IDW Transformers #7 Review

Discuss anything about the Transformers cartoons and comics! You can discuss anything from G1 to Cybertron as well as the comics from Marvel, Dreamwave, IDW and more!

IDW Transformers #7 Review

Postby william-james88 » Wed Jun 12, 2019 11:47 am

I'm Sorry
A Review of Transformers #7

Free of any explicit spoilers, but some are implied.


Image


After the interlude showing the relationship between Orion Pax and Megatron in issue 6, we are back in the middle of the detective story. We get a scene straight out of CSI with Ratchet giving the rundown of some autopsy results to Prowl and his gang. The cross promotion here is rich since there are shots where only very detailed Siege toys talk to one another, two being exclusives that aren't even out yet (Greenlight and Ratchet). I am thankful the designs and colours stick with the G1 palettes since there are certain shots of Ratchet and Prowl as talking heads and the colour of their head crests is basically the main thing to identify them with. With colour thus being rather important in this issue, I think Lafuente and Burcham did a good job in that regard.

Image



The bulk of the issue, however, follows Bumblebee and while this is the segment that follows the main plot of the series so far, it is by far the most boring. As with other issues, the plot advances at a snail's pace and ultimately you feel like nothing happened in this issue. It may be warranted here more than before since a lot of time is spent with Bumblebee being contemplative and rethinking some recent events that deeply affect him. It was still too slow for my liking, personally.

This issue does a better job at illustrating Cybertron than before. We see more architecture rather than barren landscapes and it feels more lived in than before. I especially like the Cybertronian neon signs We also get actual Transformations shots and we see some characters in their alt modes.

Image


While the story is as lackluster as ever, the inconsistent art only adds issues to the comic. Here we have 3 artists contributing to the book and there is no order to it. Just look at the how the comic is organized:

ANGEL HERNANDEZ (pages 1-3, 7, 10-15)
ANDREW GRIFFITH (pages 4-6, 8-9)
ANNA MALKOVA (pages 16-20)

That means that there are scenes which begin with an artist and end with another, like the conversation between Orion Pax and Bumblebee. While Andrew Griffith is excellent, and gives us some of the best art he has ever done, it only hurts Hernandez by comparison. You can see an example of two shots of Orion from two back to back pages below.

Image


The art clashes a lot, not only in the different artistic styles, but with the backgrounds and how they are muted in some shots and not in others. For some reason, this issue contains the most shots of stairs I have ever seen in a comic since Secret Avengers 18 and those similar shots and backgrounds made it really noticeable when the artist changed.

Image


At least the final portion of the book, with Cyclonus, has the same artist throughout it and is isolated enough from the rest of the book to not be as jarring a change. Plus Anna Malkova provides us with some great macabre art, along with an actual Transformation shot.

Image


The covers available feature a rare sight with Christian Ward as the main cover artist. This Montreal artist has been a colourist on several Transformers books and projects and he finally gets a chance to shine as a cover artist. We also have covers by Transformers superstars Livio Ramondelli and Guido Guidi.
As always, you can also find images of all of the book's covers along with full credits for the issue in our Vector Sigma Database page for Transformers #7.

Verdict


The book is back on track and I do like that we are getting more diverging plots, following different characters. It makes the world feel more alive, which is further shown in (some of) the art. However that means that there is little advancement in either the sub plots or the main plot. Here is hoping we get more Andrew Griffith as the series progresses, he really knocked those Siege designs out of the park.

Final Score
. :BOT: :BOT: 1/2
out of
:BOT: :BOT: :BOT: :BOT: :BOT:
If you have any news, rumours, or hot new sightings to report which you feel should be front paged,
please contact us using this form.

Image
User avatar
william-james88
News Admin
Posts: 24712
News Credits: 2414
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 5:46 am
Buy from william-james88 on eBay

Re: IDW Transformers #7 Review

Postby David Leese » Thu Jun 13, 2019 7:21 am

Agree with the diverging plots, and the lack of forward movement. And, as I mention in my video review, walking and talking has been replaced by sitting and thinking (the only way it could possibly achieve any less activity).

I also enjoyed the appearance of Ratchet with Prowl, and while it doesn't add much velocity to the investigation, it does show that there is some activity (not just the inept "We don't know what to do" which we've had from Orion).

I still resent Cyclonus being shown in this pre-war era, but I'm hoping that his appearance is explained by time-travel or something (which is potentially contributing to his madness).

And if "We're so hard to kill" according to Ratchet, then how come it only took one blow to kill Rubble?

My video review is here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fluVyDSGF5E

Thanks
David
David Leese
Mini-Con
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon May 20, 2019 12:21 pm
Watch David Leese on YouTube

Re: IDW Transformers #7 Review

Postby william-james88 » Thu Jun 13, 2019 9:25 am

David Leese wrote:I still resent Cyclonus being shown in this pre-war era, but I'm hoping that his appearance is explained by time-travel or something (which is potentially contributing to his madness).


But I thought Cyclonus was established as being really old, so it would make sense to see him before the war, no?
If you have any news, rumours, or hot new sightings to report which you feel should be front paged,
please contact us using this form.

Image
User avatar
william-james88
News Admin
Posts: 24712
News Credits: 2414
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 5:46 am
Buy from william-james88 on eBay

Re: IDW Transformers #7 Review

Postby ScottyP » Thu Jun 13, 2019 11:05 am

Weapon: Battle Blades
william-james88 wrote:
David Leese wrote:I still resent Cyclonus being shown in this pre-war era, but I'm hoping that his appearance is explained by time-travel or something (which is potentially contributing to his madness).


