minutes 54 seconds
2003 HASBRO TRANSFORMERS UNIVERSE YELLOW OPTIMUS PRIME SAMS CLUB EXCLUSIVE - Time Remaining: 4 days 6 hours 35 minutes 35 seconds
Generation 1 G1 Rodimus Transformers Figure Complete 1986 Gen1 Autobot - Time Remaining: 5 days 14 hours 36 minutes 50 seconds
TRANSFORMERS Revenge Of The Fallen ROTF 2009 Movie Deluxe RAMPAGE Complete RARE! - Time Remaining: 4 days 13 hours 29 minutes 27 seconds
TRANSFORMERS Hasbro 2007 1st Movie Voyager Class Decepticon MEGATRON Spaceship - Time Remaining: 4 days 13 hours 14 minutes 38 seconds
Transformers Podcast: Twincast / Podcast #155 - Pillarboxed
Twincast / Podcast #155:
"Pillarboxed"
MP3 · iTunes · RSS · View · Discuss · Ask
Posted: Saturday, September 10th, 2016