Transformers: Regeneration One #94 Preview

Discuss anything about the Transformers cartoons and comics! You can discuss anything from G1 to Cybertron as well as the comics from Marvel, Dreamwave, IDW and more!

Transformers: Regeneration One #94 Preview

Postby El Duque » Sat Aug 24, 2013 12:32 am

Motto: "I ain't got time to bleed!"
Weapon: Gattling Gun
Next we have our preview for Transformers: Regeneration One #94. Pick up or download your full copy next Wednesday, for now enjoy the preview found below.

Transformers Regeneration One #94
Simon Furman (w) • Guido Guidi (a) • Andrew Wildman, Guidi (c)
CYBERTRON UNDER SIEGE! As BLUDGEON’s Blitz Engines wreak havoc, the AUTOBOTS struggle to muster a response to a threat that feels all too close to home! But their “greatest warrior,” ULTRA MAGNUS, has problems of his own… in the shape of a fighting mad GALVATRON. It’s the clash of titans you’ve (almost) never seen before!
FC • 32 pages • $3.99

Bullet points:
Cover-to-cover battle action!
ULTRA MAGNUS versus GALVATRON—the rematch of the millennium!
Variant cover by Geoff Senior!


Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image
User avatar
El Duque
Matrix Keeper
Posts: 9922
News Credits: 90
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 8:57 pm
Location: tornado alley

Re: Transformers: Regeneration One #94 Preview

Postby Cyber Bishop » Sat Aug 24, 2013 5:20 am

Motto: "Ker-Klick... Choom!"
Weapon: Black Magic
Finally.. I am willing to bet this is how Rodimus becomes a Prime..
Image

http://www.facebook.com/cyberbishop

501st Legion Deputy Forum Admin
Bast Alpha Garrison
TK/ID/SL: 2926
User avatar
Cyber Bishop
God Of Transformers
Posts: 18863
News Credits: 12
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 4:04 am
Location: New Orleans
Watch Cyber Bishop on YouTube
Buy from Cyber Bishop on eBay
Alt Mode: some sort of rudimentary lathe

Script (W)rap - Transformers: Regeneration One #94

Postby Va'al » Tue Aug 27, 2013 4:55 am

Motto: "Till All Are Pun!"
Transformers writer extraordinaire has updated his blog with the Script (W)Rap for issue 94 of ReGeneration One, check it out below and comment on the blog for answers from the Furminator himself. Come back later today for the Seibertron.com review of the issue, too!

I know it’s a cliche to call an issue pivotal, but that’s what Transformers Regeneration One #94 (out this Wednesday, August 28) is. A whole lot of stuff has been building, pressure cooker-style, to this point, and a whole lot more stuff (including the jaw-dropping issue #0) spins out of these 22-packed-pages. But – before I press on with this habitual discourse on the creative ins and outs of #94 – the usual warning: there be spoilers in what follows, though as always the aim is tantalise and tease rather than reveal huge plot points, so consider yourself warned. Right, so, here it is — the biggest most anticipated rematch in the whole of the core/original Transformers saga… Ultra Magnus versus Galvatron… that never happened before. Well, okay, it has if you’re Galvatron. Because, as we know, he’s from the alternative timeline established in issue #67′s Rhythms of Darkness, and he has fought UM before (the outcome of which you’ll get a flavour of in #0). But if you’re Ultra Magnus, this is the first time of asking and you’re very much in the dark. Are we sidestepping the UK clash between these two titans in the epochal Target: 2006? Yes we are. And no we’re not. I know, confusing right? Well let’s just say that anyone who’s conversant with that particular clash will see echoes of it here. ripples in what we now know to be a multifaceted prism of TF universes. But if you’re expecting a re-run of that clash, think again. Everything old is new again, right? That’s kind of RG1′s mantra. And the UM/Galvatron clash takes some very unexpected twists and turns. Are we content with just that? Heck no. There’s also an all-out assault on Cybertron by Bludgeon’s War World and Blitz Engines, a long-standing grudge match that edges closer to a denouement, and the beginning of a journey for Hot Rod that will have far reaching consequences, both for him and the future of the RG1-verse. Phew. Hope you enjoy this one, I certainly had great fun writing it. And Guido really knocks this one out of park! As usual, I welcome your comments/opinions in this thread.
Do you have Transformers news for Seibertron.com? Contact us here!


Image

It Is Him wrote:Starscream fan girls write fan fiction. Alpha Bravo fan girls speak truth.
User avatar
Va'al
News Admin
Posts: 13690
News Credits: 134
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 11:00 am
Location: Italy/Japan
Buy from Va'al on eBay

Transformers: Regeneration One #94 Review

Postby Va'al » Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:48 am

Motto: "Till All Are Pun!"
Déjà-vu?
(Spoiler free-ish)



Synopsis

CYBERTRON UNDER SIEGE! As BLUDGEON’s Blitz Engines wreak havoc, the AUTOBOTS struggle to muster a response to a threat that feels all too close to home! But their “greatest warrior," ULTRA MAGNUS, has problems of his own… in the shape of a fighting mad GALVATRON. It’s the clash of titans you’ve (almost) never seen before!