But I thought Cyclonus was established as being really old, so it would make sense to see him before the war, no?
He's assumed to be the veteran of this other really old war that hasn't been explained even a little, only name dropped.
User avatar
ScottyP
Faction Commander
Posts: 4925
News Credits: 471
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 3:42 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC
Buy from ScottyP on eBay

Re: IDW Transformers #7 Review

Postby william-james88 » Thu Jun 13, 2019 11:53 am

ScottyP wrote:
william-james88 wrote:
David Leese wrote:I still resent Cyclonus being shown in this pre-war era, but I'm hoping that his appearance is explained by time-travel or something (which is potentially contributing to his madness).


But I thought Cyclonus was established as being really old, so it would make sense to see him before the war, no?
He's assumed to be the veteran of this other really old war that hasn't been explained even a little, only name dropped.

I wanted to write about that in the review (unknown older war), but I was worried I had missed something. Glad to know I didnt.
If you have any news, rumours, or hot new sightings to report which you feel should be front paged,
please contact us using this form.

Image
User avatar
william-james88
News Admin
Posts: 24712
News Credits: 2414
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 5:46 am
Buy from william-james88 on eBay

Re: IDW Transformers #7 Review

Postby AcademyofDrX » Thu Jun 13, 2019 1:38 pm

I think a few issues have referenced previous wars, at least one of which was named ("three spark.") I need to reread the series, because I originally thought that there was no violence of any kind in Cybertron history, but there have been wars. I think it's implied that those conflicts were primarily off-world, but I don't recall if that's more explicit.
AcademyofDrX
Minibot
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2018 8:05 am
Alt Mode: Starfighter
Strength: 3
Intelligence: 8
Speed: 4
Endurance: 3
Rank: 4
Courage: 6
Firepower: 1
Skill: 7

Re: IDW Transformers #7 Review

Postby D-Maximal_Primal » Thu Jun 13, 2019 5:33 pm

Motto: "There are no impossibilities in the multiverse, just small minds unable to comprehend the possibilities"
Weapon: Star Saber Sword
Cyclonus continues to be the best part about this series. I am enjoying his parts.

The rest are OK, but Cyclonus is the good part so far
Have Transformers News? Contact us HERE!
Wanna talk? Or Rollerblade? Click below and head on over to the D-Max Den!!Image
User avatar
D-Maximal_Primal
News Admin
Posts: 15470
News Credits: 1322
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2015 5:53 pm
Location: Western Pennsylvania
Buy from D-Maximal_Primal on eBay
Alt Mode: Transmetal Indominus Rex
Strength: 4
Intelligence: 9
Speed: 6
Endurance: 5
Rank: 8
Courage: 10
Firepower: 8
Skill: 8


Return to Transformers Cartoons and Comics Forum

Featured Products on Amazon.com

Buy "Transformers Authentics Megatron" on AMAZON
Buy "Transformers: Generations Power of The Primes Deluxe Class Dinobot Sludge" on AMAZON
Buy "Transformers Generations Power of The Primes Voyager Class Elita-1" on AMAZON
Buy "Transformers Toys Megatron Cyberverse Ultimate Class Action Figure - Repeatable Fusion Mega Shot Action Attack Move - Toys for Kids 6 and Up, 11.5-inch" on AMAZON
Buy "Transformers Generations Power of The Primes Evolution Nemesis Prime (Amazon Exclusive)" on AMAZON
Buy "Transformers: Generations Power of The Primes Quintus Prime Prime Master" on AMAZON
Buy "Transformers Studio Series Number 14 Voyager Class Autobot Ironhide" on AMAZON
Buy "Transformers Titans Return Repugnus, Dastard, and Solus Prime Prime Master" on AMAZON
Buy "Transformers: Bumblebee -- Energon Igniters Speed Series Bumblebee  (Chevrolet Camaro)" on AMAZON
Buy "Transformers Generations Titans Return Titan Master Furos and Hardhead" on AMAZON
Buy "Potato Head Transformers Mixable Mashable Heroes as Optimus Prime and Grimlock Figures" on AMAZON
Buy "Transformers Generations Combiner Wars Legends Class Decepticon Viper Figure" on AMAZON
Transformers Podcast: Twincast / Podcast #225 - The Overexposure of Bumblebee
Twincast / Podcast #225:
"The Overexposure of Bumblebee"
MP3 · iTunes · RSS · View · Discuss · Ask
Posted: Sunday, June 16th, 2019

New Items on eBay

Buy "TRANSFORMERS GENERATIONS SIEGE WAR FOR CYBERTRON BATTLE MASTERS SMASHDOWN FIGUER" on EBAY
Buy "SOUNDWAVE - Siege War For Cybertron - Transformers Voyager Class 2019 - NIB" on EBAY
Buy "Transformers Movie Studios Series 5 Inch Figure Deluxe Class - Dropkick #22" on EBAY
Buy "Transformers War for Cybertron Siege Autobot - Springer - NIB In Hand Ships Fast" on EBAY
Buy "transformers siege war for cybertron Chromia" on EBAY
Buy "transformers siege war for cybertron Prowl" on EBAY
Buy "transformers siege war for cybertron starscream" on EBAY
Buy "NEW Transformers Generations War for Cybertron Siege Voyager Optimus Prime E3541" on EBAY