Back on Board - Review of TRANSFORMERS REGENERATION #88

Discuss anything about the Transformers cartoons and comics! You can discuss anything from G1 to Cybertron as well as the comics from Marvel, Dreamwave, IDW and more!

Back on Board - Review of TRANSFORMERS REGENERATION #88

Postby Tigertrack » Wed Feb 13, 2013 2:07 pm

Motto: "A good head and a good heart are always a formidable combination."
Weapon: Sniper Rifle
Transformers REGENERATION #88

(CUE OMEGA SUPREME DIALECT)
Time-off taken. Return imminent. Content Limited, Discussion: Classic Transformers Storytelling.

As worn out as the first arc of REGENERATION made me in trying to review, analyze, and decode; I found Issue #88 a pleasant, fun story (and it’s lead issue 87) to return to.


Image

As I dig into Grimlock making a cliché ‘deal with the devil’ to receive a new body and get his fellow Dinobots restored to full health as well, I can’t help but think about all the previous versions of Grimlock there are in the fiction, and what kind of a metamorphosis he underwent throughout Simon Furman’s work with him. Back on topic- Grimlock’s deal.

This deal my friends is what steers the course for Scorponok’s adventure to Cybertron. Like the classic Transformers tales of nearly 30 years ago, whether it be in comic or cartoon form, this issue oozes magnificent world domination scheming reminiscent of cartoon Megatron, and one trick devices that look to turn the tide for one side or another along the lines of ‘THE HATE PLAGUE’, ‘THE ULTIMATE DOOM’ or ‘MEGATRON’s MASTER PLAN’.

The best thing is, for me, that was part of the excellence of Transformers from my youth, the unbelievable plans, the crazy inventions and devices that just happen to come into being with each new story or episode. The gullible-ness (innocence?) of many of the characters to be misled.

This issue takes me back as fan-favorite Scorponok sans his former headmaster partner Zarak, looks to take back Cybertron for the Decepticons. He plans to do this by making all the inhabitants into Decepticons using a gene key that will unlock the ‘warrior gene’ in all the Autobots, basically taking away their inhibitions, and morals -- for all purposes making them Decepticons as well. The device is first used on a small scale so that Scorponok and his partners can set up the large planet-sized key that will do the work a lot more quickly.

Image

Image

Grimlock, meanwhile, is back on Cybertron as well, aiding Scorponok as little as possible, but not trying to put a stop to his efforts either. Grimlock’s mind is trapped on his fellow Dinobots, and the whole Nucleon experience that he put them through.

And there are plenty of side plots to help keep all the characters moving somehow: like Hot Rod’s search for the Primus chamber; Optimus cleanup on Earth; Starscream, Shockwave, and Galvatron re-united; and Soundwave’s scheme with Bludgeon, all of which could be linked to Scorponok’s current bid for dominance of Cybertron, and possibly... the universe!

It’s nice to feel this way again. I mourn the loss of Springer before he really even got started in this NEW (old) series, but find myself now that we are past that whole big, huge Optimus versus Megatron event, able to enjoy REGEN again.

Image

Pick it up and enjoy the fun!

Easily 4.5 nostalgic stars out of 5!
User avatar
Tigertrack
God Of Transformers
Posts: 16381
News Credits: 96
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 7:08 am
Strength: 6
Intelligence: 8
Speed: 7
Endurance: 7
Rank: 10+
Courage: 9
Firepower: 8
Skill: 10

Re: Back on Board - Review of TRANSFORMERS REGENERATION #88

Postby Blurrz » Wed Feb 13, 2013 3:51 pm

Motto: "Ore wa Gundam"
Weapon: Electro-Laser Cannon
Description: War in the city! Anarchy reigns on the streets of Iacon as Scorponok's grip tightens further, and those Autobots still willing and able to resist look to their absent leader -- who is on an endangered list all of his own. Beneath the surface of Cybertron, Hot Rod runs for his life, locked on a collision course with his maker, Primus!


Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image
User avatar
Blurrz
God Of Transformers
Posts: 11607
News Credits: 102
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 12:31 am
Location: Canada
Strength: 7
Intelligence: 8
Speed: 10
Endurance: 6
Rank: 7
Courage: 8
Firepower: 7
Skill: 5

Re: Back on Board - Review of TRANSFORMERS REGENERATION #88

Postby Rodimus Prime » Thu Feb 14, 2013 1:23 am

Yes, the 2nd story arc is picking up nicely. The B cover for this is great, it's probably my favorite cover of the series so far. I can't wait to see where this ends up. Anyone else thought that the obstacles Hot Rod faced were reminiscent of the 3 tests Indy had to pass to get to the grail in Indiana Jones and The Last Crusade? Like the "leap of faith" and the invisible passage way?
Burn wrote:Alpha Bravo...He's a helicopter in a team of jets. That's just dumb.
............Image
My fanfics: the-bad-seed--p1909021.php#p1909021 and stories-from-a-wild-and-crazy-con--t109626.php
Rodimus Prime
Site Moderator
Posts: 18874
News Credits: 19
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2002 8:31 pm

Re: Back on Board - Review of TRANSFORMERS REGENERATION #88

Postby Va'al » Thu Feb 14, 2013 1:48 pm

Motto: "Till All Are Pun!"
A good issue, I am also glad that the Optimus/Megatron issue is, for now, solved.
For some reason, the artwork seemed to pop more this issue, too.

Especially that first Scorponok. He pretty.
Do you have Transformers news for Seibertron.com? Contact us here!


Image
Never too late for.. The Va'ault.
User avatar
Va'al
News Admin
Posts: 15379
News Credits: 177
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 11:00 am
Location: Italy/Japan
Buy from Va'al on eBay


Return to Transformers Cartoons and Comics Forum

Ending Soon On eBay

TRANSFORMERS - CONSTRUCT-BOTS - DECEPTICON DRAGSTRIP - By HASBRO From 2013 - NEW - Time Remaining: 3 days 5 hours 19 minutes 8 seconds
Hasbro Transformers Universe Titanium Series - Optimus Prime 2008 - Time Remaining: 2 days 13 hours 19 minutes 39 seconds
Hasbro Transformers Generations Combiner Wars Menasor - Time Remaining: 4 days 20 hours 20 minutes 49 seconds
Transformers The Last Knight Premier Edition Barricade DLX Class NEW SEALED - Time Remaining: 1 day 11 hours 21 minutes 49 seconds
Transformers The Last Knight Premier Edition Berserker DLX Class NEW SEALED - Time Remaining: 5 days 23 hours 22 minutes 13 seconds
Transformers The Last Knight Premier Edition Dinobot Slash DLX Class NEW SEALED - Time Remaining: 6 days 9 hours 22 minutes 34 seconds
Transformers Generations Combiner Wars Battle Core Optimus Prime Complete - Time Remaining: 26 days 5 hours 23 minutes 24 seconds
Optimus Prime 30689 KRE-O Transformers 5 Kreon/ 542 pcs NEW NEVER OPENED~ - Time Remaining: 1 day 10 hours 27 minutes 3 seconds
Transformers Podcast: Twincast / Podcast #186 - NYCC 2017
Twincast / Podcast #186:
"NYCC 2017"
MP3 · iTunes · RSS · View · Discuss · Ask
Posted: Monday, October 16th, 2017
Website Security Test