Image
Variations on a couple of themes


Story
Readers of the UK iteration of the old Marvel comics might get quite the kick from this issue, as it's Ultra Magnus versus Galvatron all over again on Cybertron's surface! Bludgeon does things in space, or rather, just above Cybertron. Meanwhile, closer to the planet's core, Hot Rod and the Dinobots have encountered a Primus-possessed Grimlock.

Image
Me Grimlock god


And actually, that last part, as much as it's extremely smirk-inducing, is resolved very quickly, setting one of the scenes for next month's ReGeneration One #0. We still have to wait a couple of months for Hot Rod's fate and the Dinobots' reunion. The main story takes place with the Autobots' greatest (reluctant) warrior and the mad reincarnated time-traveller.

Image
Seen it


The Autobot's -ah- reaction plan isn't exactly original, or particularly effective, from both an in-story and storytelling perspective, and is kind of squeezed in at the very end, though it doesn't detract too much from the issue. Same can be said for Bludgeon's own machinations, as most of the exposition is done from the Autobot side.

Image


The protracted fight scene is executed well enough, though, to forgive the other plots being left a bit too much to the side, and the Cybertronian reaction intertwines with Magnus' fight, so it can be worked into the plot too. And the art serves the story well, see below.

Art

Guidi's artwork on the issue is a real knockout, especially with the extremely high number of fight sequences and dynamic poses. Baskerville's inks on Guidi's work are just the cherry on a sundae so good-looking you want to keep it in a frozen glass case.

Image
Look, fan favourites!


As per usual, JP Bove's magical technicolour paintbrush (pen?) makes everything that Guidi and Baskerville shine, sparkle and glitter - unless it has to be dark, moody, and gorey. The skies are always my personal favourite, but

Image
Passed with flying colours


I am also pleasantly impressed by Shawn Lee's newly creative lettering, with some excellent font work mixing well with Furman's onomatopoeias and soundwords. All in all, the issue is absolutely gorgeous, and it's hard to pick out anything that doesn't really work that well from a visual aspect.

Thoughts
Spoilerish ahead

Some fairly clever visual storytelling manages to weave all the threads together, and leaves us with an image that I want to show because it's absolutely stunning and actually spoils nothing. Up to you to figure out the winner of the clash.

Image
HE'S ON FIRE


I really really really enjoyed this issue, the fight sequences weren't too dragged out, it nodded continuously to old material without rehashing it or being too obviously a cliché-fest, it has God Grimlock and some excellent swearing. Book, good - you, read. Next month, some stalling, maybe minor plotting, and we're back on schedule in October!

. :BOT: :BOT: :BOT: :BOT: ½ out of :BOT: :BOT: :BOT: :BOT: :BOT:
Do you have Transformers news for Seibertron.com? Contact us here!


Image

It Is Him wrote:Starscream fan girls write fan fiction. Alpha Bravo fan girls speak truth.
User avatar
Va'al
News Admin
Posts: 13690
News Credits: 134
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 11:00 am
Location: Italy/Japan
Buy from Va'al on eBay


Return to Transformers Cartoons and Comics Forum

Ending Soon On eBay

TRANSFORMERS OPTIMUS PRIME Prime Beast Hunters NIB voyager class autobot - Time Remaining: 1 day 15 hours 13 minutes 14 seconds
Transformers Adventure TAV50 hyper surge Optimus Prime Figure from Japan *New* - Time Remaining: 4 days 4 hours 22 minutes 4 seconds
TOY SALE - Transformers Construct Bots - Decepticon Breakdown 45 Pieces  Ages 6+ - Time Remaining: 2 days 1 hour 30 minutes 32 seconds
TOY SALE - Transformers Construct Bots - Cliffjumper 45 Pieces - Ages 6+ - Time Remaining: 2 days 1 hour 31 minutes 7 seconds
Transformers Pepsi Optimus Prime Figure Robots in Disguise Hasbro 2007 MISB - Time Remaining: 2 days 19 hours 34 minutes 30 seconds
Transformers Generations Combiner Wars Voyager Class Motormaster Figure - Time Remaining: 3 days 18 hours 43 minutes 42 seconds
Takara Tomy Transformers Legends LG36 Soundwave Action Figure - Time Remaining: 4 days 11 hours 44 minutes 38 seconds
Hasbro Transformers Generations Masterpiece Edition G1 Bumblebee Figure - Time Remaining: 1 day 23 hours 44 minutes 38 seconds
Transformers Podcast: Twincast / Podcast #166 - Toy Fair 2017
Twincast / Podcast #166:
"Toy Fair 2017"
MP3 · iTunes · RSS · View · Discuss · Ask
Posted: Tuesday, February 21st, 2017
Website Security Test