Submit News Contact Us Translate Sign in Join

Transformers: Regeneration One #90 Preview

Discuss anything about the Transformers cartoons and comics! You can discuss anything from G1 to Cybertron as well as the comics from Marvel, Dreamwave, IDW and more!

Transformers: Regeneration One #90 Preview

Postby El Duque » Fri Apr 05, 2013 10:41 pm

Motto: "I ain't got time to bleed!"
Weapon: Gattling Gun
The fine folks at IDW Publishing have provided us with a preview of Transformers: Regeneration One#90. This issue will be available at retail and for download to digital device on tomorrow. Full review coming later today.

Transformers Regeneration One #90
Simon Furman (w) • Andrew Wildman (a) • Wildman, Guido Guidi (c)
TOO LITTLE—TOO LATE! As Scorponok’s Dark Reign comes ever closer to spreading right across Cybertron, Grimlock launches a desperate counterstrike, in the face of almost innumerable odds. Does the Dinobot commander really have one last ace up his sleeve, or does his “plan” amount to a glorious—but doomed—last stand?
*2 regular covers will be shipped in a 1-to-1 ratio

FC • 32 pages • $3.99


*Variant Covers:
Geoff Senior variant cover!

Bullet points:

The story of the original TRANSFORMERS comics continues in full force!
Non-stop action as only the classic team of Furman & Wildman can deliver!


Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image
User avatar
El Duque
Matrix Keeper
Posts: 9913
News Credits: 89
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 8:57 pm
Location: tornado alley

Re: Transformers: Regeneration One #90 Preview

Postby griftimus prime » Mon Apr 08, 2013 11:55 pm

Motto: "you will have no freedom. whether you are sentient or not."
Weapon: 16 Cannons
cover b is pretty cool
User avatar
griftimus prime
Gestalt Team Leader
Posts: 959
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 5:09 am
Strength: 10+
Intelligence: 10+
Speed: 10+
Endurance: 10+
Rank: 10+
Courage: 10+
Firepower: 10+
Skill: 10+

Re: Transformers: Regeneration One #90 Preview

Postby Windsweeper » Tue Apr 09, 2013 4:05 am

I'm liking this portrayal of Hot Rod. I've missed blurrs original non wing head design.

Can't wait for the trade.
Windsweeper
Gestalt
Posts: 2064
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 1:04 pm

Re: Transformers: Regeneration One #90 Preview

Postby Rodimus Prime » Tue Apr 09, 2013 4:52 am

Motto: "...and hell followed with him."
Weapon: Twin Photon Blasters
Finally the action picks up. Bring it.
............Image
User avatar
Rodimus Prime
God Of Transformers
Posts: 15794
News Credits: 17
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2002 8:31 pm
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada

Transformers: Regeneration One #90 Review

Postby Va'al » Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:06 am

Motto: "Till All Are Pun!"
Showdown
(Spoiler free-ish)


Synopsis
TOO LITTLE—TOO LATE! As Scorponok’s Dark Reign comes ever closer to spreading right across Cybertron, Grimlock launches a desperate counterstrike, in the face of almost innumerable odds. Does the Dinobot commander really have one last ace up his sleeve, or does his “plan” amount to a glorious—but doomed—last stand?


Image
Best laid plans of dinos and bots



Story

So this is the conclusion to the second arc of the conclusion to the whole shebang, started way back when in the Marvel US run. I have to say, a definite improvement to the previous issue, in my opinion! (Not that it was particularly bad, mind you, just a bit slow, and felt as though something was lacking.)

Image
Do something! Anything!


This issue finally completes the gene key-cum-Grimlock-versus-Scorponok plots, as well as setting up the next one. With Shockwave, Galvatron and Starscream, in all likelyhood. And Magnus' team. And Rodimus. Rodimus still doesn't seem to know what he's going to do, though. Magnus and the Wreckers have yet to reach Cybertron. Galvatron and Starscream are on the Ark with Shockwave, who is now connected to the ship.

Image
Coming out of the woodwork


So all attention is pointed towards Grimlock and his gang of adorable misfits, and Scorponok’s conquering mania via activating the planetary gene-key. The concern I had about the story is that the outcome is pretty much expected, even though we were (sort of) proven wrong with Megatron's death earlier on in the series. I know the Autobots are going to win, so I expect Furman to give us a little more than that.

Image
Wait for it...


And, in a way, I think he did. I will not spoil the issue for anyone, but there are a couple of minor twists, and if anything, they left me with a smirk on my face. I do believe, however, that the best parts of the issue are Galvatron, Starscream and Shockwave's moments, with the addition of a fourth player.


Art

Wildman and Baskerville are good together. There is a lot of difference between the pre-80 and ReGeneration One, even though Wildman worked both then and now, and I like what they're doing with an old-but-new style. I'm not too sure about some facial expressions, as they seem to be rather limited in range of emotions, but I also won't complain too much about them, either! Mowry on lettering does add some nice touches though, especially with Grimlock rampaging all over the place.

Image
Jeff Goldblum would love it


The colours are always my favourite part of ReGeneration One, and this time round, John-Paul is helped by James Stayte. They really do pop, and that to me is a very very good thing. It separates the series from the other two ongoings, and helps the new-ness of the old-but-new, and really does help some of the bigger action shots.

Image
Oh the paratext the paratext


And, I have to say, I love the frames in this issue. They work with the action, they work with time-scale, the flashback ones are excellent, from right angles to rounded ones, jagged edges for particularly incisive moments, and they don't always follow the grid.


Thoughts
Spoilerish ahead

I enjoyed it! There were some issues with it, and it still feels a little rushed, trying to tie up all loose ends, but I think it's setting up the coming story-arcs nicely. My biggest problem with it was how quickly the Grimlock-Scorponok diatribe is resolved. Also, some of the various “twists” in the story were not exactly mind-blowing, but did the trick. And come on Hot Rod, do something.

Image
Or next month, we're flexible


But all in all, a good issue. Nice artwork and paratextual stuff, excellent colours, the story runs well and we get some really juicy hints at what might happen next. We're halfway there, and Furman has made it clear more than once that this is it, so buckle up, and wait for next month's cataclism. It looks to be a big 'un.

. :BOT: :BOT: :BOT: :BOT: - out of :BOT: :BOT: :BOT: :BOT: :BOT:
Do you have Transformers news for Seibertron.com? Contact us here!


Image
Avatar image by sabrigami
User avatar
Va'al
Guardian Of Seibertron
Posts: 6998
News Credits: 67
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 11:00 am
Location: UK, Italy
Buy from Va'al on eBay


Return to Transformers Cartoons and Comics Forum

Transformers Podcast: Twincast / Podcast #105 - Megatronus
Twincast / Podcast #105:
"Megatronus"
MP3 · iTunes · RSS · View · Discuss · Ask
Posted: Sunday, November 23rd, 2014